Exclusive Windows & Doors Inc

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
701 Dundas Street West Whitby ON L1N 2N3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Windows & Doors Installation & Service in Whitby  >  Exclusive Windows & Doors Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Exclusive Windows & Doors Inc

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Deb S in Toronto
Deb S in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

California Shutters and Door Insert are perfect!

Deborah and Steve Exclusive Windows were amazing. Shutters and door insert were ordered, delivered and installed exactly as promised. Price was fair and I couldn't be more delighted with the products. Deborah was very helpful during the sales cycle and Steve/team were courteous, fast and extremely professional during the install. My expectations were exceeded by 100%...thanks so much for a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for your business.We appreciate your review. It was a pleasure working for you.

Private User
Private User
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Windows

We had half our windows and a new front door Replaced a few years back and had recently got the rest of the windows replaced. Steve and his team did a great job.. they were professional, and courteous. They did a great job.

Was this review helpful?
kryton619
kryton619
2 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Supply and Install Windows and Doors

This was the 3rd time that I have used Exclusive Windows and Doors. This time was no different than previous projects.....Steve and his crew striving for perfection.

This project consisted of supplying and installing 10 windows, 2 sliding glass doors along with double doors at the front of the house. All windows were complete rip outs with new window installations spanning brick to brick.

This work is messy by nature, however, they were always sweeping and cleaning as they progressed through the project.

Thank you Steve for a job well done....and I look forward to having you do work for us in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Rob thanks so much for the review. As always it was our pleasure to work for great customers once again. We look forward to future dealings as well.

Jordan in Toronto
Jordan in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Multiple window instalation

Amazing service. Debrah and Steve for kind, clean and professional. The price was great and he product was exactly as they promised. I would recommend them to anyone needing windows

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jordan it was a pleasure to work for you and Diana

B. Bayes in Whitby
B. Bayes in Whitby
1 review Pickering, ON
10/10

Doors & Windows

We first used Exclusive Windows & Doors >20 years ago. They have replaced doors & windows in 2 homes we lived in as well as in our cottage. From the time of quote to the finished product, we found Steve & Deb to be both knowledgeable & professional and their prices are very competitive. They have 'always' met their delivery commitment - on 'all' our projects. Immediately upon completion of work, Steve 'always' ensures the site is completely cleaned of debris. We have recommended Exclusive to family and friends, without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Bonnie it has always been a pleasure to work for you and Jack
We appreciate your continued business with our company

Softspoken in Whitby
Softspoken in Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON
2/10

Disappointed in the end

My wife and I were planning to replace our front doors and were referred to Exclusive Windows and Door by a neighbor in April 2015. We had two other estimates from previous contractors, but we liked how knowledgeable and professional Deborah and Steve at Exclusive Windows and Doors were. We choose a custom colour that Exclusive did not have. Deborah advised us to check other sources for the colour, told us they needed the color chip within two weeks, and asked that we place it in an envelope with our deposit cheque of $500 and stick it to our front door. I became concerned when the envelope was still there almost a week later, and called and left a few messages. Deborah eventually returned my call, apologized and said they’d been quite busy, but would pick up the envelope the next week. Deborah later called and said she mistakenly threw out our colour chip. I asked does that affect timing for our order. She said no. We had to begin the process of finding that color again and were then told it was too small. We found a much nicer colour in a larger size, put it in an envelope, stuck it on the door as Deborah requested. Almost another week passed and it wasn’t picked up. I became concerned and left voicemail messages. Finally Deborah returned our call and was quite hostile. She told me that the window for the door was ordered, they were very busy and didn’t have time to answer our every call, it seemed that we didn’t trust them, if so, they would gladly refund our deposit. I told her that it wasn’t a matter of trusting; I was concerned about the effect of the delay of them not having the colour chip and ending up with a colour we did not order. I further explained, with all due respect, when I make a commitment, I honour it or update the person as to when I am able to; I was only going by what I was told and wanted to proceed, as long as there was still time to have the colour we desired.

We were also on a deadline as we were enrolled in the Enbridge 2015 Energy Conservation Program, and the date for our second and final audit was July 21 , 2015, which Deborah and Steve were aware of. Thankfully, our installation was completed, so we met the requirements of the Enbridge Energy Conservation Program.

Our installation date was July 15, 2015. Steve was paid the full balance of $2,520 by personal cheque but didn’t have our paid invoice. I shared that it’s required for our second audit. He said Deborah will email it, which was fine. It was never emailed. My wife had to pick it up at their office. Overall Steve did a wonderful job. A day later, I opened the stationary door and noticed that the foam insert at the top for the center piece was partially missing and the bottom foam was mangled. I contacted Deborah, she was unsure of what I was referring to and asked me to email photos, which I did, along with two photos of the foam inserts on my mother-in-law’s front doors, which were installed years ago and still intact. I called Exclusive a few times, but did not receive a return call. Steve eventually responded via email with the following:

“I'm sorry I'm not quite sure what the problem is. Is the door leaking air. Is it not working right. The foam is not deteriorating , it's nice and tight against the foam , if I loser it off you will complain that it is not tight enough
What would you prefer The stationary door does not need to be constantly opened unless you are moving furniture However I will order you new foam and redo it
Sorry you are so unhappy with the job”

I responded via email: “there seems to be a misunderstanding. I'm not unhappy with the job. I'm simply pointing out that the foam is coming part and that it may be too thin. Perhaps the photo isn't clear enough‎. Long term, if left in the present condition, we may have air leaks.” Please ensure that both top and bottom foams are ordered.

