Reviews

10/10

I contacted Mike based on the recommendation of our basement underpinning contractor and the strength of reviews I read on Homestars. Our project required a full basement renovation, starting with the coordination of in-floor heating installation with the concrete pouring of the floor. I was very pleased with how seamlessly Mike's team worked with the TrueNorth crew. For example, one of the floor joists had to be reinforced and it had a temporary fix by the TrueNorth crew, and then finished later at a later stage by Mike's guys. Overall, I am happy with the final results of our basement. Right off the bat, Mike recommended a layout to take advantage of the few windows we have to maximize natural light. He recommended some basic things such as installing a laundry closet instead of a laundry room to save floor space in our small basement. The quality of workmanship was excellent for wood and trim work. The foreman Aldo and the carpenter Tony were both terrific, hardworking men who took obvious pride in their work and taking care of small details. The younger man who did the bathroom tile work was less experienced and I felt that it was a little sloppy i.e. some residual mortar and grout was left around and I have had some trouble cleaning it off. Some of the tiling errors were identified by Aldo and the work had to be redone. There were definitely some delays and issues encountered during the renovation that could not have been foreseen, mostly to do with permitting issues. While these caused added time to the duration of the overall project, Mike was good a communicating these issues with me. There were a number of things that Mike guys took care of, or added with little to no additional cost that I have been extremely happy with. For example, he added a stair railing leading down the stairs to the basement for the inspection. He offered to leave that in place for no additonal cost and just painted it to match the stairs. At my request he also sourced some rubber treads for the stairs that have provided durability and safety. Finally, the specialty tradesmen used by Mike were all top notch. The plumbing, hvac and electrical contractors were all outstanding and took time to explain everything that they were doing, especially if additonal added scope work increased the cost from the original estimate. I would recommend Mike to anyone contemplating a basement renovation.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

While in the middle of a basement renovation, I realized that I need to get an Ikea cabinet installer to put in all the IKEA cabinets I had in mind. My general contractor kindly informed me that it would be much more efficient to get a specialist rather than his team doing it. I contacted Alexander at the end of May. After a few email back and fourths, he came to my house and gave me some recommendations for the design. At that point, there as no drywall yet, only studs, plumbing and wiring. He charged $150 for this consultation, which I think was well worth the fee. The installation took place at the end of July, the after all the cabinets were delivered. Miraculously, Alexander and Igor managed to install an incredible number of cabinets within one day. This included kitchen cabinets for a wet bar, two different sets of built storage using kitchen wall cabinets and a floating tv stand. These guys work incredibly hard and efficiently. The only thing to keep in mind is that you are responsible for all your own cleanup. All the boxes were left in a big heap and the dust from the saw from cutting the end pieces was all over the floor. Not a problem and it's something I could certainly deal with on my own, but something to keep in mind if you are picky. I am very happy with this contractor and will recommend them to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michelle, thanks for your review. I'm glad you like our work. And I'm sorry if job-site was left in condition made you feel not completely happy. I'll put more attention to cleanup, as we always do cleanup after work is finished. It was drywall compound dust on the floor when we came(it wasn't clean), and we had do have a deal with this. My goal is to keep customers happy with our work. About boxes/cardboard from cabinets - yes, we do not do disposal, but as you noted put in a heap for customers recycle them. I hope by this time reno of your basement is finished and you can enjoy it. Best regards, Alexander

10/10

I contacted Enrique on a Friday morning and he arrived the same afternoon to look at a couple of trees that needed attention on my property. Enrique was very professional and provided me with sound advice on removing one of my trees and trimming a dead branch off another. He returned the following Monday exactly on time to complete the agreed upon work. At the end of the day I realized that I had made a mistake in neglecting to ask to have bushes trimmed at the front of my house. Enrique returned later that week and took care of the bushes, at no extra charge. I was very impressed and would highly recommend this service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Michelle and thank you for your feedback, feel free to contact us in the future when you need a tree service again , Enrique

10/10

CES was the engineering company contracted through True North for my basement Benchpinning project. My experience was very positive with this company. I only dealt personally with the CAD technologist Jeanette. She was professional and promptly answered any questions I had about the drawings.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michelle
Thank you for your kind review.
We really appreciate your acknowledgement of our services and do look forward to being able to help you in the future.
Ram

