Reviews

10/10

I hired Tom to paint the casings after having all my windows and doors replaced as well as painting some patched walls and ceilings. Tom came in to provide a quote very quickly. The quote was competitive and the job was started and completed on time shortly after. Tom maintained great communication throughout the whole process and his painter Rob took the time to listen to and address my concerns and did a great job overall. I'm happy with the outcome of the work and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tom Mac Rae Painting!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review! It was fun working with you both.

Cheers,

Tom

2/10

I would personally never hire Andy's again. If you do decide to hire them for your own project after reading this review, I strongly suggest you withhold a portion of the payment until they have addressed any issues after the prime check and don't count on them coming back for any warranty issues. As part of a large renovation project in my home, I hired Andy's in December 2016 to hang, tape, mud and sand new drywall on all ceilings throughout my 2-story home as well as skim-coating the walls in my living room. This job took about three weeks to complete (a week longer than Andy's original estimate). There were a few challenges with making the new drywall on ceilings flat/level due to the age of the house and there were a few hiccups along the way, but I felt that Andy's did a reasonable job dealing with the complexities that came up. My biggest complaint while the work was being performed was that in couple of instances one of the crew members (who would often be working alone in the house) would go to closed-off areas of my basement where I was storing all of my personal items and look through my belongings and "borrow" my tools. This was shockingly inappropriate to me, but in all fairness, at least it stopped happening after I expressed my concerns directly to Andy (he would usually not personally be on site). After the last round of mudding and sanding was completed, I was assured by Andy that he would be back after the walls and ceilings had been primed for a "prime-check" and would fix any remaining issues, so I gave him a cheque for the full amount of the contract. Unfortunately, priming the ceilings and walls revealed a large number of minor issues with the drywall work, such as clusters of bubble holes left after sanding and many sanding marks, some fairly deep and all very visible after a coat of primer. There were also some more significant problems like several large seams on the ceilings that were not properly finished and were visible. In the living room, one could see the location of almost all drywall screws heads on the ceiling, as if a final coat of mud was missed altogether. I contacted Andy in February 2017 after the primer coat was done and he came over the next day to have a look (which I appreciated). He acknowledged all the issues and reassured me that these were all very common/normal issues and that he would contact me during the week to schedule the fixes. Unfortunately, that's where things started going downhill. After not hearing back from him for a week, I contacted him by text to see what was going on and he replied that he was fighting a cold and had to push it to the week after. That was the last time I heard from him. Over the next several weeks, I unsuccessfully tried to contact him many times using text, phone calls and emails. Realizing that he has no interest in addressing the issues with the workmanship in my house, after a whole month of waiting and trying, I finally gave up and made other arrangements to get the problems fixed so that I could move on. This cost me a lot of extra money and time and caused even more delays and logistical problems with my renos. Overall, while Andy's crew did a decent job while on the site, they did not stand behind their work, completely left me hanging, and forced me to find another way to remedy the problems with their work. Since it was impossible for me to get a hold of him once the issues where revealed only a few weeks after they left my house, I can only imagine how they would respond to warranty issues after several months! It's a shame having to leave such a low rating for this company and this review would have been quite different, had they spent the little bit of extra time to address the issues in my house. But when a company not only fails to deliver what was promised, but also evades me and dodges my calls, it indicates a serious lack of ethics and professionalism and I simply cannot recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear M in Nepean.

My apologies for the unprofessional experience. We pride ourselves in our customer service and quality of work and your review did not go unnoticed. We have taken the time to thoroughly reviewed all details and circumstances related to this contract and have prevented this experience for happening again.

Sincerely,

Andy.