Marcon Construction Ltd

General Contractors
1309 Hazelton Blvd Burlington ON L7P 4V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
General Contractors
Marcon Construction Ltd
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

74%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Marcon Construction Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (32 reviews)

Sort by

Alireza in Stoney Creek
Alireza in Stoney Creek
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Main floor renovation

I had 3 quotes and Marcon was the most expensive one but I chose them because of their reputation, my project was supposed to be finished in 3 months but it took 11 months and for long time my family lived in trouble because of their dishonesty and unprofessionalism.
When they did floor they removed all plywoods which was there when the builder had built my house and they installed engineer woods without subfloor and immediately other jobs such as kitchen cabinet, island, powder room ceramic, closet were installed on the floor without subfloor, they also installed treads and risers, we moved back to the main floor and then I found that everywhere on the floor is squeaky and all stairs were so noisy.
I complained and they tried to convince me this is normal, so I argued with the owner of Marcon and floor company, they came back 3-4 times to repair the floor and stairs and every time took at least one month and finally one person in floor company revealed that floor is squeaky because there is no subfloor and they accepted they redo the floor, since they had installed kitchen cabinet, Island and powder room ceramic they had to cut OSB and replace it with plywood without touching under kitchen cabinet, closet and powder room, so again my family moved to let them redo the floor, after they redo the floor still some part of my floor is noisy and squeaky much more than before renovation.
I had so much argue with the Marcon owner about stairs and asked them to redo the stairs but he tried to prove it that the problem is my stair case and they did not do any mistake, I had noticed that the guys who did the stairs were not professional and just came to my house made jokes, laughing and using F words in front of my 6 years old daughter and my wife. Finally I threatened them to take them to the court unless one reputable stair company redo my stairs so after a lot of argue and fight The owner invite a reputable stair company to convince me that my stairs are normal and the squeak and noise come from my stair case and they told me if we redo your stairs there is no guarantee to make it better.
Finally I told them they have to redo the stairs and they did. When reputable stair company came to my house they told me they knew that the stairs were installed wrongly.
Now my stair has zero noise. (Now you understand how much they are dishonest).
This project took 11 months because they were dishonest and nonprofessional.
I do not recommend them to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$117,500.00
Was this review helpful?
chris@Burlington
C. S.
3 reviews Burlington, ON
1/10

lack of imagination

The trades are excellent but unfortunately owner retired before we started the project and new management is very immature, inexperienced, and completely lacks imagination. Our loft was an existing living space we wanted updated but once the room was completely demolished, Marcon said the project was impossible and we should board it up. We did our own research and handed them plans how to do their work, and were fought every step of the way. Much arguing, stress, and lots and lots of extra unplanned expenses. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. If you intend on using Marcon, demand specific plans and specific pricing.

Look elsewhere.

PS - Its unfortunate Marcon follows 'if you can't convince them, then confuse them' with their response...
- there were no budgetary constraints whatsoever, simply a request to justify the overruns
- the space was already being used so there were no construction concerns, just a lack of ingenuity and a default response of demolition and reconstruction

We only have ourselves to blame for not doing our homework.

Approximate cost of services:
$70,000.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, however it's important that adequate context is provided, and that misleading or misinformed information is corrected.
The owner has not retired and the management has not changed. Our management has 30 years of experience.
The home in question is a century old, during demo stage we discovered the existing structure was in extremely poor condition. We presented the owner with 3 options: continue as planned despite the glaring structural concerns, abandon the project, or do it right and reconstruct the loft. Reconstruction was not in the owner's budget so after much discussion we decided to proceed as originally planned.
While the project was already underway the homeowner presented us with many ideas that were beyond the scope of our contract. Some of these would incur significant extra costs and were challenging from a technical aspect. Throughout the project we warned the owner of this but still faced complaints of unplanned expenses.
We are sorry that this owner had a negative experience and will strive to better ourselves based on this feedback, but we feel we delivered a quality product and had open dialogue throughout the process.

StarSeeker
StarSeeker
2 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Main Floor Renovation

Marcon completed our renovation project to our complete satisfaction. Management, employees and Marcon's dedicated trades partners and supplier provided friendly, reliable, professional and excellent service and installation. We selected Marcon based on recommendations from friends and verified references and have no hesitation in providing this positive endorsement.

Approximate cost of services:
$100,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the glowing review David! It was a real pleasure working with you and I hope you get many years of enjoyment out of the newly renovated kitchen and sitting area. I really love the way it all turned out, and you and Erica did an excellent job in your finishing selections!

Brant Hills  in
Brant Hills in
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Extension of dining room

We are writing to express our appreciation to Marcon Construction upon the completion of the addition to our dining room. We found them to be helpful and supportive from start to finish . They sent in a lot of different teams and each and every person that showed up to complete their part of the job was a true professional and excelled at what they did. What a pleasure this job has been!
Judy and Bob

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the positive feedback Judy and Bob! It was a real pleasure working with you and the extension turned out real nice giving you a great view of the pool and ravine. Enjoy!

LindsayG
LindsayG
2 reviews Burlington, ON
6/10

2 Bathrooms

Although we are happy with the end result it was at times a painful process. I guess you could consider our project a 'smaller' one, although it was big to us....we were converting a bedroom into a master bathroom then upgrading the main family bathroom.

