Boonstra Heating and Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning
Hamilton ON L8W 2E4
Write a Review
Write a Review


HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Boonstra Heating and Air Conditioning
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Boonstra Heating and Air Conditioning

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (413 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

new Air Conditioner

During our regular yearly maintenance call, the technician advised that our 14 year old Air Conditioner was at end of life.
He was able to get Jay in to give me a quote later that afternoon, and the following day, our new unit was installed.
Unfortunately, I didn't get the technician's names.

We've been dealing with Boonstra since we moved into his house 32 years ago, and have always been very satisfied with their polite, personable and professional staff.

Approximate cost of services:
$9,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for leaving us a 10-star review! We're glad we could help!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Very Professional

My old A/C had broken down again so I decided to invest in a new heat pump. A representative came to my home & told me the best size unit for the square footage of my house & a few options. I decided on a Daikin. They have a great warranty too. A few days later, a fantastic crew came & did the installation. Very respectful of your home making sure to remove their shoes every time. Very neat installation & done in a day. They stayed to go over the remote with me & made sure I knew how to work everything. Ive had it for a year now & have been very pleased with it. No complaints at all.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,600.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you! We're glad you had a positive experience with us!

dougwil28
dougwil28
1 review Hamilton, ON
8/10

Mart is a super reliable tech

Mart checks our furnace in Fall and AC in Spring
Great tech and person. Peace of mind

Approximate cost of services:
$30.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words

beric.sykes63
beric.sykes63
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Boonstra Air Conditioning Service

Boonstra was excellent on our yearly Air Conditioning check-up. They were on time, courteous, professional and did a in depth analysis of all the key components and then provided good feedback.
I would recommend them for Furnace, Air or duct work services.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

John B. in Oakville
John B. in Oakville
4 reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Overpriced - dishonest result.

Called Boonstra day after install and spoke with Chuck to have the system removed. He offered a $2,500 discount. I okd the new amount. Also 5 yrs of free maintenance. Nothing happened. Has since turned over to our lawyer and will handle through court. Not a reputable company which we detect after many years of great service. Something untoward is happened with these folks!

Approximate cost of services:
$13,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

John, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can understand your frustration with the situation. After carefully reviewing our records, we couldn't find your name or any details about your recent interaction in our system. We would appreciate it if you could provide us with more information such as the name under which the appointment was scheduled or a phone number in which you can be reached. This will allow us to investigate the matter further and address your concerns appropriately. Please phone our Operations Manager at (289) 348-0401. Thank you!

Carolyn in Toronto
Carolyn in Toronto
1 review Cambridge, ON
0/10

Furnace diagnostic and service

We had an issue with our furnace not working properly and Boonstra came in for a same day appointment and diagnosed the issue as an issue with the igniter. I was told the part would need to be ordered and should arrive in 1-2 days. The tech lit the igniter manually so we would have some heat over night and the furnace was to shut off once the house got to 23 degrees as per set by the thermostat.
Three days later a tech came to install the new igniter. After some time on the phone he informed me that the incorrect part was ordered and because it was a Friday at 4pm they would not be able to get the correct part until the following week as suppliers are closed over the weekend. After a considerable amount of pushback the tech managed to find the correct part at a store in Hamilton which is about an hour from where we live. He agreed to go pick up the part and install it that night however it was obvious we were an inconvenience to him.
Upon returning with and installing the correct part the tech then informed us that the circuit board for the furnace was also not working and would need to be replaced. Again we were told it would be 3-7 days for the new part to be ordered. He then lit the igniter manually again and we were told that the furnace would turn off once the house hit the temperature set on the thermostat. The following morning, we awoke to a house at 28 degrees with a furnace still running. It would not turn off by turning the thermostat down and therefore the power source needed to be shut off manually.

Frustrated with the service we were receiving from Boonstra we called in another HVAC company for a second opinion. We then came to learn that the Boonstra tech left numerous wires exposed after installing the new igniter the previous day and that had we not shut off the power to the furnace, the furnace would have set on fire and burned the house down. The alternative HVAC company provided us with excellent service and had our heat working again within 24 hours.

Boonstra refuses to refund our diagnostic fee despite the fact they did not correctly diagnose the issue on the first visit, they ordered the incorrect part, and left the house in danger of burning to the ground. In addition, the run around we were given for ordering parts was unacceptable as Boonstra felt it was appropriate we go without any heat for over a week in the middle of the winter.

