Category :
Heating & Air Conditioning
Address:
830 Harrington Court Burlington , ON L7N 3N4
Owner/Manager:
Customer Support

Reliance Home Comfort

Company Profile

Reliance has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services for over 40 years. Specializing in furnaces, air conditioners and water heaters, we provide our customers with peace of mind and are with you every step of the way. When you choose Reliance, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.2 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. With one of the largest networks of...

more...
Servicing:

Windsor, London, Sarnia, Chatham, Sudbury, North Bay, Thunder Bay, Brantford, Niagara, Kitchener, Waterloo, Guelph, Halton, Hamilton, Burlington, Oakville, Brampton, Mississauga, Toronto, Kingston, Richmond Hill, Etobicoke, Sault Ste Marie

Reviews for Reliance Home Comfort

Show:

Feb 14, 2012, GEORGETOWN

8

Considering a previous bad billing experience and everything I'd read on here, I was expecting the worst when I contacted Reliance about a problem with my water heater rental unit. But, the two guys that fixed the problem were quick and did repairs that made sense. I was given an afternoon service window (1-5pm) and they arrived well within that. The problem was with the thermocouple and a (slightly) leaking drain outlet. They installed a brass drain cap on the outlet. For the thermocouple, they didn't carry the part. It sounds like a common part you'd carry lots of, so, from what I've read here, I expected that'd mean a second service call at some unknown future date. But, rather than wasting a trip to the parts supplier, they went to Canadian Tire, got the part, installed it, and now it's up and running again. So, no complaints about this service call.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Great news Matthew. We appreciate the feedback and value the time you took to share this experience. Thank you. RM

Feb 13, 2012, BURLINGTON

0

We had small water leak from tankless water heater. Comfort "technician" replaced many parts and left. For 48 hours everything was OK.On Tuesday morning we heard strange noise from downstairs. Entire main level was under water! I had to turn off water. No water = no heat in the middle of winter ! I called Reliance and demanded tech to check what happened. We started to clean main floor. Carpet damaged, walls damages, many pairs of shoes damaged. We used our wet vac to remove all water then we borrowed heater and fans to dry entire place. First Reliance tech arrived after few hours. He brought SWISS ARMY knife and started to do dome work... Swiss Army knife???After a few minutes he said that this is not his are area of expertise and he left. After he left I removed water heater cover and ... I COULD NOT BELIEVE MY EYES ! Two copper pipes were disjoined and two screws that were suppose to hold them together were standing on the top of water heater!!! I took some pictures and forwarded them to Reliance compliant department Two more hours has passed and another technician arrived. I asked him to write report about shoddy job done by first Reliance " technician". I contacted my Insurance Company. They told us that there is $500 deductible and they will not cover work absence for me ad my wife. Since January 2012 I exchanged many e-mails with Reliance compliant department. They refuse to cover anything unless I will show BILLS. They do not care about 2 days absence from work countless hours of cleaning and drying and damages. No apology either. Today I decided to hire a lawyer

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$40.00
Company Response:
I'm terribly sorry to hear about this issue Oscar. Please email me at [email protected] and I will be sure to escalate this issue to the appropriate group for further investigation. Thank you. RM

Feb 12, 2012, MISSISSAUGA

0

Have been left without a water heat which powers the furnace for over 2 days in the middle of the coldest part of the winter, and I'm still sitting here freezing and waiting. No one can seem to organize getting the water heater replaced. HOUSE WAS DOWN TO 5 DEG. C overnight and Reliance couldn't care less. They want my money each month but don't deliver any emergency service. I am also tired of listening to the call center in the Philippines telling me they understand my problem. No they don't. It doesn't get to below freezing in that country. Reliance Home Comfort your company is the grand prize winner of the WORST COMPANY to deal with. You have more layers of bureaucracy than people to actually FIX PROBLEMS. All I asked for for the 10 plus years I paid you every month was to fix/replace the water heater so I am not left freezing. It has been more than 42 hours since you were made aware of the problem and I'm still sitting here in the cold.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
I'm sorry to hear this news. If you could please email me at [email protected] I will work to assist in resolving this issue. RM

