Platinum Pro Painters Inc. | Todd Lacroix

Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
Platinum Pro Painters Inc. | Todd Lacroix
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Platinum Pro Painters Inc. | Todd Lacroix

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (172 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
1/10

Kitchen Cupboard resurfacing and painting

It is rare that I take the time to post a review. However, I feel it is worth the time to share my experience with Platinum Pro Painters, as food for thought for others who may be considering this company. I was highly recommended this company by a friend, and found the reviews to be great. Todd, the owner, was a great salesman in his first visit, touting the strengths of his own company, and kindly warning against the pitfalls of other companies. We planned the project (kitchen cupboard resurfacing and painting), booked the date, and proceeded.

Cupboard doors were picked up on the scheduled day (though I waited at home for 1.5 hours after booked pick-up time and then finally left for work because no one called nor was answering phones), but on-site work and reinstall were then delayed, seemingly because of other work going on in my house (which would not interfere), but I later found out because they were backed up in the shop.

On-site work was finally done, but much to my surprise, the cupboard doors were still not ready to be reinstalled, and I was told I would be called shortly to rebook that. Well, weeks passed. No one called, answered my emails nor my voice mails. After 3-4 weeks, I finally texted the installer, and he was good enough to say he would take care of it. There was then further delay, despite my many calls and emails.

I finally called Todd directly to complain. He "explained" (not apologized) about having personnel problems, personal problems, etc. I was clear that I had no issue with that, and that I can understand things happen, but that it was still his company's responsibility to communicate that there would be a delay, and to respond to customer queries.

The doors finally came back. Unfortunately, some had blemishes, and some were mismatched in color. After 2-3 more iterations of doors going back to the workshop, we finally had all our doors installed, 3 months late. Even now, the doors don't all match in tint, but I am so fed up, I don't have the energy nor time to deal with them further (please note that we went with a very standard Cloud White, so not sure why they can't get the tint correct)

To add insult to injury, Todd was very preoccupied with getting his final payment, which I had refused to give until the job was completed to my satisfaction. Despite my explicitly saying that, my credit card was charged prematurely, without my consent (I assume they had kept the # on file from a prior payment).

While he may well be Beaumler-approved, etc., I think these are very concerning issues which prospective clients should know about. In sum, the issues were:
-not respectful of time/schedule (say they will come at a specific time and either don't come at all or come hours later)
-significant delays to the job, without communication
-quality issues of the job
-random concerns (charged my credit card without my consent, they broke the chain lock on the back door and never told me, an extensive amount of my newly painted wall was damaged beyond what they say is a risk with the application of painter's tape, etc.)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We are so sorry we gave you this experience. We have made a staffing change since this review and assure any future clients we learn from any negative experience and thrive on giving our clients the optimum customer satisfaction in the end. It's our 100% guarantee. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Hope to hear from you. Thanks again.

Hilda in Toronto
Hilda in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Kitchen renovation

I had a very bad experience with the company. Todd is a very confident and good salesman, but you don't get your money's worth. They are absolutely uncapable of working on site properly with the spray paint. The paint was running at places, the surface is not smooth. They tried and tried to fix it with no luck, at the end at some places the paint was applied with a paint roller. A paint roller!!! The painting booth job on the doors are bad quality. The paint is not thick enough. The whole experience was a nightmare. The last day when they were supposed to be finishing the job Todd called, that the doors came out of the booth , but it is not the finish I requested. How did they not notice???? I just settled for a different finish just to end this terrible nightmare. The company is advertising themselves with Holmes inspection etc. but nothing rings true after this horrible experience. I had an estimate for $ 5,000 but I chose Todd because more expensive must be better!!!! Wrong! That other company repainted a bathroom cabinet for us! The differance is night and day!! I have been had!!!!

