Reviews

10/10

After getting several quotes from other contractors I decided to go with JSPEC. Not only did they provide a proper quote which itemized everything, but it also included their warrantee details and payment requirements (4 other contractors failed to do this or even submit their quote!!). I'm extremely impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of Justin and his crew. Not only were they on time with scheduling, but they were on budget, and did an amazing job. While I removed the bushes/plants from the sides of the deck, they removed the old rotting wooden deck and installed a brand new composite backyard platform deck. Beautiful! I would highly recommend hiring Justin and his team and will definitely reach out to the team again next time I need assistance with roofing/decking. Thanks guys!

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

it was a pleasure to work with you look forward to working with you in future
J spec

7/10

I had to replace my flooring due to some heavy water damage in my rental property. The team at Design Carpet & Hardwood made it very easy for me to select a new flooring (they brought samples directly to my home), outlined the ordering process and installation process, and worked around my schedule. The product selected was a 5" engineered hardwood, with "quiet block" under pad. Unfortunately, due to an error on the project managers side, the delivery was delayed by about 2 weeks. However, once the product was delivered, the team came in and did the install pretty quickly. While the team was easy to chat with and generally friendly, when I noticed some of the new hardwood boards popping/bubbling up from the floor, and asked that the installation be fixed, the manager tried to tell me the popping was due to the product itself being a 'floating floor' where the floor isn't actually nailed or glued to the ground. Doesn't make sense to me why they wouldn't do it in the first place, and the company wasn't willing to help fix the problem. So now I have 2 spots in the home where the hardwood pops up every once in a while.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?

First Review

5/10

My townhouse rental property experienced a catastrophic water leak due to a neighbours hot water tank biting the bullet. Over 500sqft of hardwood flooring was damaged in my property. Gino from Strone was hired to manage the removal of all of the damaged hardwood, move and store my furniture for a few weeks while the new flooring was ordered, placed large drying fans throughout the home to dry the walls and floor, and then acted as the project manager to coordinate the 3rd party flooring company to install the new flooring. There were major miscommunications during the entire 7 week process to get my home back to normal. Gino's drying and removal team were later several hours to start the process, fireplace wasn't inspected as requested, and delivery and installation of the new flooring was delayed by 2 weeks due to an order not being property placed in the system. Overall, I wasn't too pleased with the service and I wouldn't consider leveraging Strone in the future.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
10/10

My wife and I had moved into our new home and the previous owners left behind a bunch of junk in the garage including bags full of garbage, old furniture, renovation material, and odds and ends. I called the got junk guys and Mike and his colleague were quick to come to the home same day (late evening around 8pm) to clean out the garage and haul away the stuff left behind. They were both pretty friendly, easy to chat with, professional, and got the job done quickly. I was impressed!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Jeff!

We're glad Mike and his partner were able to help you out! We'll pass on your compliments to them!

Regards,

Tyler and the 1-800-GOT-JUNK? Toronto Team

10/10

Late at night I could hear scratching noises coming from the heating/ac vent in my master bedroom. I called Kevin who was quickly educated me by phone about the potential issue I was experiencing at home with mice. He then sent over one of his colleagues - Ian. He arrived on time, was super friendly, and very efficient at finding the issue and laying out poison to help eliminate the mice in the home. Within a few days the scratching stopped and I can get a restful sleep now. I would highly recommend these guys and would use them again in the future (but hope that I wont need to).

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I have performed over 50,000 rodent exterminations since 1985. Always the same nothing ever changes from job to job. Approximately 10 years ago. New companies began spreading lies. Under cutters I call them. "We block your holes". Lies. To mislead the public. To sell jobs. Mice and rats cannot be blocked. It's a sad state that top rated companies lie. Constantly. They do it to save money on product and materials. They will never change. The public think they know what to do, misguided in reality. If you want an honest job done providing good value call me 416-896-6883. Kevin. Please don't waste time asking if I can block mice and rats.

10/10

I have a 10 year old washer/dryer combo which has been in relatively in good shape. However one day I noticed the washer lid switch not connecting, which wouldn't start the spin cycle. I called Top Tech Appliance and they sent over Mors who arrived the same day to fix the problem. He was very friendly, quickly fixed the problem, and was done within the hour. Mors was professional, easy to chat with, and willing to show me the steps he took to replace the switch. Highly recommended!

