I had major renos done at my home including the removal of my stairs and installation of new ones.
Newly installed basement stairs are good — no complaints.
I was told the stairs would arrive on a certain day and took a day off work for this. PSR did not show up nor did they respond to texts or calls, this continued throughout the process.
The newly installed stairs were measured incorrectly and instead of fixing it were simply put in and I realized there was nothing but subflooring underneath them now bracing them as well as them not alligning correctly with the upper set. The upper set of stairs were not only installed in such a fashion that they were leaning down (got fixed) i realized after the flooring was installed that they are also on an angle (not fixed) which is extremely prominent now. They took back the main staircase to "fix" and instead of replacing the incorrect stringer added a fake wood paper they glued on the inside.
The entire process was a disaster from communication right down to the installation and caused a great deal of stress and never got resolved properly. I had to fire them and have the railings and stain done by another company.
Avoid at all costs.
- Company Response
In response to your review of the work performed at your home, we wish to respond as follows: The average time we quote customers to supply and install new stairs is between three and a half to four weeks. As you stressed the urgency to have the work completed quickly due to your timelines, we did our very best to accommodate you. Upon receipt of your initial deposit, we were at your premises one week later to install your stairs. With respect to our arrival, we did show up as promised be it later in the day. My office staff did respond to your calls and emails in a timely manner as I am unable to answer my cell phone when I am on a job site. In fact, many of our customers are extremely pleased with our timely responses.
You have further indicated that the stairs were measured incorrectly and this is simply not correct. The existing stairs in your home, which I believe are approximately one hundred years old, did not meet today's code standards. Any new stairs installed must now be built in compliance with current codes or be in violation. If they appear off to you, it is most likely because your existing landing is slightly out of square. In order to secure the stairs properly to the landing, they will be slightly off square due to this and this has nothing to do with our workmanship.
For maximum support, the closed stringer on the stairs is screwed to the joists on the vertical wall. So you are correct, the stairs are sitting on your sub-floor.
In our follow up email once the work was completed, my assistant specifically asks clients if they are satisfied with the work performed and you did not note any complaints and in fact advised in your reply that you were in the process of sending your outstanding balance. In any event, our goal is to provide a positive experience to each and every customer. We appreciate your business and would be happy to discuss any of the grievances noted in your review.
Rowan Clarke, President
Premium Stairs & Railings Inc.