Thank you so much for the response from the company! It really sounds great especially the praising the company part, but in our case, it is so far from reality. As a costumer I definitely didn't feel that our satisfaction was important. To use bad emploee issues as an excuse is lame. The fish always smells from the head. If a company doesn't have good employees, they should not accept jobs until it is not resolved. As the owner of the company you are responsible. What happened is not fair to us costumers. Our house was a mess for 5 weeks (1 week before to empty the cabinets, 1 week after to put back everything), and at the end only disappointment. As for calling you to rectify the problem, ... We already did that. Before you demanded the payment we told you that the finish is rough, it is not done properly. You promised to come out to check, but the company was only interested to get the payment right away! There was no final walk to assure satisfaction (as it says in the contract)! Anyway, we paid but you didn't come to inspect as promised! Rafael (apparently bad emploee, who works badly for the company for 5 years already) was sent, when I told him that the sufaces are not smooth the answer was "you worry to much" tell your guest they should only look, not to touch"! After this what can I do? I am going to call for a special inspector to check the kind of work this company has done. We are going to contact the Better Business Bureau. Holmes should make THIS right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Hilda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your thoughts mean everything to us. We have had some staff changes since your project and we are fully committed to rectifying any issues you have. It sometimes comes down to bad employees but as the owner of this business for 9 yrs with not 1 bad review, it shows my character in how I know my clients deserve to be treated. Please call me today or when you're free and we can take great care of you moving forward.

Thanks Hilda.

anna in Vaughan
anna in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Kitchen cupboard resurfacing

Buyer beware! Platinum Pro is one of the worst companies to deal with. I met Todd in February 2017, selling me his state of the art spray booth, and that my kitchen cabinets will look "brand new" I am writing this on Oct 5th and my kitchen cupboards are still not to my satisfaction. This company not only has huge problems with their spraying booth, they also have bigger problems in their accounting department. Mr Lacroix insisted that he did not receive my initial deposit of 450.00 which I gave him on June 1st, and threatened to take me to small claims court! I sent him my Mastercard statement within 2 hours which showed I indeed paid this amount. BOTTOM LINE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Antonetta in Burlington
Antonetta in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Absolutely love my new Kitchen. Jill is amazing and customer service oriented. Always took my calls and quick to respond.
Thanks for the team who helped transform and bring to life my dream kitchen.

Was this review helpful?
Quinn Smith in Oakville
Quinn Smith in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Kitchen Cabinet Refinishing...

Great experience from start to finish! Todd completed a site visit, reviewed their process, materials, options, costs, timelines and testimonials. I felt very confident in their services following this consultation. They were able to accommodate my requested timelines to complete the work during our vacation (kitchen will be out of service for a couple of days). For all intents and purposes they turn your kitchen area into a miniature spray to provide a consistent finish with the cabinet door finish (that they do the doors off-site at their shop). After the job was complete there were some minor touch ups (to be expected). Their service team was back within a couple of days to complete the touch up! Jill the office manager was a pleasure to work with as well. The finished product: if you didn't know they were refinished, you'd assume they were direct from the factory! Awesome job...highly recommended. I've already referred 3 people! See the attached before and after photos.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Sarah in Toronto
Sarah in Toronto
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Great experience with the team from Platinum Pro. We had our kitchen cabinets refinished with new paint. The team was professional and the finished product looks like a brand new kitchen! Thanks guys.

Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Lisa
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Painting an Entire 1,800 sq ft House

Platinum Pro Painters did a fantastic paint job! We were extremely pleased with their work. The price was very competitive and the staff was very accommodating. They showed up early each day and worked very hard to complete the project on time. Platinum Pro Painters are passionate about their work and even give valuable advice. The painters were very profession and cleaned up after themselves. The house now looks amazing and we will definitely give Todd a call for all of our future painting needs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lisa, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. Means the world to us that all our clients are happy and ecstatic with the end results. We look forward to working with you again in the future! Have a great Summer!

