Rockyview Projects

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Rockyview Projects

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (17 reviews)

Sort by

Carolyn a.
Carolyn a.
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Landscaping

Duncan and his team were great to work with from start to finish. They understood our landscaping interests and incorporated it into the overall design. They were accommodating to changes during the execution phase and understood when changes were to their account. The execution team was very meticulous to make sure the work was completed as planned, although at times they took longer than was required to finish the job. Overall, we were extremely happy with Duncan and his hands on approach with his team. We get nothing but compliments on the finished product. Would definitely recommend Rockyview Projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thankyou Carolyn. It was a pleasure working for you and Kevin.You have a beautiful home and landscaping!!!

Jenna
Jenna
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Landscaping - Front and Backyard

Rockyview did a great job on our landscaping. They were very respectful to us and our neighbours. Would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thankyou Jenna and David for being awesome clients , working with us on a unique landscape on the river. One of my favourites to date .regards Duncan

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Garden path

Rockyview rebuilt my garden path from the garage to the house in the inner city. Duncan suggested the Mega Libre brick to maintain the look. Workers were considerate and tidy, putting everything away every night.
I’m very happy with finished product & would not hesitate to hire them again.I

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thankyou Everyln. You were a pleasure to work.

Fumi and Leigh in Bragg Creek
Fumi and Leigh in Bragg Creek
1 review Bragg Creek, AB
9/10

Upfront service, focus on getting work done right

Rockyview Projects had done several jobs in our new subdivision so we could see their quality and talk with our neighbours about their service. Duncan delivered what was requested, there were no surprises as all scope changes were discussed and agreed upon ahead of time; very happy with the transparency. Weather was a challenge last summer and Duncan went the extra mile to deliver a high quality product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks guys

Clark & Judy in Bragg Creek
Clark & Judy in Bragg Creek
1 review Bragg Creek, AB
10/10

Landscaping & Rock work

Thank you Rockyview Projects for the amazing rock work and landscaping project started and completed August 2017 on our acreage in Bragg Creek.
As clients with a certain copper coloured rock in mind, Duncan was tireless in his quest for the perfect size and colour in order to please and brought the rock from Moyie Lake BC. Once delivered, additional time was spent ensuring that the tiered rocks looked natural in the existing greenhouse area. We were more than pleased with the finished outcome.
In fact, we were totally satisfied and pleased with the work done by Rockyview Projects that we invited them back October 2017 to begin another project. Thank you Duncan and Team!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Judy and Clark. The team and i loved working for you at your lovely acreage and are always there for you when needed. We will be back in touch about the third stage of your work this year. Regards Duncan

Mohinder in Calgary
Mohinder in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Landscaping Project

We hired Rockyview Projects to provide landscaping services for our new home in Elbow Valley West. Project was quite complex as it required retaining walls and assortments of trees and bushes to meet the architecture control guidelines. Duncan and his team worked diligently from design stage on to understand our needs and wants. They showed up on site per schedule and kept us informed of progress and challenges at each stage of the project. It was very pleasant to work with a knowledgeable and a friendly team to achieve our objectives. Project was passed by the architectural control at the first attempt. We have no hesitation in recommending Rockyview Projects to other potential clients.
Mohinder and Sara Pal

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thankyou Mohinder and Sara for your kind words and review. You are awesome people to work for and we all enjoyed working on your beautiful property. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any help
Etc going forward. regards Duncan

10/10

Landscape Project Management.

I’ve known Duncan since RVP’s infancy and he has been amazing to work with both collaborating with him, working together and having hired his company as well as referred his company to many of my clients from the past. He’s professional, friendly, client-first mentality and always stays true to his word. Duncan and RVP will no doubt be a force in the Calgary and area market for years to come.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Doug for your kind words. It's also awesome working with you on projects.

Tracy
Tracy
14 reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

inexperienced crew, poorly mangaed

Prior to choosing Duncan to do the work, I thoroughly researched his company, read all his reviews, and met with him to review the specifics of our project. After completing that, I was very excited about working with this company. The job included a water feature and 4 areas where we were using techo block graphix stone, which is more complicated and technically challenging to install than regular stones. Duncan showed me that he had experience with this type of work by showing me pictures of a job he did last year using techno blocks and told me he knew what he was doing. Based on that experience and his reviews, I hired him to do the work for us. Up front, he told us the job would take 3-4 weeks from start to finish, which seemed reasonable based on other estimates we had received. At our initial meeting, Duncan & I decided to change the original design of the water feature, I showed him a picture of what I would like to have built and he liked the change, agreed to it, and quoted the job based on that new design.