We did feel our project got pushed to the side a bit while other bigger projects were being delt with. I also question the experience of our project manager, he seemed rather inexperienced at times. The communication between himself and the subcontractors was horrible...lots of things were missed, for example we asked for a custom niche in our shower, the tilers finished the shower without including it so had to go back and rip apart the tile..

I also wasn't a fan of the amount of sub-contractors that were coming through our house. I am a stay at home mom and there was never any warning as to who was coming and when, they had a lock box on the door so people would just walk through. I was putting the baby to sleep one day and could here footsteps coming up the stairs, on a day when I was told no one was coming. I ended up removing it from the door so they had to knock.

Every single one of the trades had to come back at least once to fix something that wasn't done properly in the beginning. Not sure if this is a normal process or not but seems rather inefficient to me. Also, be wary of the 'allowances' they give you for things like tiles, plumbing etc. We were pretty much forced to use their tile supplier...which is based out in Smithville...not overly convenient. And despite picking the cheapest tile available we were still way over on the allowance.

I am sure this is a great company to work with on bigger projects, but I think for us we just didn't fit with their style of doing business. We are now renovating our basement and have gone with another contractor who we are very happy with.

Approximate cost of services:
$40,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time out to post a review Lindsay. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve. All jobs, big or small are equally important to us. We are set up with the carpenters on staff and we sub the rest of our work out to licenced professionals. We have put together an excellent team who work well together and most of them we have worked with for 20 plus years. We have worked with Bert Vis Flooring for at least 25 years now, and they not only do an excellent job, but they were also willing to absorb some of the cost of the tile so that you could stay within your budget and have the tile you preferred. I'm sorry you felt inconvenienced through the process, as we do our best to keep a project moving swiftly. I am glad to hear you are happy with the end result and wish you all the best with your basement reno.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Burnaby, BC
0/10

So disappointing

We had Marcon Construction work on our business suite (a clinic for children with autism) and were assured that everything was cleared and ok with management/building owners. Unfortunately, that was not the case and now we are out over $12,000 due to the untruths and irresponsibility that this company showed. I would NOT recommend them for any work that you hope to have done.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is not one of our jobs. This review comes from Burnaby BC and I know there is a Marcon Construction out there. We do residential work, not commercial and have never built a clinic for children with autism.

Rose and Russ McCallum in Dundas
Rose and Russ McCallum in Dundas
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Renovation-replace deck and add porch roof

We contacted Marcon in June 2015, we had thought our neighbour who had moved was going to do the project but had taken on other projects. We knew it was late in the season but were still hoping to get it done before the winter. Mark came to our home, measured, took notes and we received a detailed quote and we signed up with Marcon. They were honest with us that if probably wouldn't be till sometime in November due to the projects they had in their schedule. We got a call in September they had a hold up at one of the projects and they could fit us in. We were thrilled. We love our new deck/ porch and everyone that has seen it says it is a well build, solid structure. We are so happy that we got Marcon to do our project. Thank you Mark, Brian and crew for a fantastic job. We know who to call and who to refer when it comes to someone looking for a contractor !! Russ and Rose-Dundas Ontario

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time out to post the glowing review, Russ and Rose! I've shown the pictures I took of your deck with all the Christmas decorations on it and everyone thought the deck looked great. It was a real pleasure working with you. Enjoy!!

Scott in Hamilton
Scott in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

kitchen addition and complete renovation

We interviewed 4 contractors and chose Marcon due to project presentation, reputation, and cost. They were not the least expensive. Work started 1 week early, project proceeded as per proposal, all employees and subtrades knowledgeable, courteous and cleaned up at the end of each day. All issues were dealt with promptly and professionally. Project completed within a week of the 3 months time frame. Extremely pleased with outcome. Highly recommend the contractor.

Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review Scott. It was a pleasure working with you and Madeline. I hope you get much pleasure from your new kitchen, it sure looks spacious!

Rdecleir in Burlington
Rdecleir in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Addition and new kitchen

We asked 3 contractors to quote on this job. Mark at Marcon was the only one who tooks notes at our first meeting and then provided a detailed cost estimate. He also provided references and insurance information and a detailed schedule of payments when we signed the contract. Very Professional. The job started when they said it would and they finished in the time frame that they figured it would take. Brian the Site Supervisor and all the trades were very good and responsive to our requests and questions. We are so glad we used Marcon and we would have no hesitation recommending them to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$260,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a real pleasure working for you Rob and I appreciate the kind words. It was an exciting project to work on and the end result is stunning. The spacious kitchen will give you years of pleasure and service!

Ian from Burlington
Ian from Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Renovation to front of house exterior

We contracted with Marcon for a change to the front of our home. This project involved masonry work, roofing, carpentry, soffit and eaves and electrical.
Brian, our foreman, handled all the trades. They were all a pleasure to deal with, as was Brian.
The level of communication was excellent, the care and cleanliness of the project was appreciated, and the finished job is terrific.

Approximate cost of services:
$13,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the positive review Ian! The house looks fantastic with the new roof line and decorative column. The landscaping that you had done really ties it all together to give the house a new look! It was a pleasure working with you and we hope you get many years of enjoyment from out of the work that was done.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Marcon Construction Ltd

Providing quality residential renovations and additions. From modest renovations to large-scale second storey additions, basements, kitchens, home theatres and sunrooms, Marcon Construction delivers old-world workmanship and particular attention to detail. www. marconconstruction. ca
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Burlinton?