First Class Fencing

Fences & Gates
Calgary AB T2W 3J1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Fences & Gates
First Class Fencing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 2 timesBest of 2020winner 2 times

Reviews for First Class Fencing

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (59 reviews)

Sort by

Steffernie
Steffernie
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Residential Fence and Gate

We had a very dilapidated fence and gate, and from the start FCF was thorough and professional.
The crew was polite and courteous, we always had great communication from the project lead and admin office, and now we have a beautiful and safe fence!
Would highly recommend FCF and we would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Steph,

As mentioned it was a genuine pleasure working with you, we were so delightful and amazing. Thank you for the kind words!

Should you ever need anything, please do not hesitate to give us a call!

-First Class Fencing

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

New fence

First class was excellent, the crew professional and courteous. From start to finish we just could not have been more happy with our new fence and gate. Thanks Charlene and Denni for everything .
Genet

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Genet,

We appreciate the feedback, thanks for the kind words.

Enjoy the new fence and feel free to get in touch if you ever need anything :)

-First Class Fencing

Alex in Prince George
Alex in Prince George
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Poor Customer Service

I have done many projects in my house but my new vinyl fence with these guys has been the strangest one by far:
- At the beginning, quoting and communication was OK, there were a few delays and miscommunication before getting started
- They will hire sub-contractors, and I'm totally fine with that, but they confessed it was their first time working with vinyl fence
- They had a shortage in the material ordered, which caused additional delays
- Sub-contractors installed dented/uneven panels and gates, which were subsequently replaced, causing additional delays and extra work (see photos)
- Not a single supervisor or representative came to me to introduce themselves as the face of the company during this job
- Called and left messages to sub-contractors and home office, no calls back
- Even when I asked them to call me before coming, they will just show up without any call

Communication is very poor, except for quoting, billing and collecting, and customers are left to deal directly with sub-contractors without a supervisor to talk to about issues or just simple questions.

Overall poor customer service and I will NOT recommend this company for any project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Alex,

We always appreciate feedback, good or bad and we are all about taking responsibility when due, but this review is not a fair representation of what happened.

To address the photos, we would like to know why you posted photos of the fence before the project was complete? We can agree that your grade does have ups and downs throughout the property, and you wanted the fence the way you have in your photo, you then changed your mind and Phillip (the crew) changed the heights of the sleeves and we did exactly as you asked.

The gate photo was before we made a few adjustments to the hinges. You requested that we do not tie in the neighbours fence to avoid screw holes in your new vinyl, we never put that diagonal board there. The dented material did come from our supplier damaged and we can agree we shouldn’t have put it up dented but we switched and changed everything as requested promptly and at no additional cost. The very minor delays were due to our supplier not having supply on boards to replace the dented ones, which was addressed with you.

You mentioned, no supervisor came to introduce themselves or was on site. Was there confusion our Mark’s role as the Project Manager? He spoke to you on several occasions, enforced the changes and sat with you on your deck on 2 occasions to discuss the project. He was the one in First Class Fencing uniform and he was on-site for the entire project. You did insist on communicating directly with Phillip with most texts and calls being after hours, but he always responded and addressed all your concerns.

We admit we drop the ball from time to time, we miss opportunities to communicate when things are very busy, we aren’t perfect, but the feedback provided is not in any way an accurate representation of how the project went.

What really confuses everyone here, is when the project ended, we were going to contact you about posting a review, but we anticipated it was going to be a 5-star and there was no hesitation in paying the full bill. With how puzzled we all were our General Manager insisted he go out there to look for himself and took a few photos. (Unfortunately, we can not post those photos here but we can provide those at request to show the differences)

As mentioned, your business was greatly appreciated, and don’t hesitate to reach out, we’d love to clear up all the confusion.

-First Class Fencing
403.991.5995

Bryan
Bryan
2 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Installation of 200ft of vinyl fencing

After 2 months of delays, the fence was installed in June of 2019. It was not properly installed from the start and I've had nothing but issues with it since. I was on holiday during the 2-day installation (done by one person who actually asked my neighbor if he could help him hold the posts) and came back to what is best described as a roller coaster for a fence. The installer did not put one set screw in any of the posts and the whole 200 feet of vinyl just floated on the ground and soon started sinking. Since then the fence has literally fallen apart in 5 different places and posts continue to sink.
I was promised that they would return last fall after already being here that spring but no one ever showed up. I'd send emails to the project manager only to find that he's left and someone else had taken over who I then emailed only to find they had left as well. Finally this spring I called their office and spoke to the accounts girl to whom I had made payment (as she was the only person in the company who I knew actually existed at that point) and pleaded with her have someone come and repair the fence.
Mark from First Class Fencing came to my door a few weeks ago and looked at the issues of sinking posts and fence pulling apart in other places saying he would get the proper material and come back and correct all the issues. Photos show the issues and the quality of the repairs.
So disappointing to spend so much money, have a promise of a 5-year warranty, have it never installed correctly, having to plead to get someone to look at it. And then when they do get the "proper material” it’s a handful of wood and sheet metal screws drilled into the fence to kinda-sorta hold it together and no where close to level. I called Mark to offer him the chance to come back and remove the screws and fix it properly and he never responded. All the while knowing that next spring it will all fall apart again as it has done the last 2 years.
Needless to say neither I nor my neighbors would use or recommend First Class Fencing to build anything more than a dog run.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Bryan,

This is the General Manager with First Class Fencing.

I can appreciate the feedback and this is the first of the concerns I have personally heard on your behalf. In relation to the staff, we are always hiring for the best talent in the business, and the only member from 2019 that we elected to bring back after winter was Char (as you know). Sorry for any confusion that may have been caused.

