Black Tar Paving

Paving Contractors
Ottawa ON K2J 0X1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Black Tar Paving

Average customer rating:
8.4 10 (20 reviews)

Sort by

James Yu
James Yu
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Would NOT recommend

Firstly, I paid the down payment in June of 2018, and the driveway got pave in June of 2019.
Secondly the down payment was more than $13,000, because the project is big. They promised that they got it done in 2018, but they couldn't.
Thirdly, they're not professional to do a large job. The leveling was very badly designed for the main part of driveway (similar to a parking lot) on the front of garages. This will cause a lot of issues during freezing winters.
Fourthly, the connection section between the public road and my private parking lot was paved without shoulder. The asphalt is about 3 inches higher than the road base on both sides. On some parts, the pavement didn't align with the existing driveway and go off the road. It created more than 20 cm drop from the edge of asphalt pavement.
At the last, Black Tar claimed all of these are normal, and they don't want to fix any.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Kim in Toronto
Kim in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
9/10

New driveway

Very satisfied with the replacement of our old asphalt driveway. Very good customer service. Project went very smoothly from start to finish Would recommend Black Tar Paving to friends and neighbors. Thanks Rami, Taif, Jacqueline and team!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review Kim!

Jennifer/Judy in Ottawa in Nepean
Jennifer/Judy in Ottawa in Nepean
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Efficient/Professional Company

Black Tar paved our lane way and sidewalk and did a wonderful job. The were organized, efficient and fast. It was done in one day and looks great. They gave us the care and feed so it will last and look great for a long time. I highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jennifer and Judy! It was a pleasure working on your project.

Pat in Ottawa
Pat in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Driveway

BlackTar did my driveway in early June ahead of schedule. They were efficient and professional but also very congenial. In the process of doing my driveway the slightly damaged one of the posts on my new carport. They immediately brought it to my attention and promised to fix it which they did!. They did a great job on my driveway, so much so that my neighbors are now getting their driveways done with BlackTar. I would have no hesitation recommending them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Pat!

Johnny500rr in Gloucester
Johnny500rr in Gloucester
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Driveway paved

Did a walk around with the owner where everything looked great.

Once everyone had left we had a chnce to review their work once again and this is when we noticed the siding on the corner of the house had been damaged during the paving. When we contacted this company to see what could be done we were told that once the company people had left the premises and that the walk-a-round was completed that they would not accept resonsibility for any damages that was not identified during the final inspection. Unfortunately this damage was not noticed by us and was not identified to us by them during the walk-a-round (very unprofessional on their part).

Their answer was that they would send someone between june 2nd and 30th to have a look at the damages. The damages are not extensive and will not be expensive to have repaired. But they were done by the workers during the laying of the asphalt.

I await their resolution of this issue to my satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Johnny,

I hope all is well! My sincere apologies for the damage incurred. I personally sent a contractor to fix the damage on you house siding. It was fixed within a few days and I visited you the following day to ensure you are satisfied. You personally guaranteed that you were happy with our service and repair. In fact, you posted a 10 star review by the name of "Pat". I believe that you forgot to remove the 1 star review.

Sandra in Ottawa
Sandra in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

VERY SATISFIED

We got our driveway paved by Black Tar 4 years ago and it still looks immaculate! We have a small driveway (2 and a half car space) and yet they call me every spring to see how the driveway is holding up and if there is anything they can help with. It is always a pleasure hearing from them... always a pleasurable conversation! I really do recommend this company, extremely professional, down to earth, and they showed up on time and did an amazing job. Keep up the good work!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Sandra! We are happy to help.

Lisa in Oakville
Lisa in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Home Driveway

Black Tar is truly one of the best construction companies I have ever worked with. I had my home driveway paved with them in early fall of last year, and the quality of their work speaks for itself. Apart from this though, it is the professionalism and authenticity of Taif, Samy and their team that make this company really stand out. I am so impressed with the work ethic, passion and genuine nature evident in each team member that I interacted with- these are qualities that are less commonly found these days! I felt like all of my questions and concerns were consistently being addressed and that I was being involved throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend this company to anyone. Thank you Black Tar for everything! Looking forward to working with you again in the future!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words! Here at Black Tar we are proud to service one of our local neighbours. We believe that treating our employees well is the main reason why we are here. They fuel our engine! Please let us know, if there is anything we can do to make your experience even better!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Driveway paving

I scheduled them to do a driveway paving in summer. Black tar apparently does commercial projects and they kept pushing my work every month and never provided me a date. I waited until the end of year only to find out it will be done in the new year (still without a confirm date). I eventually canceled the project after 6 months of frustrating experience and my driveway is still a mess. I have to find a new contractor to complete the work and winter is going to be very hard for driveway cleanup.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I completely understand your frustration regarding the timeline of the project. With all honesty, we over-booked our schedule in the year of 2018, a mistake we will never repeat! We are genuinely sorry you had to experience so many delays, which is why we refunded you the total deposit and offered you a free driveway sealing. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your experience more pleasant.

Pam  from Ottawa
Pam from Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Driveway sealing

Quote was very reasonable for a double width driveway. The work was completed on the specified day carefully and efficiently even though it extended into the evening hours on the Friday of a long weekend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Pam, its a pleasure serving you!

Johnson  in Nepean
Johnson in Nepean
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Best in town to trust the job

After 8 months of research I found this company, and contracted to them for doing my driveway extension with peel n pave. Right from digging till the end of paving they did a perfect job.

The outstanding thing is Mr.Taif who is one among their partner who quoted me the job was there on site from beginning till end to confirm the quality of job done by his workers. he didn't even ask my opinion to dig out 12'×10'×5' where he saw weak base of previous driveway by the builder.

From next day onwards I started to receive appreciation from my neighbors for the job I did by Black Tar. Thanks Taif for for your sincerity in job and dropping those plywoods to use for parking the boat on that long weekend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the amazing review Johnson! It was my pleasure serving you!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Black Tar Paving

Black Tar Paving primarily specializes within the paving industry. We are known for using only the highest quality asphalt, HL3 Road Grade. We are one of the few companies that apply highway and road grade asphalt within residential subdivisions! Furthermore, we provide one of the longest warranty policies out there, ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Paving Contractors pros in Ottawa?