Running Waters Landscapes Inc

Garden Centres
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Garden Centres in Toronto  >  Running Waters Landscapes Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Running Waters Landscapes Inc

Average customer rating:
9 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Jo in Toronto
Jo in Toronto
9 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front Parking

John and the Crew were very professional and extremely efficient. They completed the job faster than anticipated. The final product looks fantastic and I couldn't be happier. I HIGHLY recommend using John and his team.

Was this review helpful?
Juanita Gonsalves from Aurora
Juanita Gonsalves from Aurora
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Front yard and waterfall/landscaping in back yard

We first hired Running Waters Landscapes to landscape our front yard in 2005. There was extensive excavation required to install stone steps, rock gardens and flag stone walk ways to compliment our wrap-around porch. The workmanship was excellent and stood the test of time and mother nature. When we decided to transform our backyard, we didn't hesitate to call Running Waters Landscapes again. In 2011, John and his crew worked to transform our back yard into an oasis. Once our new in ground pool had been installed, John designed a beautiful waterfall, retaining walls and rockery, pergolas, privacy screening and gardens. Every inch of space has been masterfully incorporated into beautiful sitting areas around the pool surrounded by gardens in a very private setting - even though we are on a corner lot. We now have an oasis to enjoy! When we decide to complete the landscaping at the last side of our home, we won't hesitate to call on Running Waters Landscaping again. Thanks to John and his team - professional, creative, responsive, on-time and on budget!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We were delighted to do your projects and look forward to the next step in your plan for your outdoor space. When a past client calls on us to do another project, it is the greatest compliment we can receive.
We are grateful for the trust you placed in us. Thank you!!!
We wish you and your family many more years of enjoyment in your private oasis.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very rewarding to hear how happy you are with your land and waterscapes.
All the best.

valerie in Leaside
valerie in Leaside
5 reviews East York, ON
10/10

Complete front yard/partial backyard redo

Running Waters Landscapes did a phenomenal job giving the front of our house a new look. They were able to reuse some of the existing materials and incorporate them into the new design. The crew was respectful of the environment, our property (and our neighbours) and always made sure to leave everything clean at the end of the day. Their price was competitive and we always felt like our needs were being met. It was a pleasure working with John, Luke and Ewen (SP?) and we would not hesitate to hire them again, as well as recommend them to our friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We will let Luke and Ewen know they were a pleasure to have on site. We are always happy to re-use existing materials if possible. We care about our environment as well as keeping costs to our clients down. We look forward to helping with your future projects and thank you for your recommendations!

S. O'Brien from East York
S. O'Brien from East York
5 reviews East York, ON
10/10

Front Yard Landscaping

John and his crew at Running Waters beautifully transformed our front yard and porch. The price was extremely competitive, and the workmanship was second to none. The crew was friendly, they kept the workspace clean, and John was incredibly knowledgeable and professional. It was a pleasure doing business with Running Waters, and I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was our pleasure to help you with the transformation of the front of your home! Thank you very much for entrusting us with your landscape project and for your recommendation. We greatly appreciate it!

karen klar from Thornhill
karen klar from Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Waterfall and backyard reno

Running Waters Landscapes came highly recommended to us from a very satisfied customer, and we too were extremely thrilled with our project. John Kustec redesigned our deck, patio, sitting areas and built the most beautiful and natural looking pondless waterfall. His crews were terrific, providing expert advice and workmanship. With any issue that developed, John would manage it to our complete satisfaction. Can't go wrong with the ongoing service and commitment of this company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review! Most of our business comes from referrals such as you. We are so glad you were so happy with your project and our crews. We were very happy to complete it for you! Thank you for hiring us!

Andy from Toronto
Andy from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Complete backyard

Running Waters completing rebuilt our backyard from scratch with new planters, planting, fencing and a large patio.

We were thrilled with the design assistance, attention to detail and professionalism of all staff on site.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our services and especially for choosing us to rebuild your backyard! We were very happy to help transform your backyard and we are so happy that you were thrilled with our design assistance, attention to detail and our professional on site labour. We will let the guys on site know! Thanks again!

connie harding from Toronto
connie harding from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Parking Pad Project - Toronto Beach

Running Waters Landscapes is the real deal. Led by John and Carolyn Kustec it is a family business with a team of friendly professionals who get the job done to the highest standards, on time and within budget. They installed a parking pad for us at our Toronto Beach home in the summer of 2012. It’s an elegant combination of permacon pavers and rockery. After a lengthy process with the city permit, we were eager to have it completed as soon as possible.
We had an idea, John improved upon it and with careful planning and excellent communication, he and his team delivered the results. We couldn’t be happier! We live in an old part of town and the Beach is notorious for uneven, sandy foundation but the pavers and stones have held up well – perfectly draining rain water and are level with our porch, which John also created new steps for. Moreover, the project was completed early and under budget!
They are hard working, honest and affable and I highly recommend them to family, friends and neighbours. In fact, my sister has since used them for her back patio on project on the Danforth and our direct neighbours also used them for their parking pad in the spring of 2013 and they are all delighted with the results as well. I’m also planning to have them back for our backyard landscaping and maybe even a lap pool / hot tub installation. They have an impressive track record for a wide range of landscaping and outdoor living projects.
It must also be noted that John and Carolyn are also generous community supporters, donating flowers to our local school garden every spring. Like I said, they are the real deal. Don’t hesitate to call Running Waters Landscapes – they are the best in the Beach and GTA.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so happy that you are pleased with your landscape! Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to helping you with your backyard landscaping. Thank you very much for all of your referrals! They are valued and never taken for granted! Thank you for organizing and managing such a great school garden project! It makes us happy to see the school children, parents and teachers enjoying the garden and we are happy to donate the flowers and trees for school projects and fundraisers.

