A Better Way Plumbing Ltd.

Water Filtration & Purification
Calgary AB
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for A Better Way Plumbing Ltd.

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (185 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

Tap repairs

We had good experiences with Jason in the past. Unfortunately, our most recent experience was poor. We called Jason to fix a kitchen faucet and a broken bath tub tap diverter. For whatever reason there were numerous problems with parts breaking which I then needed to special order from the manufacturers (amazing support from Kohler and Moen). I do not blame Jason for various parts breaking. However, there were difficulties arranging timely follow up visits and frustration when in a follow up visit he still did not have the appropriate tool. After a number of months of this going on I finally arranged for another plumber to fix and correct the problems.

Approximate cost of services:
$620.00
Was this review helpful?
Tyler in Calgary
Tyler in Calgary
5 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

CAN TRUST HIM FOR WARRANTY WORK

I use these guys for all plumbing needs. Fast responses and good service. I thought I needed some warranty work on the hot water tank they installed and Jason was there as soon as possible to diagnose the problem and get it done. You can trust these guys

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Douglas  in Calgary
Douglas in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Top quality and reliable work.

Jason is a reliable plumber who does top quality work and he’s one of the nicest guys you’ll ever meet. He’s been our go to guy for plumbing and heating since March 2014. I highly recommend ABW.

Approximate cost of services:
$75.00
Was this review helpful?
Terry in Toronto
Terry in Toronto
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Plumbing sinks and garburator install

Jason contacted me right away, arranged a time, showed up when he said he would and got everything done. It was the easiest part of the project to get done, everything looks great and works great. Highly recommend him for any projects you have big or small.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Mommiologist in Calgary
Mommiologist in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Simple plumbing fixes

I have had them come in to fix leaky fixtures and plugged drains. They are always on time, super friendly and professional, get the problem fixed easily, and charges are reasonable. I'd recommend!

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Real Property Management ACE
Real Property Management ACE
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Stands Behind Products & Services

As the owner of a national Property Management franchise, I decided to contract A Better Way Plumbing for a client's significant renovation job; which involved a new furnace and water heater.

It was the first time we started working with A Better Way Plumbing; and a few months after installation, Calgary February weather kicks in -25 and the furnace keeps shutting off on its own. The home was in the final stages of the renovation, ready to be put on the market. My staff notify as soon as they realized the home was at high risk for pipes bursting.

I left James the General Manager at A Better Way Plumbing a few urgent messages, and despite being late Friday evening, he responds personally and sends out his plumber to assess the issue that late evening, and resolved over the weekend. James customer service and honour to his warranty is much appreciated.

Approximate cost of services:
$13,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Curtis  from Calgary
Curtis from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Installation of Tankless Water Heater

We had a tankless water heater installed in February of 2018 by ABWP. It is working well even 4 years later and we are pleased with the quality product and installation by ABWP. I would recommend installing a tankless water heater and the services of ABWP as they have proven over time to be a quality company.

Review has 4 previous versions
Approximate cost of services:
$5,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Sandy in Calgary
Sandy in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Kitchen Sink Clog

I had a nasty clogged sink in my kitchen. I had tried a few different ways to get it unclogged. My Room mate opened the p trap to empty the sink, and broke the seal on the pipe. I finally gave up and called Jason! Best idea I have ever had! I used the get a quote option on here and he quoted me $200 + parts. Mitch came on time (early actually) and proceeded to repair the pipe. When done he poured some industrial drain cleaner down. Told us not to use the sink for 24 hrs. After that we were to fill the sink with cold water and then pull the plug. Well.... it didn't work. I called Jason back and they came out again. Snaked it this time and whoosh......it works!! Thanks guys for all your work! I appreciate it!!

Approximate cost of services:
$263.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sandy,
Thank you for the kind words. We really appreciate the business and for taking the time to let us know of your experience.
A Better Way Plumbing

Dave in Calgary
Dave in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

Replace Main Water Shutoff Valve

We called A Better Way Plumbing to replace our main water shutoff valve, which had a very slow drip (non-emergency call). After we arranged the date/time with the city to turn off water outside, A Better Way arrived and removed the existing valve, only to discover they didn't have the replacement valve in stock. We were informed the required part was being couriered from Edmonton and would arrive by 9am the following day. We did not receive any updates the following morning until we phoned to ask for a status update. We were informed that the part did not arrive on time and was now scheduled to arrive that afternoon. By 2pm, we had not received any updates so we phoned again and were informed that the part had arrived. By 4:30pm the day after starting the job, they were able to finish it.

Our family was without water for 24 hours. No status updates were initiated by A Better Way during those 24 hours. They were quick to blame their supplier for the issues/delays but they cannot pin the lack of communication on their supplier. Payment took 15 minutes as the Plumber was having difficulties with his payment machine, which included him having to call their admin for help. No discount was provided to reflect the inconvenience or lack of communication. We were told we would get a coupon for a future service. While we don’t intend on using A Better Way again, it’s important to point out that we have yet to receive the coupon (writing of this review is 3 weeks after the service was performed).

The new shutoff valve is working / performing well and the work area was left tidy.

Approximate cost of services:
$295.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dave,
We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. It was unfortunate that our suppliers did not have your replacement valve in-stock at the time of the house call. We apologize for the inconvenience. We do try to communicate as best as possible with the customer if there is going to be a delay. We will take your comments as a learning experience for us on how we can improve our customer service during situations like this.
Thank you
A Better Way Plumbing

Genny in Calgary
Genny in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Great Plumber - call this company

We have used Jason (A Better Way Plumbing) for different problems we had - from adding a natural gas line for the BBQ, to fixing a leaky kitchen faucet, to a leaky shower and leaky toilet, replacing a water tank, etc. (It's an older house, so it's expected). His estimate are always spot on (no surprises down the road). He comes quickly and does great work without leaving a mess behind him. He is now our dedicated plumber. I highly recommend A Better Way Plumbing for professional services, yet friendly and personalized at the same time

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Genny,
Thank you for the great review. Jason takes a lot of pride in his work and business. Please refer us to all your friends.

A Better Way Plumbing

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A Better Way Plumbing Ltd.

A Better Way Plumbing Ltd. is a family owned and operated company founded by Jason Tomchishin in 2005. We are dedicated to providing the best possible customer service, going above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. We offer around the clock, 24 hour emergency plumbing services city wide in Calgary ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Water Filtration & Purification pros in Calgary?