Laurysen Kitchens Ltd

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
2415 Carp Rd Ottawa ON K2S 1B9
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2014 winnerBest of 2014winner

Reviews for Laurysen Kitchens Ltd

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (65 reviews)

Sort by

Elizabeth Wheeler in Ottawa
Elizabeth Wheeler in Ottawa
6 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Kitchen Renovation

Laurysen promised a kitchen in 10 days; it took 11 weeks. The men who installed the kitchen butchered the job. Cabinets were not centered around the sink, doors were uneven and too far apart, a shelf looked like it was going to fall off the wall, there were over 150 dents, knicks, scratches, gouges and gobs of putty. The cabinets had places where the stain was not applied, there was a big scratch underneath the varnish on one door, the valances fell apart. the crown moulding did not meet in the corners, Best of all they left the electrical cables for the microwave and sink light hanging outside the cabinetst and housing. Laurysen tried to camoflage the mess very badly by putting trim around the cabinets that didn't meet the wall, they took another stab at the crown moulding (which still didn't meet) they attempted to fill in all of the gouges and scratches with wax pencil and it looked even worse. Only after we threatened them with legal action and a complaint to the BBB did they send a manger over to look at the mess. One of the owners actually had the nerve to compare their abysmal service and our resulting aggravation and inconvenience to "Lumps in the Gravy".They assured us that fixing our kitchen was a "priority" but it took them another three weeks to get it fixed after that meeting. After 11 weeks we found ourselves living among boxes and having to empty cabinets again. As a result of their incompetence we had to delay other scheduled work and incurred costs over over $800. They never admitted reponsiblity or apologized. By the time the first service tech came to our house Laurysen had fired the installers who had butchered three other jobs in addition to ours. A company that cared about good service, quality work and customer satisfaction would have visited these sites immediately as sson as they became aware of the problems and made an effort to fix the mess but we had to fight and threaten them to get it fixed. Then they had the nerve to say that they had "bent over backwards" for us. They bent over backwards to pretend the problems didn't exist, then they bent over backwards to make minimal efforts to camoflage the problems and then they bent over backwards to insinuate that we were demanding and hard to please when we only wanted what we had hire and paid over $22,000 them to do. I would caution anyone who is considering Laurysen to avoid them. They are all smiles and assurances of quality craftmenship when they take your money but when there are obvious problems they deny, stall and accuse their customers of being unreasonable. The itchen contractor they recommended said it was a lousy job and the installers from Emerald Tile whom Laurysen subcontracted to install the granite said that they couldn't believe how uneven the cabinets were. I am sorry that I ever set foot in Laurysen.

Approximate cost of services:
$22.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mrs. Wheeler, we apologize for not meeting your delivery date and for the initial work. As you mentioned, we will not be working with those installers again. We feel we have now completed the work we were contracted to do. We wish you the best in the future. - Giuseppe

mamma to twins in Gloucester
mamma to twins in Gloucester
2 reviews GLOUCESTER, ON
10/10

kitchen design

We were extremley pleased with our reno. We sat down with a designer that had wonderful ideas on how to renovate our kitchen. Our kitchen is now extremely functional and the amount of space we gained from her redesign is exceptional.
My husband and I found their selection of colour, cabinets and countertops to be amazing.
Very good experience! We plan on redoing our bathrooms next year and without a doubt will use Laurysen Kitchens again! Highly recommended!

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much! We're pleased we could make your kitchen more beautiful and functional for you. We really appreciate that you will be choosing us again. - Giuseppe

Natalie Ollson in Richmond
Natalie Ollson in Richmond
2 reviews RICHMOND, ON
10/10

Kitchen

Laurysen Kitchen built a great kitchen for our new build. Their design and price were unbeateable. They had many samples to choose from and were very helpful in the process. We are very satisfied with the end product.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Natalie! We're glad we could be of help! - Giuseppe

christine in Stittsville
christine in Stittsville
1 review STITTSVILLE, ON
10/10

kitchen

The price fit for what we were looking for, they were very good about sticking to the quote and then the gave us a credit because it ended up being less than they had thought. They were very clean and kept the house clean while they were working and after they had left

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Christine! We're grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. - Giuseppe

Alisha in Toronto
Alisha in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Kitchen rennovation and book shelves

We quickly made our decisions on what we wanted for the kitchen and bookshelves - our builder says he uses Laurysen Kitchens - so that we could have them installed before the end of June. The builder said they may come one week early but they came the second week on July. The doors for beneath the sink were missing. The truck driver dropped them off in August after he found them. The shelves came 12 inches instead of 21 inches. The replacement shelves came with purple marker coming through the paint. I asked for these to be retuned before Thanksgiving and the company said they were on the truck to be delivered before but showed up a week late. As for paint, I was told by the installers that Laurysen Kitchens usually sends matching paint but none arrived. They had to use the color matching at BM because the color did not match the BM# I gave. Then the book shelves had a fixed shelf that was so high there was not room on the top shelf for books and looks totally out of proportion. We are going to have to rip these apart. The whole experience was very disappointing.

Approximate cost of services:
$22,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize that our work did not meet your needs, Alisha. We feel we have fulfilled what we were contracted to provide, and hope that you enjoy your kitchen for many years to come. - Giuseppe

Bernise in Nepean
Bernise in Nepean
1 review Nepean, ON

First Review

10/10

Kitchen

We had Laurysen redo our kitchen last year and we are very pleased with it. They were our recommended by Bell's Corners Painting and happy to have used them. They installed a medium colour cherry kitchen and we kept our existing floors which they kept intact. We would use them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Bernise! We wish you many years of enjoyment in your new kitchen. - Giuseppe

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Laurysen Kitchens Ltd

Ottawa turns to Laurysen Kitchens for beautiful, affordable cabinets for their kitchens, bathrooms and closets. We provide standard to custom cabinets in modern, classic and country styles. Our culture of quality is why we’ve been voted Best Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturer since 1997 by the Ottawa Consumers’ Choice Award.

CATEGORIES
Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
PRODUCTS
Kitchens, Bathrooms, Closet Organizers,
SERVICES
Design, Manufacture, Service and Install
STYLES
Contemporary, Classic, Country, Traditional
SPECIALITIES
Production, Semi-custom & Custom cabinetry
WEBSITE
http://www.laurysenkitchens.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1970
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
100
MEMBERSHIPS
GOHBA, OHBAm CHBA, NKBA, CKCA, Ottawa Chamber of Commerce, West Carleton BIA
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.