Immediately on commencing the work, we realized that the team that Duncan assigned to our job was inexperienced, untrained, unsafe, and unprofessional. We complained EVERYDAY to Duncan about their quality of work, terrible safety practices, and lack of progress. We also regularly reviewed quality, safety, and lack of progress of the work, but Duncan refused to give us another team. It was obvious that the foreman had never run a job before and had never worked with the techo block product. One wall had to be rebuilt 4 times and there was a lot of wasted material and time due to lack of knowledge, not asking for guidance, and bullheadedness of his team. Our biggest frustration was that Duncan chose to continue to try to work with that team to do our work even though things were going sideways and we requested a change, even if it ended up delaying the completion.

In addition to the horrible experience with the crew he had working for us, we also found out as we went that he had never built a water feature like the one he quoted for us before. As a result, hadn't factored in several factors which resulted in him underbidding for the cost of the water feature. That was not the only area he ended up claiming that he underbid. He also came back and requested additional money to complete the electrical work needed for the landscape lights and water feature. In addition, his inexperienced foreman removed way too much soil and ripped out all the existing sprinkler system. So at the end of the job, which was an awful experience, Duncan came back to us with a new bill with a lot of extra charges. Some were reasonable, like adding a valve to the sprinkler system, but many were for things he could have and should have known up front and factored into his quote or the result of issues with his inexperience crew.

After 7 stressful weeks & continual mistakes and rework, Duncan finally fired the foreman & completed the job himself. The end result was 9 exasperating weeks.
Needless to say I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

While we acknowledge this project had a number of unforeseen challenges, Rockyview Projects did its utmost to bring it to the clients satisfaction with a quality completion. The landscape work and water feature are posted on social media in a positive light from both the client, clients friends and the clients landscape designer. As the client states, our company's reputation stood up to her rigorous research during the selection process. While we can never guarantee a project will run without complications (e.g. Our Skidsteer got vandalized on site, weather, delays in product shipment) we do pride ourselves on going above and beyond to work through all problems and unforeseen setbacks in a professional manner. Our owner personally took on full time leadership on the project to ensure client satisfaction to completion. The client, at the time of completion August 2017, was happy with the project and paid for our services as agreed.

Alicja in Calgary
Alicja in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
5/10

Landscaping

We did not expect to continue replacing trees and shrubs that keep dying every season. What can I say? Disappointed and frustrated as we continue spending time and money that could be better spent elsewhere.

Review has 3 previous versions
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thankyou Paul and Alicja. Your initial review at the end of 2016 was very complimentary. I know you have had some frustrations with plants and some trees. I will be passing the message on to my suppliers as well , as we have had more and more product having issues and unless planting warranty is requested at time of contract , it is not covered as the plants are obtained at a large discounted cost at time of initial planting . Some of the plants you are replacing are nearly two years since planting so hard to replace for free.

mike.karen
mike.karen
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Landscaping

Total landscaping of an inner-city lot including sidewalks, fencing and irrigation after the addition of a lanesuite to our property.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great to work for you guys and the property looks great

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Rockyview Projects

Rockyview Projects is an Alberta-based landscaping construction company that offers products and services of the highest quality. From new communities, existing homes, rural acreages to commercial properties, we offer a diverse supply of landscape materials and can help you design and construct that ideal outdoor space you've always dreamed of. Whatever your needs, our team of professionals are well versed in the latest products and have the necessary experience when it comes to working in our unique and beautiful landscape - the foothills of the Rocky Mountains.

CATEGORIES
Landscape Contractors & Designers
PRODUCTS
Natural stone, walls, patios, decks, fences, planting, design, trees, sod, plant beds, lighting, irrigation
SERVICES
Landscape Design, Landscape Construction,Project Management
BRANDS
Belgard, Barkman, Techo Bloc, Banas,
STYLES
Open, Friendly, Professional
SPECIALITIES
Best Service in the City!
WEBSITE
http://www.rockyviewprojects.com/
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
6
PAYMENT METHOD
CQ , Etransfer, Credit card
LICENSES
BBB, City of Calgary, SECOR
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Landscape AB, Professional Home Builders Association, Canadian Landscape Nursery Association,
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 year
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.