J&S Plumbing Service Inc

Heating & Air Conditioning
1111 Davis Drive, Unit #1, Suite #450 Newmarket ON L3Y 9E5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
J&S Plumbing Service Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

68%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for J&S Plumbing Service Inc

Average customer rating:
7.1 10 (90 reviews)

Sort by

Steve in Newmarket
Steve in Newmarket
4 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Quality Plumbing Repairs

Mike and Justin did a thorough review of our plumbing system. I already knew I had a slow draining shower, and they fixed it efficiently and completely. I had various questions about my plumbing, and they gave me helpful information about its operation and various risk factors. There was another problem I didn't know about but they discovered it, and I'm glad they came, because if they hadn't come and fixed it proactively, the problem was about to turn serious.

I think their skill and professionalism was well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful?
Brian
Brian
3 reviews Markham, ON
0/10

Terrible Service, Unprofessional & Incompetent Services Technicians

Our Keep Rite furnace was installed by J&S Plumbing Newmarket Ont December 2011. Back in 2016 our heat Exchanges cracked and required replacing immediately. From the very beginning we were having difficulty getting proper service and after several calls J&S finally came to our home. The parts were then finally ordered and it took over 1 week for the exchanges to be shipped from the US by Fedex. The rub was that J&S Plumbing made us pay for the courier fee when this part was available under warranty in Toronto by two Keep Rite distributors that were located in Toronto.
The extent of this damaged was not identified until February 28, 2019 when Home Saving Inc (Heating & Cooling identified the problem) immediatly. Home Savings noticed that the inducer Motor and Collector box required replacing ASAP. I called Tamim the Manager who sent Chen the same day to inspect the furnace. Chen noticed the previous installer J.S. Home Services of Newmarket, Ont damaged the Collector box 5 screws and the taped the Inducer Motor to collector box without replacing the collector box part. At this point both parts required fixing immediately so Chen there TECH had to shut our furnace down for 1.5 days for safety reasons until the new parts were picked up the next day. We are very very lucky that there was no gas leak.

All I can say our family is very lucky nothing serious happened due to the poor workmanship by J&S Plumbing.

J&S Plumbing is totally incompetent and should have there licenses revoked by the Ontario Government.

was able diagnosed the problem and come by our home to properly fix the problem.

Thank you Home Savings for the great service..

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Premium Price for a Budget Based Service

I have been using J and S for a few years. Recently their service just dropped with their last 3 visits. Got the membership. They say that there are perks for this premium expense. and there were until recently. I Don't see any perks (as of this year) still had to wait weeks to book an appointment even if they are coming back because they did not resolve the issue the first time around. They give you a coupon booklet and don't auto discount you the coupon. So, if you forget to give them the coupon you are up the creek. They are more expensive when compared to other services. No one to report problems to just their Dispatch who tells you to email concerns to them. I did with no response yet. Their suggestion to my HVAC problem was to call someone else and they still charged me for coming out.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Newmarket, ON
6/10

MAIN SHUT-OFF VALVE REPAIR

I had a non-emergency situation and required a replacement of the main water shut-of valve plus the removal of an old but small water stabilizer unit. Technician Mike R. was excellent at explaining the repair and did a very professional job. My problem was the cost. I was charged $1,100 plus tax for just over two hours of work. If I hadn't pre-arranged for the town to shut off the water supply for the scheduled repair date, I probably would have used another plumbing service; one that operated on a time and materials basis rather than on a set charge schedule(corporate binder of set fees for set jobs).

Was this review helpful?
Susan in Toronto
Susan in Toronto
3 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Knowledgeable plumber

J and S were great to work with. Our Plumber, knew alot about our plumbing issues and gave us options as to how to proceed, with not too much pressure.