We attempted many calls and sent follow-up emails, but they did not respond. My wife spoke with them in January 2016 and was told that if they come out and conclude that there is nothing wrong, we will have to pay for the service call.

Our primary issue was the change in service after our deposit was made. Responses were either hostile, or non-existent. After complying with Exclusive’s requests, we shouldn’t have to beg for them to provide basic customer service.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Mike in Ajax
Mike in Ajax
7 reviews Pickering, ON
3/10

New windows, patio and storm door, vinal siding

Last summer had windows done recommended by neighbour. Steve was the best price of 3 quotes, price wise. Did full install brick to brick. They were on time, surprising fast (whole house done 2 days) and seemed professional. Windows seem very good quality and got a deal with free colouring as North Star windows had a promotion.

Some small amount of material was found outside however 99% was cleaned up, old windows and garbage taken away.

Final siding work below bay window was excellent, window trims very clean, fit and finish work looked really good. I was impressed until winter came.

Found some issues was not happy with, one basement window was not insulated because of inside framing they can't access, this caused 1/4 inch of frost on wood window sill during cold days which lead to it dying and soaking in, moisture in wood. Don't want any mould, can't say this is proper way to leave things.

Garage window had insulation areas missed, almost looked like the spray can ran out of foam and installer missed the line between window and frame about 5-6 inches total. This did matter as significant cold draft, moisture was coming in during winter, which I found. I called Deb to report this and said I would send a picture, she said "no" don't send a picture. Asked for someone to come and resolve, nobody showed up.

Had issue with patio door, gap between door sill and patio door, steve came out and put a shim in. Now the door had a cold draft coming under it felt on the inside, I called back, Steve did not believe me and said 25 years that has never happened, I was not calling just to make things up for no reason, I told him to check him self, and after unpleasant conversation with Steve he said fine, I'll come out on Friday, however nobody showed up. Big let down.

Post customer service on the phone needs improvement from both, you need to take care of your customers, listen and understand their concerns. Not have heated arguments is no way to treat your customers if you want them satisfied. At no time did I raise my voice, insult I only reported problems I am trying to work with you to resolve together. However company is very defensive and unpleasant on call backs and does not always show up or communicate/ call to cancel or re-schedule.

Also you need to explain the impact to customers when you don't install insulation on certain widows, what they can expect and what they will have to do with cold drafts, moisture and water as a result. At least 3-4 windows had signed and proof of this.

This part did not meet my expectation from a window company.

I have since resolve the insulation issues myself since they did not show up when they said on Friday over a month ago, I do not want to speak with them any more not worth it begging them to resolve and deal with unpleasant phone conversations. Moving on now.

If I could go back, I would not choose them again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Viktoria
Viktoria
2 reviews Whitby, ON
0/10

Window seal

I had an extremely disappointing experience with Exclusive Windows and Doors. They were recommended to me by my realtor when the buyer of our house wanted us to fix a window seal before closing. I signed the sale contract promising the window would be fixed about 2 weeks before closing (for the record: this date was before the holidays).

I contacted Exclusive about 1-1.5 months before the deadline and they promised me to get it done on time. Whenever I called them, Debrorah just said not to worry, it will be done by the deadline.

They left it to the very last day to go out and to see and measure the window! Of course it was not done by the deadline, not even close! Then we agreed that I would pay for the work in advance, she would issue me an invoice and they can do the work and coordinate with the new owner. This, 2.5 weeks before closing.

She didn't tell me the truth when she said she had already ordered the window at this point and later I found out from internet reviews that I am not the only customer she told something that was not true!

She didn't send me the invoice or even told me how much to pay until 2 days before closing! I sent her the money as soon as she told me on the phone how much to pay and then she ended up refusing the money and not issuing the invoice saying it was too much hassle for $400! All this 2 days before closing!!!

(PS: The company that I ended up hiring did the job within a week for a third of the price!)

I would never recommend even for my worst enemy to ever deal with this company, nobody deserves to be treated like this. Simply the worst ever customer experience I have had in my whole life! Steer clear of them!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This customer did not have any signed contract with exclusive windows whatsoever
They were given a quote and we attempted to bendover backwards to assist them in having a glass repaired over the Christmas holidays
The information they supplied was inaccurate as to style of glass needing repair
And we assessed the job and advised the inquirer that the suppliers were closed for the holidays and that as a result of there misinformation that we could not do there job.
Therefore there was no contract and this review is not valid and should be removed
They have no one to blame but themselves

KN in East york
KN in East york
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New windows and front door

This company was referred to us by friends - and we couldn't be more pleased with the results! Debra and Steve were such a pleasure to deal with from booking our initial meeting to the completion of the project.

We purchased our home last fall and after spending one winter with the older windows we knew that an update was essential! Debra and Steve came over and walked us through all of our options. They were so knowledgeable about their products and offered many invaluable suggestions when we were making our selections.

The installation went very smoothly and we had our new windows and a gorgeous new front door within a day despite the challenges of working with an older home on a smaller Toronto street.

Honestly - we are so happy with the results and wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend Exclusive Windows and Doors. Extremely reasonably priced work done by professional individuals who are an absolute pleasure to deal with - it simply couldn't get any easier!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.