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Jeff for your great review. We appreciate your sincere comments. Customers like yourself are a pleasure to do business with. I truly appreciate your support. We always care about our clients satisfaction.Thanks again for your busy time to write this review. Looking forward to hear from you in the future.

3/10

Southern Cross Plumbing was hired to replace existing Kitec water piping throughout our entire condo complex. The project would take several months to complete to ensure all units were retrofitted with new Uponor pipes. They required 1.5 weeks to complete my unit and during this time I decided to live elsewhere (not required) to give them as much space as they needed to finish the work. During this time frame they were to cut through drywall, remove the old pipes, install new pipes, replace the drywall, re-paint using the paint I provided, and clean up after the install. In addition to this, they were to use floor runners and furniture tarps to eliminate any mess to the rest of the home. While they successfully installed the new pipes, they unfortunately, did not hold up to their end of the bargain in protecting my furniture, floors, or ensuring the home was clean after their project. During the install I did a quick inspection and noticed that tarps or runners were not being used. Drywall dust was everywhere, including leather couches, beds, closets, bathroom and kitchen. When I brought this up to the project manager (Steve) he told me I must have missed them because his crew always uses tarps. Photo evidence shows otherwise. At the end of the project the closet doors were not replaced, hardwood floors were full of boot prints and dried mud/water stains from outside, ceiling air vent was damaged, the furnace did not function properly, and dust still covered my furniture and main living areas. All 21 drywall patches were not painted with the paint I provided (as agreed upon via contact), but painted with a cheap primer. After complaining again to the project manager, they sent someone in to repair the furnace only. I escalated my concerns with the manager/owner Anton who simply stated he didn’t care and his crew was “hired to install the new pipes and not to be house maids cleaning dust up everywhere”. When I expressed to him his crew didn’t use tarps to minimize mess, didn’t clean up after their work, wore wet boots around the house causing more mess, he chuckled stating “we’re plumbers, not maids”. He was extremely unprofessional, unwilling to take any accountability for the actions of his crew or project manager, and refused to work with me to come to a solution. In the end I was required to clean the mess they left behind and repaint the walls. In addition to the above, I’ve learnt from other tenants in the complex that they too have experience similar issues with Anton and his crew, some having a worse experience (i.e. flooding due to washer/dishwasher piping connections not made). While his team did install the new pipes, I would caution hiring Anton due to his unprofessional behaviour and recommend you look elsewhere for your plumbing needs.

Job Price
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I experienced some issues when installing a new Nest Thermostat myself. Nest tech support recommended I chat with Mark at Ice Tech. Mark came to my home same day and found the issue with my heating pump wire connection. He contacted the furnace manufacturer to determine how we could safely rewire the connection to allow use of the nest thermostat. Within an hour or so, everything was up and running. Mark was very friendly, easy to work with, and on time with the scheduled appointment. Highly recommended.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Abraham and his crew were fantastic! Very friendly, fast, efficient, and easy to work with. I would highly recommend Multiple Choice Flooring to friends and family members.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jeff,Thank you so much for such a positive review.it was a pleasure serving and hope to serve you again in the future Best Regards


First Review

10/10

When I had issues with my AC last month, a friend recommended Jason. When I called Jason up, he scheduled an appointment by coordinating with my schedule (which is a huge plus!). I've had some bad experiences with repair guys not showing up on time, however Jason was on time, very friendly, and explained everything to me before starting any work on my AC. Not only did he fix the issue in under an hour, but he also had the parts on the truck to complete the job. I'd highly recommend Jason and his company to fix an AC issues you might have!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
0/10