Feb 11, 2012, Oakville

0

Terrible. the furnance is down and they can only be at my home in 24 hours. I will have to sleep at someone's place because it is winter, cold as ice. I have been been extra money for insurance to have someone when I need the most to fix any problem. Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$160.00
Company Response:
I'm sorry to hear that someone could not get out to address your issue sooner Patricia. Pleae email me at [email protected] and I will work to get a better understanding of the delay. Thank you. RM

Feb 06, 2012, TORONTO

0

Similar to the poster below, I have been without heat or hot water for over a week now. My condo is heated using a combination boiler unit, which means when the heat goes, so does the hot water. Reliance has been comletely non-communicative. The first service technician they sent out (last Wednesday) said 5 parts were required. THey called on Friday to set up a follow-up appointment, and said they'd come on Saturday, with all the parts, between 8 am and noon. They not only never showed up, but never called to communicate why no one would be coming. I spent the majority of Saturday on the phone with Reliance, while they attempted to communicate with their outsourced service department, who is equally poor at communicating. It is now Monday, and no one was communicating anything to me. After posting on several websites (Facebook/Twitter) someone finally contacted me and told me they'd escalate the issue. I finally received a phone call from their outsourced contractor (Dynasty) who informs me that a new boiler unit will be required, and that they will need to cut out 30 feet of drywall in order to install the new venting. 30 feet of drywall is a SIGNIFICANT portion of a <500-square-foot>ve asked), let alone to compensate for the lack of hot water. This company is incompetent, non-communicative, disrespectful, unreliable. Anyone considering using Reliance in the future, THINK TWICE!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
I'm terribly sorry to hear about this experience Mary. I know that your issue has been addressed but apologize for the delay in getting this resoloved.

Feb 06, 2012, OAKVILLE

0

We are very dissapointed in the lack of service that we just received from Reliance Home Comfort. Our 1994 rented water heater leaked out and stopped working on Sunday and we had an unsatisfactory service call today. Nothing has been remedied and we have another service call tomorrow (another day with no hot water). By the way, we contacted them last summer and after numerous calls and discussions about getting this old unit replaced, nothing was ever done. I believe that I was paying for service with my rental agreement - they have not lived up to their agreement at all . Back to the present... We called yesterday morning to notify them that our water heater has to be replaced and that it was leaking out of the bottom. They couldn't send anyone yesterday but promised today between 10-2. We were happy that the technician arrived promptly at 10. Unfortunately he wasn't equipped to replace the water heater and also told us that we would have to replace the plumbing with new to-code PVC pipe. We were notified by this technician that he was not qualified to do the installation as he could not cut access panels in the drywall to run the pipe. He told me to "look in the yellow pages and find someone"! After the access hatches would be cut then someone from Reliance would be coming to remove the old water heater, install pipe, install new water heater and remove the old. All this information and advice and nothing remedied. He then reluctantly called his office at 11:00 a.m. to book another call for the installation to be done tomorrow - 24+ hours later again. In the meantime I am to determine where to cut the access holes to be ready for the install. How could he not think that the lack of hot water for another day is more than an inconvenience!! Ridiculous!!!!! In the meantime I have researched water heaters, installers etc and have someone coming at 3:00 to complete a full install of a new water heater and piping etc.,.. I have cancelled my account with Reliance, had my comments documented with their customer service and booked a pickup for their old water heater. They are charging me $65 for the pickup - one last kick in the "whats-its" for good measure. I am no longer connected with the company but I do hope that they take a close look at their service levels and improve. There is competition out there and they are offering good service and products - something lacking from Reliance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$65.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
1) Have their installers equipped to service their clients when they arrive. 2) Have more installers available to handle calls within 3 hours or less. 3) Understand that having hot water is an essential service and fixing water heater issues is an emergency. 4) Audit water heaters every year after they are 5 years old for repair or replacement BEFORE leaks or worse happen.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Do not rely on Reliance. We have now purchased a water heater and are much more confident that we have a good product and that we will get any necessary qualified service that may be necessary to keep the unit in good condition. BTW - we highly recommend GMAir 121 for both furnace and water heaters. They were timely, professional and courteous.
Company Response:
I'm very disappointed to hear about your experience and sincerely apologize on behalf of Reliance. Your overview raises a number of concerns that I will escalate internally and I appreciate you taking the time to share. Thank you.