Elizabeth D'Souza in
Elizabeth D'Souza in
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Refacing of the Kitchen Cupboards

Recently I had a fire in my kitchen fortunately if was curtailed to above the stove and only two of the cupboard's were damaged
Contacted my insurance and they said that I would have to gutter the entire kitchen. I was not prepared to go through that Hassel and the Cost. I then contacted Platinum Plus who not only gave me excellent advice honest opinion and a reasonable price. I now have my kitchen looking Beautiful, Bright and for a fraction of the price. What I liked most about the entire process from the Owner of the Company Todd who came to see me the next morning to Jill who was my first Contact loving & understanding to the Excellent Crew Dylan & Peter who transformed my Kitchen within weeks
I highly recommend them to anyone who need their kitchen done
An amazing job. Thank You.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Liz, thank you so much for taking the time to write a testimonial for us. Your review is so very kind and we appreciate it very much. It was an absolute pleasure working for you and hope we can work for you again in the near future! Have a wonderful Summer!

Dana in Burlington
Dana in Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Kitchen cabinet repainting

great job on repainting my kitchen cabinets. Mike at the shop did an amazing job filling all of the old knob holes and beautiful finish on all of the doors. Kory was at the house for 2 days and did a beautiful job. Everything was taped and protective plastic put up to eliminate dust from the rest of the house. Very satisfied with the results and would recommend as a cheaper alternative to replacing your kitchen cabinets.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Really means a lot. It was a pleasure working for you and look forward to working with you again in the future, thanks Dana! :)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Platinum Pro Painters Inc. | Todd Lacroix

PLATINUM PRO PAINTERS is proud to be featured on the 2014 Season of Holmes on Homes on HGTV!

PLATINUM PRO PAINTERS was also featured on the Season Finale of Property Brothers in 2014.

PLATINUM PRO PAINTERS is the featured Painting Company for the new series on HGTV Open House Overhaul every Monday at 10pm!

PLATINUM PRO PAINTERS is also a very proud Member of the
Baeumler Approved Program. http://www.BaeumlerApproved.com

Featured on The Marilyn Denis Show in 2015

Looking to have your Kitchen Cabinets Painted? Call Platinum Pro Painters today for more information on your Kitchen Cabinet Painting Renovation

FREE Colour Consultation with a Professional Designer! Featured on HGTV!

Over 60 years of experience on our staff

Professional service focused on cleanliness timeliness and budget

Read our painting warranties and painting procedures for more info about how we work

Nothing less than perfection is satisfactory for our customers, so call us for a free consultation, and find out what Platinum Pro Painters can do for you

Our Goal is to service the community with our highest levels of professionalism.

We are located in the beautiful city of Burlington at 889 Fraser Drive unit 103 and are standing by to answer any questions you may have. We have been servicing Milton, Toronto, Burlington, Mississauga and the entire GTA for the past 5 years and will continue to bring the highest level of professionalism. Our professional Painters are second to none against our competitors and will continue to thrive on our level of excellence to better our clients experience.

We service all of ON, and AB, Canada and looking to expand.

We very much look forward to your call! 1(855)84-PAINT (72468)

CATEGORIES
Paint & Wallpaper Contractors and Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
PRODUCTS
Kitchen Cabinets - Lacquer
SERVICES
Kitchen Cabinet Painting Kitchen Cabinet Refinishing Kitchen Cabinet Staining Kitchen Cabinet Refacing
BRANDS
Benjamin Moore, Sherwin Williams, ICI, Dulux
SPECIALITIES
Seen on Holmes on Homes on HGTV Seen on Property Brothers on HGTV Seen on Open House Overhaul on HGTV Seen on Marilyn Denis on CTV Seen on the Real Estate Channel for Rogers Subscribers Baeumler Approved Contractor Better Business Bureau Member HomeStars.com Member WSIB Insured 2 Million Liability Insurance 5Yr Interior Warranty 2Yr Exterior Warranty
WEBSITE
http://PlatinumProPainters.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2009
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Cash, Debit, Cheque, Email Money Transfer
MEMBERSHIPS
Baeumler Approved Contractor, Better Business Bureau Member, HomeStars.com
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
5 Yr Interior Warranty, 2 Yr Exterior Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.