Ecoline Windows

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Edmonton AB T5J 3S9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Shutters & Blinds in Edmonton  >  Ecoline Windows  >  Replacement Living Room Window Debacal
GaryY in Winnipeg
GaryY in Winnipeg
0 reviews Winnipeg, MB

Replacement Living Room Window Debacal

My experience with Eco-Line was poor from day 1. The salesperson had no interest in providing me with information about what options I wanted. Instead when I told him what I needed he just said "yea yea I have done this and know what you need." He was only interested in getting me to sign the contract. It took almost 3 months to get the window in Winnipeg and installed. During this time there were no updates from the company. Once it was to be installed the crew that showed up to do the installation was less than competent. This was a large picture window that must have weighed 600 lbs + and 4 guys were carrying it out of the trailer. They dropped it, of course not once but 2 times. They broke one of the panes in the window and damaged my stucco on the front of my home. When they finally did get the frame and window panes in, I asked what was next and how the window would get repaired. The crew did not communicate in English very well so the installer said in broken English “call the office”. I asked them how payment would be handled, “Do I make it through the office or will they bill me?” Again all he said was “call the office”. So within 30 minutes of this crew leaving I called the Eco-line Winnipeg office. The gentleman who I spoke with on the phone asked me if pictures had been taken and if I had paid. I told him I did not think any picture were taken and that I was told to call the office. At this time I was told he would send a lead installer back to take the pictures. When the lead installer arrived he came across my neighbour’s yard yelling at me, asking “Why you don't pay? Why you don't pay?” I felt intimidated and a little afraid what would happen so ended up paying in full right there. Another 2 months passed with no sign of a new window pane and if I had not kept calling I don't think it would have been a priority. Finally it arrived and the broken window was removed, wouldn't you know these incompetent installers measured the window wrong and this new window was too small. I don't know why the manufacturer didn't still have the original measurements from when they built the whole window. This time the small window had to stay in and they filled the ends up with spray foam as a temporary seal from the weather. This window was ordered in April and we are now in September. Another fellow was sent out again with some cardboard to make a template of the opening. When the correct window did finally arrive it was cold and snowing. I had already installed custom blinds which the installer kept grabbing a hold of and they are now loose and hang crooked. I have pictures and video of all the things that happened on these installs. In total I had to take 5 days off of work to wait for the crews to arrive and then do the work. I went for almost 6 months with no blinds or window coverings. I was intimidated and insulted by the installers. I will give credit to Yanina, who did what she could to get results and gave me information when I called her. I felt that there should be some level of compensation for all of the mistakes and poor service. The first time I spoke to Anastasia she said “$550 was asked for”. I had not ever asked for an amount just compensation. I countered and said I should be compensated better. I paid over $5500 for this window and I would expect better in return. She took my counter request and said she would call me back. When she called she said I was “looking to get $1500”, which again I never said a number but felt this would be fair compensation. She said all she could get approval for was $150 which I would receive if I removed a negative review I had given Eco-Line. They placed a condition for me to remove the review and not make a BBB complaint as a condition to receive $150. I refused the amount and asked Anastasia to try again that this was insulting. Well as you can see I am writing this review to warn everyone that this is not a professional nor competent company. Please do yourselves a favour if looking for new or replacement windows and go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Gary, thank you very much for your honest opinion about our company. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced. On a positive note, the project is now completed and your 25 years warranty is activated. Enjoy your newly installed Ecoline Windows and please remember that we are just a phone call away if you need us.