Feb 05, 2012, OAKVILLE

0

I have been without hot water or heat for a week. Reliance has terrible, nonexistent service. 3 times men come out unprepared, unwilling to fix their mistakes, without proper equipment to do the job. It is Feb. and cold. My house is heated by hot water. My husband just got out of the hospital, needs open heart surgery and can't remove his bandages or shower, etc. Reliance doesn't care. The people on the phone are pleasant but ineffective. I would recommend you find another company to rent from. Also, I was told they wouldn't come out on a Sunday even though my husband just got out of the hospital and needed heat and hot water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Company Response:
I'm very sorry to hear about this experience Catherine and would like to help. Please email me at [email protected] and I will escalate this issue so as to have it addressed. Thank you. RM

Feb 02, 2012

0

Worst customer service. I have been using rental water heater from Reliance. Today on Feb 2, 2010 the hot water stopped coming out of taps and we complained Reliance around 2:30 PM in the afternoon. We were told that our contractors will call you in 3 hours and they will come to your place to fix it. It is 10 pm now, I have called 5 times and still no response. We apologize, we are sorry, we couldn't get hold of contractor, getting their voicemail, they are closed by 5 pm, now they will come tomorrow only; you can name all teh excuses the customer service reps can give you. I said I'm going to cancle the service so I was told that customer service is closed now an dplease call tomorrow. We will be without hot water in this winter weather, my family and kids are suffering for last 8 hours and not sure how long they will have to suffer. Will call teh customer service in the morning again. Hot water is essential service and this is teh responce Reliance has given. I'll definitely not recommend them to anybody and soon will get rid off of them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
special process to handle emergency customer calls. Do not rely on contractors and specially the one swho doesn't pick the call from them. Should have their own emergency responce department.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
be careful with Reliance as they do not have any process to handle emergency cases. It goes through normal process and can take hours, day or many days, don't know.
Company Response:
I'm terribly sorry to hear about this experience Arfeen. Please email me at [email protected] and I will work with our service team to provide a resolution. Thank you. RM

Jan 26, 2012, East York

8

No problems so far. The customer service staff have been great! They sent out someone to explain the new system to me and they were very helpful. I would recommend them to other people.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts Cathy. Thank you very much for the kind words. I'm glad that your experience has been a very positive one. RM

Jan 25, 2012, Kitchener

3

Had no hot water this morning. So called Reliance and they dispatched the technician in about an hour who came and told me that the tank needs to be replaced cus there was a leak. They will cover the replacement as my unit was rental but he told me that the vent has to be replaced too cus because of the law and i will have to bear the cost or $166 plus HST because vent was the part of my home plumbing. Now is it true that there is a law that when ever you repalace the tank the vent has to be replace...my home is just over 7 years old.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$190.00
Company Response:
Thanks for brining this to my attention Raj. Please email me at [email protected] and I will get clarification on the specifics of the venting charge. Thank you. RM

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of Home Stars Directory Inc.

Company Profile

Reliance has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services for over 40 years. Specializing in furnaces, air conditioners and water heaters, we provide our customers with peace of mind and are with you every step of the way. When you choose Reliance, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.2 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. With one of the largest networks of licensed technicians in Canada, we respond to over 400,000 service calls each year.
After all, we believe you are investing in much more than home comfort equipment, you’re investing in a relationship and your satisfaction is our top priority.

Products & Services

Products
Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Air Purifiers, Boilers
Services
Protection Plans, Service & Repair, Home Security & Monitoring
Brands
Carrier, Goodman, Rheem, Amana, Smart Air, Rinnai

Credentials & Financial Information

PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Cash, Credit Card, Pre-Authorized Payment
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT PROVIDED
Yes

In this week's newsletter: Best of season is in full swing!