I purchased a sofa from this company and requested a delivery to my home. The delivery employees were inexperienced and extremely unprofessional. Not only were they 5 hours late, but in the process of trying to make the delivery, they damaged my ceiling and front hall walls. Even after measuring and viewing floor plans with the sales staff, the sofa wouldn't fit through the front door and when I realized it wasn't going to fit, I asked the delivery guys to stop, and return the sofa back to the store. Instead of listening to my request, they wanted to try to make it work and fit it through the door. I applaud them for their efforts. However, In attempting to maneuver the sofa through the front door, it become stuck, and the one employee started kicking the sofa frame to dislodge it from the frame. In doing so, he damaged my walls and ceiling. I continued to ask him to stop and remove the sofa, which he did not listen and he continued to try and push the sofa through the front door into the home. After 25 minutes, he finally gave up and returned the sofa to the store. I called the Manager (Greg) to discuss my concerns with the delivery employees and the damage, and he immediately stopped me, advising me he wasn't going to do anything about the situation, and if I wanted to, I could sue him. He wouldn't allow me to explain the situation or tell him how the delivery employees acted or listen to my instructions to stop the delivery. When I tried calling back, he hung up on me. Avoid this company at all costs.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We experienced a gas leak caused by our aging hot water tank and required an immediate repair. I called a few other Heating & AC repair companies first, but didn't like the service they provided by phone. Then I called Aire Max and was immediately impressed with his customer service and willing to come out to repair the hot water tank. When Max arrived, he explained to me the issue and advised a part needed to be special ordered. A day later he arrived again, on time, completed the repair, and ensured the tank was in working order and repaired to code. He was nice enough to give me a quick lesson in lighting the pilot light too. Overall great guy, very friendly, personable, always on time, and wants to make sure you're pleased with his service. Thanks Max!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks a lot for review and thank you for your comment,hope in future we serve you as well,Max

10/10

These guys were great! I spoke with Chris over the phone to discuss a full hot tub cleaning and service package. He quickly set up an appointment, showed up on time with an assistant, and they went to work immediately. Their cleaning service was fantastic. Nothing was left behind and the hot tub looked as good as new. Chris also performed a few maintenance checks on the hot tub functions to ensure everything was working as it should. Both guys did an excellent job and were in high spirits. I would definitely recommend Chris for any Hot Tub cleaning. He was stellar!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
4/10

Our outdoor hot tub required a new motor and Ajax Pump and Motor were recommended. The repair guy was prompt in coming to replace the motor and get the hot tub working. However, a day or two after he left, the hot tub stopped heating the water. So I asked him to come back and check it out. A few days later, he showed up and replaced the heating element and stated we should give the hot tub at least another 24 hours before the water heated. We gave the hot tub 48hrs and the water only became luke warm. After speaking with him over the phone he said the issue could be the temperature gage, which would cost a few more hundred dollars to repair, but he wasn't sure. At this point, I felt like he was giving me a song and dance as he didn't want to fully investigate what the real issue was, instead he was guessing. The guy was very friendly and was prompt when coming to the home to check out the hot tub, but when it came to talking about why another element broke shortly after installing the motor, or what other issues it could be (instead of fixing what he guessed could be the issue) he was uninterested. He was more concerned with obtaining payment.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
3/10

We had hired Carson Dunlop to complete a home inspection on a property we were planning to purchase. The inspector, Gordon, came out to meet us at the property. He arrived on-time and was in good spirits. He surveyed the outside of the home first and told us to wait inside in the warmth and he’d report back to us once finished. When he came back inside, he walked around the home, inspecting each room, testing toilets, faucets, windows, and basic electrical work. During the in-home inspection he would provide a commentary as to what he suspected could be issues and what he recommended be fixed. As we walked around the home he also took photos of specific areas or interest and concern – which was a nice touch. Following the home inspection, he provided a PDF version of a ‘home manual’ which contained the photos he took, along with a written commentary. The PDF document proved to be invaluable. My one concern with the service provided, however, was the fact that Gordon missed a substantial issue in one of the bathrooms. Shortly after we took possession of the home, we noticed a long time water damage issue in the 2nd floor bathroom which required us to gut the entire bathroom and rebuild. Mold and constant water damage over several years ate away at the inside wall of the shower/tub. The rebuild cost us over $5K. After several back-and-forth discussions with their head office, Carlson and Dunlop concluded they were not at fault, but offered to refund the inspection fee ($586). Although Gordon was very friendly, extremely pleasant to speak with, and had a vast amount of knowledge, I would exercise caution when selecting Carlson & Dunlop as a home inspection agency. After speaking with an insurance company and several other home inspection agencies, I was told the inspector should have caught this water damage issue. Story behind damage: I started to clean the tile when we first moved in and the tiles moved inward into the wall by 1/2 inch. I was able to push an entire tile into the wall and soon after several tiles fell out. The wall had disintegrated behind the tile due to the water damage. Everything had to be gutted. Photos below show some of the work being done on the bathroom, with a finished product after the remodel.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

