Done Right Roofing & Sheet Metal

Chimney Build & Repair
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Chimney Build & Repair in Puslinch  >  Done Right Roofing & Sheet Metal
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

63%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Done Right Roofing & Sheet Metal

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (44 reviews)

Sort by

Stephanie Kandel from Mississauga
Stephanie Kandel from Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

roofing damage

These people are unprofessional plain and simple. They're the worst business I've ever dealt with. We had some very bad wind a few weeks ago and our house had just some misshapen shingles and needed one nail. They charged their $300 minimum and the total came to $339 for one nail that took less than five minutes. You would think they would forgive such a minor repair that took less than five minutes. Don't recommend these people or their service. The woman I spoke to hung up on me.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Shawn in Mississauga
Shawn in Mississauga
1 review Milton, ON
0/10

Customer service

Had contacted them to make an appointment for a roof repair due to the windstorm. Booked them on the morning of Monday, May 7 and was given a range of Tuesday (May 8) and Wednesday (May 9) that they would be out. After securing this commitment I stopped contacting other companies. At the end of the Wednesday (5:45pm) was informed they may not be out until the following week. The issue being I had over 20 shingles to be replaced with bare wood exposure and heavy rain forecasted for the next four days . I ended up getting an emergency roof repair company to come and get it done last night (arrived in 75 minutes from contacting them) and paid $2,000 for a $500 job but was handcuffed. When I phoned this morning the person, who I assume is the owner, told me "sometimes things slip through the cracks, that he had over 150 jobs booked". And that "I don't understand when it comes to natural disasters the issues with timing". And also "I am not the type of person they want to do business with". Then proceeded to hang up on me. I have tried to phone back several times and he won't pick up. I am very reasonable, I do not yell nor did I accuse, I had great reasonable conversations with the two ladies who I talked with preceeding this call. I stated I understand but please don't set up a commitment and then not follow through. If you aren't able to do something don't say it in the first place, just be honest and give a realistic time frame. And worst of all to blame me and say I am not the type of person to do business with, I cannot accept. Never question my integrity of someone who you would want to do business with. And be honourable enough to pick up the phone after hanging up on me. I can only imagine the follow through of issues after installation and the blame thrown at the customer as this is the flavour I get from dealing with you. They have my contact information and open the door for them to reach out to me.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
kathy in Toronto
kathy in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

Did "Done right roofing" do a right work?

Done Right Roofing was not cheap when my neighbors and I decided to choose them back to the year of 2010. The company came with a 10-year workmanship warranty for each installation and only they knew how to interpret it once the problem would truly come up in ten-year. The roof is at least 9-meter high and owners would not be able to check themselves after the installation. For examples, how many nails had been used for each piece and whether the glue had been applied at the finish.

My neighbor and I have some shingles blown away during the recent ice storm and strong winds. The interesting part is at least 60% of damage roof related to Done Right Roofing's initial installation while others remained intact and if installed by other companies. We called for services and also had been told out of warranties.

Roofing installation is highly competitive business and business would be easily damaged for a bad reputation and services.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

8 years ago Done-Right Roofing was using CRC and IKO shingles that have 80 to 100 km limited wind warranty. Since changing to GAF shingles 6 years ago, Done-Right Roofing has experienced no wind damage. Environment Canada recorded winds over 120 km an hour on May 4th, 2018. These winds caused hundreds of thousands of roof damage across Southern Ontario.

The wind warranty damage lies with the manufacturers and not with the roofers for a faulty installation.

Done-Right Roofing stands by it's workmanship but is not responsible for shingles manufactured that are not standing up to wind warranties.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Roofing disaster

My senior parents replaced their roof three years ago. Since then they have had multiple issues when the weather sours. When the winds gust, they are the only house to lose their shingles. When my parents reach out to the company they cite the small print in their contract. If you are looking for loop holes and a company that will not stand by their workmanship or provide caring customer service then Done Right is for you. As it stands we’ll be getting another company to replace ‘Done Rights’ work and incurring the cost of another new roof

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

8 years ago Done-Right Roofing was using CRC and IKO shingles that have 80 to 100 km limited wind warranty. Since changing to GAF shingles 6 years ago, Done-Right Roofing has experienced no wind damage. Environment Canada recorded winds over 120 km an hour on May 4th, 2018. These winds caused hundreds of thousands of roof damage across Southern Ontario.

The wind warranty damage lies with the manufacturers and not with the roofers for a faulty installation.

Done-Right Roofing stands by it's workmanship but is not responsible for shingles manufactured that are not standing up to wind warranties.