That said, I would like the connect with you to meet and go over the project, verify the deficiencies and rectify the concerns.

I'm going to reach out but you can also contact me as well - 403.991.5995.

Thanks!

keithmoon
keithmoon
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Wooden Fence

Detailed quote. I knew exactly, in detail, what I was paying for, what I was getting, and a good idea of when I would get it. In hind-sight I am even more happy I chose First Class Fencing, because there are details of the job I would not have known without them taking the time to educate me first (e.g. how deep for fence post footings, past the frost line, concrete footings, wood types, styles, options, etc)

Extremely efficient, friendly service. They know what they are doing.

Nothing was left undone and there was no trace they had been here after the job was completed. Very satisfied and would highly recommend to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Keith,

Thanks for the feedback. I will make sure to inform Oggi and Denni of your kind words!

If you ever need anything, don't hesitate to reach out.

-First Class Fencing

Claudio
Claudio
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

New home build Fence

We moved into our new home back in the fall of 2020 and wanted a fence for this spring. Luckily we found First Class fencing from our neighbours.

The sales lead, Tyler, was very knowledgeable and helpful with all of our needs and wishes for our property.

The First Class team was able to complete both our neighbour's and our fence, in a timely manner.

We are happy with our final product and all the finishing touches they came back to adjust that we asked for. We would definitely recommend them for anyone looking for a new fence!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Claudio,

Thanks for the kind words! Really means a lot and I'll make sure to relay the message over to Tyler, Darcy, Mark and the whole team.

Thanks for the recommendations and don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything further.

-First Class Fencing

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Vinyl fence

We are really pleased with the job Brett did and how he explained everything in detail. No complaints.
From the estimate to the finished product the correspondence was excellent and we were kept fully informed about everything that was going on. It was a nice experience working with everyone involved at First Class Fencing. We would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris,

It was a genuine pleasure working with you as well. Brett is amazing and I will relay your kind words.

Should you need anything in the future don't hesitate to give us a call :)

-First Class Fencing

ScottC
ScottC
0 reviews Airdrie, AB
10/10

Fortress Pressure Treated Fence

We had a great experience with First Class Fencing. They were always quick to reply, and shared many examples of past work so we were comfortable with what we were getting.

I would highly recommend them anytinme.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Scott,

Thanks for the feedback and it was nice working with you as well. Looks like we are building for a few of your neighbours so as predicted your corner lot is paying off. Thank you again!

Enjoy the new fence and dog run!

-First Class Fencing

Adrien Wolters from Calgary
Adrien Wolters from Calgary
4 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Cedar Fortress Fence

Frist Class is a great description. Team was prompt and courteous and did an excellent install. Cleaned up the site, were prompt, timely and professional. I needed my two gates raised up after our landscaping was finally completed and the site supervisor came out and made the corrections without any question.
This company should be recommended to anybody that needs and wants quality work. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Adrien,

Truly rewarding to us to hear your kind words and nice to work with you again a few weeks ago on raising those gates - working with you has been a delight :)

I will let Mark and the team know our your kind words. If you need anything in the future, you know who to call.

- First Class Fencing

Carolyn in Calgary
Carolyn in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Horizontal Fence

Huge thanks to First Class Fencing for building us an awesome horizontal fence! The build team, Phil, Andreas, and Conrad really bent over backwards to make this a one-of-a-kind fence - it was a challenging project and their expertise and attention to detail really paid off with a beautiful fence that we'll enjoy for many years to come. We simply can't say enough good things about them and the rest of the First Class Fencing team we interacted with. Thanks again! Carolyn & Gregg

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Carolyn & Gregg

Thank you for your kind words and even through the challenges we are glad we could persevere.

I will relay your message to the team.

Should you need anything in the future don't hesitate to give us a call :)

-First Class Fencing

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about First Class Fencing

First Class Fencing is a Calgary-based Residential, Commercial, Farm and Ranch fence installation company fully dedicated to providing homeowners, homebuilders, business owners and farmers with durable, functional, and attractive fences throughout Southern Alberta.

FCF is a privately held corporation specializing in standard and custom fences in order to meet the unique needs of each and every one of our clients.

Our mission is to provide exceptional service and take our clients visions and make them a reality. To provide a pleasant experience while adding the perfect final touch to the landscape of our clients home and/or business.

| Done Right The First Time |

Credentials / Certifications:
A+ Rating - RenovationFind Contractor
A Rating - Better Business Bureau
Pre-paid Contractor Licensed
Prime Contractor Certified
WCB - Workers Compensation Board
Insured - 2,000,000 Liability Coverage
Bonded - $50,000 Assurity Bond
Ground Disturbance
Fully Licensed

To learn more visit us at:
https://www.firstclassfencing.ca/

CATEGORIES
Fences & Gates
PRODUCTS
Wood, Vinyl, Chain Link, Ornamental
SERVICES
Residential Fencing, Agricultural Fencing, Commercial Fencing We Offer: Removal & Tear Downs, Repairs / Replacements , New Construction , 60+ Standard Designs & many more custom designs and exotic materials.
SPECIALITIES
Custom designs and unique installations
WEBSITE
https://www.firstclassfencing.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2014
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
RETURN POLICY
You may cancel any contract 10 days after you receive a copy of the contract. No reason required!
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque or Cash
LICENSES
Pre-paid Contractor, City of Calgary, Prime Contractor
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, RenovationFind, AFA, CFIA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Leadership & Safety Excellence, Ground Disturbance, First Aid, WHIMIS, CSTS, H2S
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No minimums
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Please Contact
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
5 Year Workmanship Warranty - Lifetime Warranty on select products
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.