GLobal Works Electric - No Longer In Business

Electricians
6 Arden Cres. Toronto ON M1L
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Electricians
GLobal Works Electric - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for GLobal Works Electric - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (24 reviews)

Sort by

Gil in Parkdale
Gil in Parkdale
3 reviews TORONTO, ON
10/10

New electrical service, panel box, hanging chandelier

We had a large electrical job that involved installing new service, new panel box, and re-wiring, as well as putting together and hanging a glass chandelier

Dennis was courteous and punctual, a great communicator, and a very competent and professional electrician.

His pricing was also very fair and reasonable.

Recommend highly for electrical or renovation projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Gil
Thank you for your review.
we are pleased that you were satisfied with our work and costs to accomplish your electrical project as you had planned.
The over all project was a success even the wait for the chandelier to come from Italy was worth it as once it was installed made for a great compliment to your home.

Brian in East York
Brian in East York
4 reviews East York, ON
10/10

Service Upgrade

Dennis was very quick to respond to our request for an estimate. He provided us a very thorough walk through of the work that needed to be done. He identified a couple things that needed changing (i.e. our main ground wasn't correctly hooked up). He obtained the permits and coordinated with hydro and the inspectors, it was all transparent to me. He completed the work on time and gave us a walk through of the work that was completed. He left the work area clean. Thanks for the good work Dennis!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Brian for your review.
We are happy to have helped you with your service upgrade in short notice so you can sell your home.
All the best and most success in selling your home!

Paul Allan in Scarborough
Paul Allan in Scarborough
1 review Scarborough, ON
0/10

home renovations--80 additions/alterations with service

GWE gave me a Certificate of Inspection on july 26 2011. He was notified by the contractor that 2 outlets were not working in one of my bedrooms. He was also notified by the contractor that the power faded in my piano room when electrical machinery was plugged in. He has failed to fix these things. He does not answer telephone messages. On 2 occasions, I waited all day for him to come to fix his mess. When I went to his house, he laughed in my face and said that I should get an electrican to fix it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Paul is a HUSTLER. GWE maintain a high standard business policy.Certificate of Inspection can only be issue by Electrical Safety Authority if the job pass the inspection by their authorized inspector. GWE has contacted ESA because of the above complain from Paul. GWE issued Paul a proposal, for Dennis and ESA representative to come in his house to investigate the issue.Noted and documented
he refused the proposal. GWE has comply and met all the specified standard for the above project. Paul is a HUSTLER beware! GWE is the only licensed contractor worked in his renovation.. He asked GWE for a quote then hired a unlicensed electrician. After faced with several problems, Paul deceitfully persuaded GWE to come in. Upon commencing work GWE found out the mess done by the unlicensed electrician. GWE professionally resolved the problems and have it working. Have it inspected and handed him a Certificate after it passed from the ESA.His unlicensed general contractor mentioned in his reply from GWE inquiry regarding Paul complain.That Paul hired a unlicensed gas technician and has damaged several electrical wiring in the area where now has electrical malfunctions. It has been a year since GWE completed the work. Why only complained now. Paul is a HUSTLER BEWARE.

Jim in Scarborough
Jim in Scarborough
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Overall safety check.Bring up to Code

Last year, we had Dennis address the obvious “Handyman specials” in our basement and do an overall safety check. He took care of minor problems, brought everything up to code and made everything safe and functional – (I.e. No more flipped breakers when running the microwave and Foreman grill for example, ) Also installed a whole house surge protector.

He was not the cheapest, but I am very confident in his ESA approved work and he is a very nice guy to deal with. I know who to call (and recommend) for any future electrical work – Dennis at Global Works Electric

Thanks Dennis

Jim

Was this review helpful?
chris hayes in Mississauga
chris hayes in Mississauga
8 reviews Mississauga, ON

First Review

10/10

installation upgrade of breaker panel and electrical wiring for the main bathroom