Saddened Senior in Mississauga
Saddened Senior in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Everything seemed okay until the wind blew and I called about my “Guarantee”

July 2014 my neighbour and I had our roofs re-shingled by this company. We got three estimates, didn’t choose the cheapest one, but chose the one with the 10 year Guarantee and a very convincing sales pitch.
Unfortunately today my neighbour and I are doubting our choice. Last week when the wind blew we lost quite a big section of our shingles (approx 10x10) on our 3.1/2 year old roof. Interestingly enough the units to the left and right of us all remained intact, with the exception of one who lost one or two shingles. I immediately called the Halton Hills office and spoke to a man there who immediately said our 10 years
guarantee did not cover “natural disasters”. However if I wanted to put $300-500 on my Visa they could come out and repair the missing
section. I was shocked. Luckily some neighbours took pity on us being
seniors and climbed on our roof and secured a tarp over the area. I
called back to this company the next day, I spoke to a young woman
again I asked about warranty on shingles, guarantee of workmanship
and she said, these shingles are only guaranteed for 70 mph winds, and
you had a 90 mph wind (not sure where she got this # from as she didn’ even ask where exactly I lived) I asked where did it say that on my contract about 70 mph wind clause.. It doesn’t. I am concerned with the
integrity of the initial workmanship. But again I’m only the customer. The shingles came off in sheets. Again no offer to come out and survey the damage or look at the product or workmanship. My other
neighbours homes are fine. Now I am seriously worried about the rest
of my roof, given I have lost confidence with the remaining shingles/workmanship. So very disappointed in this company.
NOTE. Of my 43 neighbours our roofs were the only ones to lose a whole patch of shingles. Also I asked where on my contract did it say shingles weren’t guaranteed for more that 70mph winds. But it does say 10 year workmanship guarantee and 25 year shingles.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

The wind blow off for this customer’s shingles was during April 4, 2018. On the day in question Environment Canada documented wind gust speeds of over 110 kmh. Unfortunately our workmanship warranty does not cover wind blow offs and we do have a service charge to complete this request. With all the service calls that we do we ask customers for a credit card number to secure their position in the service schedule. Nothing is charged on the card unless customer advises us that is how payment will be processed. We do accept cheques after the completion of the job. I have included an excerpt from the manufacturer’s warranty sheet below.
We are sorry that we could not have assisted this customer with their service request and hope that the explanation below is of help.
From GAF Shingle & Accessory Limited Warranty:
Failure To Seal/Blow-Offs/Wind Damage. GAF Lifetime Shingles, Timbertex® Premium Ridge Cap Shingles, and Ridglass® Premium Ridge Cap Shingles are warranted against failure to seal, blow-offs, and wind damage for 15 years. All other shingles (other than starter strips) and other ridge cap shingles are warranted against failure to seal, blow-offs, and wind damage for 5 years. There is no coverage for failure to seal/blow-offs/wind damage for any other GAF Accessory Products.
Failure to Seal/Blow-Offs/Wind Damage:
What Is Covered/Sole And Exclusive Remedy. This limited warranty is specifically conditioned on your shingles or ridge cap shingles being fastened and installed strictly in accordance with GAF’s application instructions. This limited warranty does not apply to starter strip shingles. GAF warrants to you that your GAF shingles or ridge cap shingles will not fail to seal, blow off, or sustain damage from winds (including gusts) up to the applicable wind speed listed on the reverse after your shingles or ridge cap shingles should have sealed but did not due to a manufacturing defect. If your shingles or ridge cap shingles do fail to seal, blow off, or suffer wind damage, GAF will reimburse you for the reasonable costs of replacing the blown-off or damaged shingles or ridge cap shingles and handsealing any unsealed shingles or ridge cap shingles. Costs related to underlayment, metal work, and flashings are not included. GAF’s maximum liability under this paragraph is to reimburse you for the cost of hand-sealing all of the shingles and ridge cap shingles on your roof

auto-m8 in North York
auto-m8 in North York
1 review Mississauga, ON
4/10

Roof and Skylight

Contracted this company to replace my shingles and skylight.
Roof workmanship was OK/ acceptable but skylight install
was a travesty, installed after roof was finished and not before, installed and then reinstalled incorrectly twice and
not in accordance withskylight manufacturers guidelines
materials , methods. Skylight warranty is voided due this
incorrect installation, I now will have to pay to have it
replaced and installed by professional installers.
I definitely didn't do my homework when I selected this
contractor. Avoid shingle manufacturers recommended
installers list and ask your neighbours instead!

