Formerly Natural Choice Heating & Cooling Inc.
Heating & Air Conditioning
Whitby ON L1N 5Z9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Whitby  >  WAZA HOME COMFORT INC.  >  2021 AC Installation Still Not Working
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Pickering, ON

2021 AC Installation Still Not Working

Update: Following my issues I paid for another company to diagnose the problems with my AC unit. They used a flourescent dye and determined that the A-Coil was was leaking and was likely defective when it was installed. It was replaced under warranty, but I had to pay for the diagnosis and installation. My AC is now working as it should. Following two years of follow-up Natural Choice Heating and Cooling, they were unwilling to properly diagnose and put in the work to correct the problems with their AC install. I would not recommend this company.

Detailed Review:
I'm faced with a challenge as I write this review for Natural Choice Heating and Cooling. On one hand, I genuinely like James and the company. He's a good technician who takes the time to explain things, and I found him professional and reasonably responsive up until my new A/C was installed. However, my experience with the actual A/C unit and the company has been anything but satisfactory.

I spent over $6,000 on a new A/C unit in the summer of 2021, expecting it to provide much-needed relief during hot days. Unfortunately, it hasn't been working properly since it was installed. The following summer, in 2022, Natural Choice did come out and took apart the A/C to conduct a thorough examination of the system. They believed they had remedied the problem, and I had hoped that my cooling issues were behind me.

To my dismay, the problem resurfaced again in 2023. Frustrated with the lack of response from Natural Choice, I reached out to another contractor for a second opinion. They conducted a simple diagnosis and discovered a leak in my system, as the coolant was not at the correct pressure. Only then did James from Natural Choice come out to top up the coolant. However, I was disappointed that he did not attempt to diagnose the root cause of the leak or provide a comprehensive solution. As of the time of this review, my AC is still not cooling my home, and I effectively have a very expensive dehumidifier.

Positive Aspects:
James, as a technician, was knowledgeable and helpful when I could reach him. I appreciated his professionalism and clear explanations of the issues.

Areas for Improvement:
Despite Natural Choice's efforts in 2022, my A/C continued to struggle with cooling my home effectively. Their subsequent lack of responsiveness to my calls, texts, and emails, or to follow through with promised responses, is completely unacceptable. As a customer, I expect a level of service that acknowledges and addresses concerns promptly.

Final Thoughts:
I'm unsure of the reasons behind Natural Choice's inconsistent responsiveness. Whether they are too busy, uninterested in resolving my issues, or facing internal challenges, I cannot say. However, this ongoing experience has left me with no choice but to share my disappointment in the hope that it will help others make informed decisions.

In spite of their Homestar rating and positive reviews (which influenced my initial choice), I must advise others to be cautious when dealing with this company. Unfortunately, my experience suggests that customers can find better service elsewhere.

Approximate cost of services:
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we regret that it has fallen short of your expectations. We do, however, feel it's essential to clarify several points for a comprehensive understanding of the situation.

First, we're pleased to note your positive comments about James, our technician. His professionalism and expertise are qualities we value highly and aim to deliver across all customer interactions.

Regarding the recurring issues with your A/C unit, we've made multiple attempts to diagnose and solve these problems. We've been in touch with you through over 100 text messages, several calls, and home visits, all in less than 35 days. While we regret that these efforts have not led to a satisfactory resolution, it's crucial to address the role your actions have played in this ongoing issue.

Specifically, our records indicate that you undertook unauthorized repairs on your furnace, an appliance that we did not install or maintain but is critically connected to the performance of your A/C system. These modifications have directly contributed to the malfunctioning of the A/C unit we installed. As a result, we can't be held responsible for issues that arise from third-party modifications that we neither supervised nor endorsed.

In light of this, we've done our due diligence in providing customer service and technical support, going above and beyond to address concerns that are, in part, a result of independent actions taken without our consultation.