10/10

True North did a fantastic job of bench pinning the basement of my semi-detached 100+ year home. I obtained several estimates from other contractors I found through Homestars. Daniel was the most straightforward and knowledgeable in answering all of my many questions and patiently explaining the exact process for the job. The professionalism extended thoughout the duration of my project as small complications came up and were resolved with the best outcomes. For example, in the original plan, the bathroom was going to be raised up to the height of the bench to avoid losing floor space. A fantastic plumber who subs for Daniel proposed a plan to keep the floor level with the rest of basement. This change was discussed immediately with Daniel and implemented the same day. The core team of Leo and Kevin started work at 7am on the dot everyday, maintained order and kept things as tidy as possible in what is a naturally messy job. For anyone considering basement work that requires digging up, permits, etc, I would highly recommend True North. You will be in good hands.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michelle,

Thanks for writing this review. We really appreciate you taking the time to compliment the crew's work. Enjoy the new space.

Daniel

9/10

This review is long overdue. Olympic did my kitchen renovation almost 2 years ago. I had just purchased an 100+ year old Toronto home and was in the process working with my general contractor to re-do the entire main floor. Due to the awkward shape of the kitchen I was unsure of the best layout. the designer Andrea helped me figure out a nice functional design that made the best use of a limited space. Having lived with the kitchen with my family of 4 for the past two years, I can say we have been very happy with it. The quality of the cabinets and finishes are high, and stand up to the wear and tear of normal family life. Andrea was meticulous about making sure that we were 100%certain about the model of all our new appliances to make certain they would fit with the cabinets. The parts of the renovation process that I found difficult was some of the misunderstanding in commununication with the contractor on who was responsible for installing a couple of floating shelves.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Michelle for taking the time to write about your experience with Olympic. We certainly appreciate it, no review is ever to late! I am very glad to hear you are still enjoying your new kitchen as it is always lovely to hear from past clients. Your project was a real transformation from start to finish and definitely one for the books. I know how important it was to you to achieve both functionality and style when it came to your new space and I believe that combination came together beautifully in the end. I hope you enjoy your kitchen for many more years to come and please do not hesitate to contact us in the future should you need! All the best, Andrea

10/10

I am very impressed with the level of service I received from Marsh's. Everything from scheduling of the appointment for the estimate to the final details after installation was above an beyond my expectations. The installers were highly experienced professionals who took great care to work through some complications, including a blocked flue during the install. They returned a second day to repair masonry that was disrupted. Alan came on a Sunday morning to help us relight the pilot light in our water heater. The Valor Portrait series unit is perfect and exactly what we were looking for. Highly recommend. If you are looking for a fireplace, I would consider Marsh's first.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We recently moved into a new house that did not have a closet in my daughter's bedroom. I contacted Tailored Living for help, and Marc responded quickly with a proposal for a very nice and space-efficient design for the small room. Marc and team were highly professional in the handling of my project, with excellent communication on specifics regarding the installation and working tirelessly on the actual installation date to perfect the fit of the built-in closet. The end result is an attractive and high quality unit that has provided an abundance of organization and storage space that looks like it will withstand many years of use. Thanks!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Michelle, we're so glad that you and your daughter are pleased with the result. Enjoy the new storage. Marc

0/10

I have purchased several items here, including a kitchen sink, faucet, toilet, etc. The customer service is horrible. The worst thing I thing I have experienced is having to go to the 'Customer Service' counter. It is way at the back of the building, where you have to enter through the shipping doors, after walking up a rickety make-shift staircase to get to the loading dock!!! Then you have to actually take a little twisty unmarked roundabout route through the warehouse to get to the desk. When I went, it was staffed by a clueless high school student who apparently did not know anything nor have any authority. The showroom might be pleasant, if somewhat overcrowded. But if you buy anything here, pray nothing goes wrong that requires customer service after purchase!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I am very happy with the service provided by Archie and his team. He provided a written quote and itemized all the work that would be done. Everything, including the scheduling, maintenance of tidy work area, end product and followup were handled efficiently and professionally. I will use Sobol Inc again in the future when I need more windows replaced.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?