We've purchased stone from Stone Selex in the past and been happy with the selection available. For our latest project we chose to have Stone Selex do the installation as well. We were looked after very well from the start thanks to Andrea, who took the time to really help us weight our options and provided insight into our ideas given her experience with the actual product versus what we see in the showroom. We ended up changing our mind based on Andrea's guidance and couldn't be happier with the end result. The installation team (Jack and Gregory) were great to work with. They showed up on time and finished on time. They looked after our home with care as if it were their own and were very open and responsive to communication throughout the installation process. I would highly recommend Stone Selex and will definitely be hiring them again in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day Jay in Toronto
We are happy that you had a great experience with your fireplace stone installation. We are always pleased to hear from our clients and we thank you for sharing. We trust that you will enjoy your fireplace stone installation for years to come. We look forward to seeing you for your next stone installation project.
All the best
Stone Selex Design


The contractor disappeared for two months half-way through the job with last minute notice. Before he left, he asked me to drive about an hour from town to go pick up materials for him. The first half of the ceiling was installed with the most minimal care. The final portion that was installed 2.5 months later because his partner “didn’t want to do it”. The final result is so bad I’ve taken it out and hired someone else to redo it. Complete disregard for our space, quality of work and communication. Overall, the most unprofessional and unresponsive contractor I’ve ever hired. The contractor spent half his time complaining to me about how awful it was installing our basement ceiling and to not tell anyone he did it because he doesn’t want anyone else to know. Razor blades and garbage were left around our home with pets and small children around. The contractor left saying “sorry about the mess despite me leaving a broom and a vacuum for him! He did ensure that I sent him an Interac email transfer before leaving the job site h​owever, despite agreeing to cheque or credit card payment before beginning the job. The contractor stated he was able to install a nicer trim over the t-bar system called StyleStix on our request. When he showed up to install it, he mentioned he didn’t know how it worked, then asked for more money above the quoted price to finish the installation. At the end of the job he then recommended another system we could have used that he was familiar with and offered a nicer finish, but he never suggested it to us as an alternative option which we mentioned we were open to from the start! I would not recommend this contractor under any circumstance. Ultimately cost us a load of time and money for a partially finished product I could have done better myself.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your opinions but you left out so much information
1. Check your email history I suggested different materials( 2 more different options) at the beginning.
2.I had to wait over 2 months for the special order material from Home Hardware to arrive and all along you were informed about the delay.
3.You paid $150(tax included) extra for the extra day labour.
4.Before I left you inspected the work and you were a happy costumer .
I don`t know what happened later on .I was surprised about the negative review.