Out of the blue, our furnace started to make a loud buzzing noise when ever it was turn on to provide heat to the home. We were recommended by our home insurance company to contact Prairie Plumbing to have a service guy come by and check it out. Our call to Prairie Plumbing was promptly answered and the service repairman was scheduled to come to the home the next day. I was impressed there was no long delay to have the issue checked out. Dave, the repair guy, was right on-time. He was fast, efficient, and even took his boots off at the front door. I was impressed at how easy he was to talk to (as some repair guys don’t like to be bothered when they work). Dave figured out what the issue was and mentioned he’d have to order a specific part to get it fixed. It took the plumbing company almost 2 weeks to get the part to fix the furnace – which I didn’t really enjoy. Although, in all fairness, the furnace was working throughout the 2 week period, just very loudly. Dave came after hours to accommodate our work schedule to install the new parts and apologized for the delay. All in all, these guys did a great job and I’d hire them again if we needed service done again.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I had used Road Runners in April 2011 to help with my move from a condo in Toronto to a home in Ajax. They were fantastic (see my other review!). I decided to give them a call this month to help with another ‘moving project’. I had ordered a new treadmill from Costco and was advised the treadmill delivery service was only good to the front door. Given the weight of the product (350lbs) and the size, I needed help to move it into the house and into the basement. I called Road Runners to see if they could help and they were quick to respond and were happy to help. The two guys that came (within minutes of calling their office) were friendly, easy-going, and were very fast! The moved the monstrous treadmill with ease into the basement without any hiccups. Once again Road Runners has delivered amazing service and I will use them again in the future. I highly recommend you give these guys a call. You wont find any better moving service out there!

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks a ton Jeff for your wonderful review. I'm really happy we could assist you with such short notice. Hope your enjoying your treadmill.

All the best!
RoadRunners Moving & Storage

10/10

My wife and I had just purchased a resale home and needed the ducts cleaned and basement carpets cleaned. being non-smokers, we had hoped to get the smell of smoke out of the house quickly. The Med Air team definitely helped! David arrived on time with his team to clean out the ducts. He was very professional, friendly, and easy to chat with. After cleaning the ducts he gave me a few tips on how to keep the ducts clean. The following day David and his team came back to clean the basement carpet. They arrived on time and completed their work within an hour or so. Once again, courteous, friendly, and efficient. The only downside was they forgot to close both basement windows which I didnt figure out until 2 days afterwards. The price was great, the service was excellent, and I would highly recommend Med Air (just remember to check your basement windows!).

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

My wife and I had some extremely tight deadlines and budget constraints for our flooring project (we just purchased a home and needed to have the floors redone before moving in - a 2 day window). Mike from Atex Flooring was amazing! From the moment we contacted him he was always quick to respond (via phone or email) and was extremely professional, knowledgable, and of course helpful. He helped pick out the best carpet flooring for our needs, provided an in-house quote the same day and even couriered us flooring samples when we couldnt get to the store in time. Top notch! The installation was on time and on budget. Installers were friendly, professional, and easy to chat with. I couldn't ask for anything more! I highly recommend Atex Flooring for anyones flooring needs. :)

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

My wife and I moved from a 1bdrm condo in Toronto to a home out in Ajax and used RoadRunners for the first time. These guys were great! We had a bit of a snag in the beginning with the condo elevators - but these guys were quick to come up with an idea on how to get moving quickly instead of waiting around waiting for elevators. Very professional, tolerant, and a great sense of humour. All of our items were handled with care, and were transported to Ajax without any damage. I highly recommend RoadRunners for any future move! Kudos to the RR Team!

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jeff. we try to stay busy whatever the situation, in order to get the move finished as quick as possible.