refused to correct his work

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Customer has made requests in regards to skylight installation practices and issues arisen from installation of Skylight at top of four sided hip jack roof. This style of skylight placement has been discontinued in construction methods as prone to arising issues. Regardless in some instances previous older skylight replacement may be addressed using secondary aftermarket skylight replacements to retro fit into existing drywall chute and curb mount system. All previous skylights once installed from a manufacture vary in construction application to finished product. Each manufacture (Anderson) (Columbia) (Artistic) (Velux) have different installation requirements in consideration of the skylight placement and current chute and structural curb conditions. What varies in the retro fit application practices is all skylight manufacturers’ have updated their entire construction process and skylight models have varied over design revisions. Placing newer designs into older already built systems are challenging in consideration that the old chute was designed, built and specified to the earlier previous existing model. In this report we are discussing those changes between what was initial and what is existing. Over the last 25 years only two manufactures’ where readily available to builders and at the lower end of the cost spectrum in consideration of the home being built. Most common where Columbia Sklights and Anderson Skylights. Both of these manufactures use a inside flange system that locks over the curb system that drywall is butted against with the vapor barrier creating the secondary vapor seal. The primary vapor seal being the Ice and Water seal on the outside of the curb system before counter flashed on the outside. This inside flange is part of the skylight retainer frame and is sometimes either screwed or chute built around this flange to create a tight vapor seal so Thermal Bridging can not occur. Thermal bridging can occur when hot air on the outside frame meets cooler air exchange causing expansion and contraction. If the chute is not adequately built to the new frame specifications this can allow issues to arise. Given the nature of the issues Done Right Roofing focused the service requests on the outside flashing system that was cosmetically placed over the previous existing flashing system of the old curb mount system. With the initial install the nature of the issue arose from wind driven moisture entering the chute. Specifications of the curb mount where down to specification. Master certified service technician reinstalled skylight fastened on to curb with a bead of sealant to prevent any draft and resolution to skylight issue. Advised of skylight chute concerns again in the secondary vapor seal issue was not addressed. New issue arisen over sounds of contraction and expansion. Further communication was established where another service inspection to refasten the outside flashing system to place to resolve the issue. A small length of time transpired where it was noted to move skylight correction in cooler weather. Upon latest inspection the issue of the chute is still not addressed and the issue of the noise is still occurring feel it’s best to try and eliminate the process of correction o ne step at a time to resolve the issue correctly. I believe if the secondary vapor seal is corrected this issue will not arise in the future. It is noted that in accordance Done Right Roofing does not complete the skylight interior finishing only the exterior install of the skylight unit. It remains questionable if the skylight is to be replaced and the sound continues from not addressing the secondary vapor seal then associated costs would have occurred without attempting to try vapor resolve.

Hapildy@65 in Milton
H. Y.
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

reroofing and eavestrough/downpipes

Very prompt service. The men came on the day offered and were very professional. they accommodated a last minute change of colour for eves and downpipes.
The sales man Kevin was polite, helpful, and reasonable with pricing.
I like their honesty.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Brian from Oakville
Brian from Oakville
5 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Vent installation

As we have done with most of our contractors, we looked on Home Stats and came across Done Right with some strong reviews.

I called and spoke with Jason who was courteous and quick to provide me with the information I was looking for. He advised me on a Friday that he could come early the following week (today).

Jason arrived when he said he would and was quick to get up on the roof and do the install. After, he walked around and checked to ensure that the rest of my roof was in good shape and made a few recommendations.

If I was to redo my roof, I'd be sure to include Done Right in the process. Thanks Jason!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Grace Robertson from Mississauga
Grace Robertson from Mississauga
11 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Partial roof replacement

We have used Done Right Roofing previously. Two years ago they replaced our eavestroughing and eleven years ago they replaced the full roof of our two-story house.

The warranty for the roof shingles was ten years so not surprising that some of the roof needs replacing, a section over a first-floor kitchen. The company checked the entire roof but decided only that portion needed to be replaced as the shingles were obviously curling up. They recommended a (Timberline) shingle that would reflect light/heat. They provided a link to a website for the suggested shingle where we could view roofing shingle colours.

The one small complaint I have is that the office took a several days to respond to our initial call, however, once the estimate was given, work was completed two days later. They do good work, are careful of the surroundings, clean up afterwards, are knowledgeable and friendly. We would use them again when the rest of the roof needs replacing.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
6/10

Roofing

The workmanship looks good but the service was not great. The crew didn't tell me that they were leaving and just left at the end of the job, I did find a nail outside my back door and a garbage bag in my tree at the front from them, I didn't get any pictures of the roof or any feedback on the current state. Also, after I got a couple less than courteous voicemails from Michelle (the second stating that this is the second voicemail, not noting that I did return the call and left a voicemail, which she later said she didn't receive) because they messed up my invoicing and told me I still need to pay even though I already provided a cheque, received a receipt, and the cheque was deposited. It was a mixup, but it was a bit annoying to be told I owe them money when they already deposited my cheque. Not as professional as other reviews led me to expect.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Done Right Roofing & Sheet Metal

Welcome to Done-Right Roofing & Sheet Metal Ltd. , well-respected roofing contractors in Burlington, Milton, Oakville, and Mississauga. Our highly trained roofing contractors have the skills and expertise to handle all commercial and residential roofing needs, irrespective of the size or complexity. When it comes to roofing trust Done-Right Roofing ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.