Approximate cost of services:
$190.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Carolyn, we want to start off by saying we are sorry this has been your experience with our team. We pride ourselves on customer care, so we are sorry you did not receive that service. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns further and make this right – please watch for a call from us. In the meantime, we can be reached at (289) 348-0401 if you have any other questions or concerns.

Celina
Celina
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Boiler service

Mart offered an excellent service, advice, thorough job.
He came 3 times to check, diagnose issues, and service our boiler.
We'll certainly recommend for a professional and great job!

Approximate cost of services:
$420.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are delighted to hear that Mart provided excellent service, advice, and a thorough job in servicing your boiler. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting you with any future needs.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews , ON
0/10

Don't waste your time and money

Very unprofessional business practice. Money grabber and no customer service. Due to their poor job it's costing us at least $5000. They have no knowledge of their products they sell.

They had given enough chances to correct their mistakes but they did not do anything about it. Unfortunately they force us to post very bad review so no one has to deal with them....

Approximate cost of services:
$35,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can understand your frustration with the situation. After carefully reviewing our records, we couldn't find your name or any details about your recent interaction in our system. We would appreciate it if you could provide us with more information such as the name under which the appointment was scheduled or a phone number in which you can be reached. This will allow us to investigate the matter further and address your concerns appropriately. Please phone our Operations Manager at (289) 348-0401. Thank you!

Mike
Mike
0 reviews , ON
10/10

Furnace Check

Derek was a great Technician, came early, finished quick, and reviewed my options. This was the second time he has been to our home and I want him to come back every year

Approximate cost of services:
$22.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing us! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future!

Epp in Dundas
Epp in Dundas
3 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Duct Cleaning

Chris and Cory were very professional, friendly, and expedient in their work. They communicated clearly with their customer, and did an overall great job! Well done!

Approximate cost of services:
$647.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! We truly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that Chris and Cory provided a professional, friendly, and expedient service. Clear communication with our customers is a top priority for us, and we're glad to know that it was evident during your experience. We'll make sure to pass along your compliments to Chris and Cory for their great job. If there's anything else we can assist you with in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thank you again for your support!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Boonstra Heating and Air Conditioning

Boonstra Heating and Air Conditioning has been a trusted provider of HVAC services in the Hamilton area since 1961. With over 50,000 homes serviced, we have perfected our customer service to ensure your satisfaction.

Our HVAC services cover all aspects of home comfort, from heating and cooling to indoor air quality, plumbing, drains, and water heaters. Whether you need installation, repair, or maintenance, our experienced technicians are here to assist you.

At Boonstra Heating and Air Conditioning, we understand the importance of prompt service, especially during emergencies. That's why we offer 24/7 HVAC repair services with no extra charges, even on holidays. Our goal is to provide you with top-notch service without the added stress of extra fees.

Additionally, we offer financing options to make home HVAC upgrades more affordable. Whether you're looking to save on a new furnace and AC combo or invest in a UV air purifier for cleaner air, we have cost-saving solutions for your home comfort needs.

Our service areas extend beyond Hamilton to include Burlington, Brantford, Kitchener, Oakville, Cambridge, Guelph, and more.

Experience the Boonstra advantage and enjoy peace of mind knowing that your home comfort is in good hands. Contact us today for all your HVAC needs, from installation to repair and maintenance!

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning
PRODUCTS
Air Conditioners, Furnaces, Air Quality Products, Ductless Splits, Water Heaters/Tanks - Heat pump, Boilers, Generators, EV chargers, UV Air purifiers
SERVICES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Air Quality Products, Furnace Repairs, Furnace Installation, Furnace Maintenance, Air conditioner Repairs, Air conditioner Maintenance, Air Conditioner Installation, All Furnace Services, All Air Conditioner Services, All types of Furnace Brand Repairs repairs, All types of Air Conditioner Brand repairs and 24 Hour Service.
BRANDS
Lennox, Goodman, York, Daikin, Rheem, Trane, Carrier, Amana, Mitsubishi, Generac, and Moovair
STYLES
All Styles!
WEBSITE
https://boonstraright-time.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1961
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, cheque, draft, major credit cards, debit cards (on-site service calls), online banking, and financing available
LICENSES
TSSA & ECRA/ESA Licenses
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
100% guarantee on one year Parts & Labour on any repair
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.