Was this review helpful?
Brent in Toronto
Brent in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

upsold on snaking job

I had a washing machine drain that was not draining well but only intermittently. They had a $100 drain special on website so I called. Harvey said as there is no cleanout the special wouldn't apply. He said maybe when the guy gets there is will only be $100 but not sure. I said go ahead and the guy shows up and gives me a price of $450. I called Harvey and said that was ridiculous. He asked me what I wanted to pay(bad strategy). I said I just wanted to be treated fairly. Harvey said $200 and I said fine. Then guy onsite says $200 plus $65 service call and I said no. They did it for $200. But they took alot of kicks at me. Job was done fine. Guys on ground are fine. But culture is obviously to oversell. They clearly dont worry about return business.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It’s unfortunate that you felt it necessary to write us a 0-star review for giving you a discount on a job.  You were initially provided an estimate for $450 and ended up paying $200, I would say that’s a fair deal!  Our current promotion for $99 drain clearing didn’t apply to your issue so our team did their best to help you out with pricing, if we didn’t care about return business we wouldn’t have done that.  We always strive to provide our customers with 5-star service so we are their first call for any of their home comfort needs. 

spopov in Newmarket
spopov in Newmarket
3 reviews Newmarket, ON
0/10

Caused a flood. Aggressive Up Selling. Poor Workmanship. False Advertising. Do Not Use.

I have used this service for a few years. I liked the 7x24 option in case of emergency. I finally had to use it. Because they (yes the plumbers) caused a flood in my basement. Turns out, they have no one available - their ONE on-call guy is sick. Sorry, this level of support does not qualify as 7x24 hr service. And....THEY CAUSED THE FLOOD

How did they cause a flood. Well yesterday they did $1600 of work to address a few "not to code" issues.

How did they identify the code issues? Well they called me up and told me that as a member I was entitled to a free plumbing inspection. I accepted and they inspected. And they found 2 issues of "not to code". I accepted the work. They came back a few days later and did the work.

That was yesterday morning. This evening I went down to the basement and the pipes which they had worked on (which had previously had no issues with function, just the "ok if you say so" code issues) are leaking all over the basement.

So I called for emergency service. And...go back to the top of my review. Nope. There is no 7x24 emergency service unless you count answering service. They will be here tomorrow morning, and until then I can just turn my water off to prevent further issues. And have a nice water free night. They have no one available as their plumber "called in sick"
Great.

The next day the plumber came "fixed" the problem

A month or so later, I returned home to ANOTHER flood originating from this work. Called for 7x24 assistance. Again, no-one available to come and deal with the problem. This time their plumber "had a family emergency"

Never. Ever. Ever. use this service unless you enjoy being screaming mad.

I will be following this up with a complaint about false advertising.

Was this review helpful?
Tripping faucet in Newmarket
Tripping faucet in Newmarket
2 reviews Newmarket, ON
1/10

Tripping faucet

Laundry faucet was tripping. TWO guys came to fix it. Installed cheap new
faucet. One guy was working, the other one telling him what to do. Why they needed 2 guys for fixing a tripping faucet - I don't know. 1 hr. 2 guys $600.00 + tax. WOW!!!
I will never call them again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Newmarket, ON
9/10

Shutoff Valves

J&S did a plumbing inspection and informed me that all 3 bathroom sinks, and the laundry tub in the basement, didn't have shutoff valves. An appointment was made, and James was to arrive between 11 & 1. He arrived at 11:01 and turned off the water to the house, drained the system, installed 8 shutoff valves, tested everything for leaks and was finished by 1:30. Can't get any more efficient than that.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Pedro in Vaughan
Pedro in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Washroom Toilet Leaking 5 months after Install

I had them install a brand new toilet for just over 1K in March, the toilet started to leak around the base a couple of days ago. It is under warranty so I called for service. Was told someone would be at my house the following day between 3-5pm nobody showed up or called. I called them and was told that they were running behind but someone was coming. Nobody showed up. Now they tell me someone will call me tomorrow. I am not holding my breath on this. Horrible customer service and talk about not honoring the warranty. DONT USE THEM!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about J&S Plumbing Service Inc

A family owned and operated company serving all of York Region and the Greater Toronto area. J&S Plumbing Service Inc offers experts in Plumbing Service, Drainage Service, Heating and Air Conditioning as well as Water Filtration and Purification; 24-hours-a-day, seven-days-a-week emergency service. Our mission is to be recognized as the ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in North York?