New Century Maids

House & Apartment Cleaning
3643 Cawthra Road Mississauga ON L5A 2Y4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Renovation Cleaning in Mississauga  >  New Century Maids  >  NOT post-renovation cleaners
Grace in Toronto
Grace in Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON

NOT post-renovation cleaners

I debated whether to write this review since Cathi and Jacqueline were so friendly and organized, but I didn't want anyone else to experience what I did.

When I first contacted them, I was very impressed with Jacqueline and Isabelle. They were both so friendly and patient to work with, and their thorough questions made me realize that they really knew what they were doing. They were also very organized.

However, I was rather disappointed with the actual cleaning work. At first I thought it was just because I was stressed with my renovations not being complete.

1) First of all, she said she didn’t have a shop-vac. I was surprised since when I first got a quote from NMC, they mentioned that a post-renovation clean is $5 more per hour, because they need to come with a shop-vac. I offered her the use of mine and she said she didn’t know how to use it. I thought I had misunderstood Jacqueline, but upon reviewing the NMC website, that is the case. I've addressed this with NMC, and they acknowledge that she should have had one, but they won't acknowledge that I paid $5 more per hour for something I did not receive.

2) The cleaners also did not even enter the bedroom closets. Perhaps I should have been more clear when I told her to clean the rooms, but given NMC's website says they clean "all surfaces", I thought it would have been done.

3) I admit that I should have checked more thoroughly when I did a final walk through with her, but she did not dust the bedrooms at all. The radiators were COVERED in drywall dust, as was the floor underneath it. I also noticed the cable (see attached photo) was not dusted either. She basically just mopped the floor of my bedrooms. (So 6 hours to mop 3 small bedrooms and 2 small bathrooms).

4) Bathroom floor stain - there was a large stain on the floor that I had been hoping she would remove. When I saw it was still there, she mentioned she had not been able to get it off, and that I needed Goo Gone. I believed her, until I was able to scrub it all off within 5 minutes. Most of it was dirt. (See attached photo of the stain before I got it off).

So I’m sure you can understand how disappointed I am. I paid good money so that I wouldn’t have to clean the house myself before moving in, and I assumed it would be done well.

Instead, I had to spend an afternoon dusting and vacuuming.

I told NMC, and their first response was that they only offer free re-dos within 24 hours, but I was outside that window (she cleaned on Wednesday, I came back Friday and discovered it). They later offered it as an exception, but at that point, I had already cleaned everything myself.

Renovations and moving are stressful enough as it is. So if you're looking for a post-renovation cleaner, I wouldn't recommend them, because you won't be getting your money's worth and you'll have to clean again yourself.

I thought NMC would be really great, and I don't want anyone else to go through this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Grace, There must have been some miscommunication - we do not charge $5 more for a crew using a shop-vac. All post reno cleanings cost more because of more work that needs to be done - more elbow grease is needed.
All of our cleanings come with a 24 hour guarantee that if there is something you are not happy with we will send the crew back to your home to address the areas that may have been missed.
You have declined the re-do cleaning and we are sorry that your experience was not a great one and we wish you all the best.