After going through over 15 estimates we decided that Dennis was the man for this project. Dennis's estimate was in the middle and the reason we chose Global Works Electric was that Dennis took the time to answer all our questions as he offered advice on what we should expect with the work to be done. Another reason was that Dennis stated that Mississauga Hydro would be invovled and an Electrical Inspectator would check the finished project.
Dennis called a couple days before the project was to begin as Mississauga Hydro stated that a new 200 amp. underground service would need to be installed from the transformer to the home. I called a few companies that Mississauga Hydro recomended and with a background of high voltage cable splicing that this project would triple our original budget.
We had purchased a steam shower through a reputable company that the sales staff explained that they had a contractor that will take care of us as this was a simple installation. In hindsight I should have figured that a 100 amp service would be inadequate as we already had a hot tub as well as in-ground pool with a gas heater. The cost of the steam shower was $5,500.00 and this would be the most expensive shower to use without the steam, radio, lights etc.
I called Dennis to explain that the cost of a new 200 amp. underground service was to expensive at this stage of a bathroom renovation.
Dennis made a few phone calls and explained to us that there was another option of installing a 125 amp. service and changing our oven and dryer to gas. We decided that this was the right option and purchased a new gas oven, gas dryer and washing machine.
Dennis arrived to start the project as Mississauga Hydro disconnected power to the house. I asked Dennis if he would mind if I was present when he was doing the project. Dennis started with the upgrade of the electrical breaker panel and realized that the company that installed the 100 amp. service didn't ground the water service as well as using a connection to the breaker panel that would have never passed an electrical inspection. We chose a company through Homestars a few years ago to change our 100 amp. fuse panel to a 100 amp. breaker panel with the installation of a new hot tub. The company we used was a reputable company that we trusted the work would be done in a safe professional manner as this is what we would expect. NO electrical inspection as well as inadquate grounding and connections that could have put our lives at risk.
Dennis corrected the wiring on time and Mississauga Hydro re-connected power. The next day Dennis installed new wiring to the steam shower as well as change our switches so that we could have separate switches for lightiing, bathroom exhaust fan and shower timer into 3 separate switches in one electrical box. Dennis also gave us advice that the exhaust fan we purchased would be adequate however he noticed that a separate piece would have to be purchased so that the humidity sensor would function properly. We exchanged the exhaust fan to the type that Dennis recommended as well as saving us a few dollars as well.
The steam shower wiring was complex and the installation manual was inadequate with minimal directions that even the staff and technical service couldn`t explain how the wiring was to be installed within the steam shower.
Denniis decided that he would takcle the wiring of the steam shower and within minimal amount of time realized and corrected the wiring so that the steam shower was wired correctly.
The electrical inspector came to inspect Dennis`s work and was happy with the results as the electrical work passed the inspection. We did explain the concerns we had of the previous electrician`s work.
Dennis was easy going and explained in detail what exactly he was doing and the time passed quickly as it felt like I was talking to a close friend.
Dennis provided a higher standard of expertise in quality workmanship with a care for minimal disruption to the homeowners with a stamp of approval from the Electrical Inspector of a job well done.
I highly recommend Dennis and Global Works Electric that I have asked him to be the electrical contractor for my sister in-law as soon as he has the time available to do the work.
Dennis is above a 10.
Thanks Chris & Susan Hayes

Was this review helpful?
Jose in Scarborough
Jose in Scarborough
2 reviews Scarborough, ON
10/10

Fixed partial blackout - Short notice

I contacted Dennis after loosing power for no apparent reason on half of our house. As solving this problem was urgent for us, I went ahead and tried to contact several companies listed in HomeStars.

Despite his busy schedule he made some time to come the same day, between the timeframe he promised over the phone. In an hour he was able to find find the source of the problem, replaced the outlet that was causing it and restored the power. He also gave me a few security recommendations to avoid similar issues in the future and helped with some other questions I had.

I am very happy with the work done. I certainly recommend Dennis and I will give him a call if we need some electric work in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Tracy Marques in York
Tracy Marques in York
1 review York, ON
10/10

Service Panel Upgrade

Dennis Collett was awesome! He explained what he was going to do during his consultation and then did just that. He was very thorough and ensured that the workspace was clean when he left. The panel is well labelled and the wires coming in are neat and orderly. A great job and a friendly professional. Who could ask for more!

Was this review helpful?
cynthia in East york
cynthia in East york
2 reviews East York, ON
10/10

TV Wall Outlet

GLobal Works Electric - No Longer In Business
416-893-2420
6 Arden Cres.
Toronto
ON
M1L
CANADA

We found this company on this site and read the great reviews so we decided to give them a call. Dennis Collett came to our home to investigate the job that needed to be done. He asked questions and provided us with his professional knowledge to do the job in the best way. The next day he arrived with his tools and did a fantastic job. Dennis was quick and precise with the job that he completed. He even spoke to my brother on the telephone as he was to place a tv bracket after the outlet was installed and he wanted him to understand what needed to be done after the job and I thought that this was quite helpful to my brother. For an excellent job well done....we highly recommend Dennis and GWE.

Was this review helpful?
Wilson in Downtown Toronto
Wilson in Downtown Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Repair of another electricians work

We had been abandoned by our previous electrician close to completion. I had a difficult time getting a response from other electricians for such a small job. The issue became urgent as we needed to be ready for inspection. Dennis came at short notice and solved a complicated mystery wiring that the other electricians incompetence had left. Unlike our previous experience, Dennis did the work himself instead of sending in an army of apprentices. I will certainly use GWE again in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Kim  in Stouffville
Kim in Stouffville
4 reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

Replacing light fixtures throughout home

I love this site, I have had nothing but good experiences with contractors found here and this was no exception. I had 7 light fixtures replaced one of which was in the stairwell and not easy to get at. Dennis and Terry arrived bright and early, and were efficient, professional, and just really nice to deal with! They did a great job and went the extra mile, taking time to make sure that the awkwardly designed fixtures I had chosen was securely assembled - they also moved one of the fixtures they had removed to replace a long-broken fixture elsewhere in the house that I hadn't even planned on dealing with, and at no charge. (Thank you!!!!) :) Will definitely be calling them for future work and would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about GLobal Works Electric - No Longer In Business

Electrician Complete Electrical Contractor for all types of Electrical from small to large type projects and service calls. Thank-you for choosing Global Works Electric our friendly staff are happy to service your needs. You can be assured that all work done meets or exceeds the Electrical Safety Association and the ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Electricians pros in Toronto?