Hershel Russell from Toronto
Hershel Russell from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
10/10

garden pond and waterfall

Running Waters built us a truly elegant pond quite a few years ago with a small waterfall that is music to our ears. They come back every year in spring and fall to maintain it, always giving excellent and courteous service. The pond has given us nothing but pleasure and we get constant compliments from friends and neighbours. I highly recommend the company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad you are enjoying your water feature! Enjoy, enjoy , enjoy!

Penwood Cres.
Penwood Cres.
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Backyard Landscaping and Waterfall

We were delighted with the service, and quality of the project, and in particular, with the courtesy and honesty of Running Waters Landscaping- Carolyn and John. It has been several years since completion of the job and we have enjoyed years of satisfaction in their workmanship. Neighbours and friends continue to ask us for a referral after providing unsolicited compliments about our backyard and waterfalls which flow into the pool, all thanks to the hard work of Running Waters Landscaping Inc. We have never had any reason to complain, especially when we are lucky to have found an honest and reasonable family run business like this one.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We are so very happy to hear that you were delighted with our service and with the quality of the project. We always strive to complete each project as if it was our own and to deal honestly with our clients. Our clients put their trust in us and we never forget that. Thank you so much for your referrals! We are so glad to hear that your landscape and waterscape are standing the test of time!

Slavka Murray from Mississauga
Slavka Murray from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON

First Review

0/10

Paved Walkway

In October 2007 Running Waters did what looked to be a good job creating a pathway to my porch with Permacon pavers. Over the last couple of years I noticed that my foundation was being compromised. I called them on Aug. 14, 2012 to come and look at the job which I was told they would come in Sept. or Oct. 2012 when the owner was done with a job he was working on. I called again on Nov. 2, 2012 and left a message but no one ever called back.

In June of 2013 another landscaping company came to look at my problem and notified me that the 2 steps Running Waters installed are not level and are graded towards the foundation not away from the foundation. To correct this mistake, both steps need to be removed, excavated, re-graded and replaced which will cost me approximately $3,900.

I e-mailed Running Waters of this information on June 26th and was e-mailed back saying that John, the owner, would contact me. After several more e-mails and no one contacting me I gave up but I wanted to warn everyone else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This particular project was completed on October 30, 2007. In the Estimate and Final Invoice given to this customer, a 2 Year Guarantee was given on Workmanship, which expired October 30, 2009.
The completed project can be seen on our website http://www.runningwaterslandscapes.ca/landscapes/mississauga_1.html
The pictures clearly show that the steps installed were indeed level and the landscape was properly graded away from the house at time of completion in 2007.
We were first contacted by this customer in the late summer of 2012, almost 5 years after the date of completion and 3 years past the 2 Year Guarantee on Workmanship.
We did respond by email to this customer's complaint and have always responded to her emails. We expressed that we wished she had contacted us sooner.
We value our customers and our relationships with them well after we complete projects. Had we known about any problem as soon as it was noticed perhaps we could have done something easily to fix the situation, even if it was past our Guarantee. There is very little we can do many years after a problem is first noticed, especially when the problem arose long after our Guarantee expired.
It is very important to note that prior to this project being done, the client had the property inspected by an engineer and as a result that inspection showed pre-existing structural damage to the home's foundation in the form of a vertical crack on the south side of the home by the porch. The engineer gave the go ahead for the project to be completed and this client was informed that we have no control over what happens below what we have excavated, back filled and compacted and if there was an existing settlement issue below our landscape as indicated by the existing crack, then we have no control over that.
This is possibly what has contributed to any shifting/movement of our landscape.
In addition to Mother Nature (winter freezes and spring thaws),
it is also important to note that there are also many other reasons movement can occur, such as improper water management maintenance such as eavestroughs overspilling above the steps or a blocked downspout pooling in the garden next to the porch, all of which are typical homeowner maintenance issues. The eavestroughs and downspout shown in the pictures, if not properly maintained could be the problem and be the cause of any damage.
We were more than happy to help with any issues, however as we stated, this project was completed correctly with good workmanship with a 2 Year Guarantee, almost 6 years ago.
In all of our years of business, we have never had a complaint about poor workmanship until this one.
We have built our company name on our good reputation for quality work, excellent workmanship and jobs done right.
We are upstanding members of Landscape Ontario, the Better Business Bureau and the Canadian Nursery Landscape Association.
We stand firmly behind our name we have worked so hard to build and we stand firmly behind the quality of our work.
We always honour our Warranties and Guarantees.
We would love to offer lifetime warranties, but Mother Nature as well as other factors mentioned above prevent us from doing that.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.