Reviews

10/10

I recently had a problem with my Samsung washing machine as it had issues draining. I called the top appliance companies on Homestars to get a sense of who could do it and at what price. As it was approaching Christmas, I wasn't sure who would get back to me and when. Atiar at High Tech was the first and only person to reply indicating he could help. He came the very next day, took apart the washing machine, and determined it was a drain pump issue, saying he was 100% sure. He actually had the replacement drain pump right in his car, and installed the new one on the spot. He promised if it still didn't work, he would make sure I was taken care of. He tested it right there with one quick cycle, and it worked. Since then, we haven't had an issue and the washing machine works great. Again, he was the ONLY person to get back to me before the holidays and came the next day and fixed it on the spot. He was also pleasant to deal with. Amazing experience and I would absolutely recommend Atiar and High Tech for appliance repair.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi
Thank you so much for your writing a great review

10/10

Last week we were shocked to see a bat flying around our basement area, but were fortunate to chase it outside through our front door. After some research, we became nervous there was a colony living in our attic. Based on Homestars reviews, we decided to call SOS to have a look and get advice. Sherwin was able to come to our house the next day and did a full look through our attic and the exterior of the house to see where it may have come in. Fortunately, there were no additional bats in the attic, and he provided a quote to "bat proof" the exterior but said it was totally up to us if we wanted to do it now or wait until there was another problem since this had never happened before and may just be a fluke. He never pressured us to do the additional work and came across as very honest and sincere. He also took the time to show us the potential entry points and explained why it was likely a bat and not a bird, etc. He came across as highly knowledgeable, but also ethical in the way he would have treated any potential wildlife. Most importantly, he was easy to deal with and never tried to upsell us at all. We would absolutely call him again if we need additional work done to the house or for any other wildlife issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We're glad to hear that Sean, we're always more than happy to help you with any situation you may have in the future. Thank you for the great review!

10/10

Valentin at Strong Plumbing is truly one of a kind. We had a problem in our master shower with what looked like an old faucet system that only put out hot water. Various handy-people came in and said they didn't recognize the hardware, and so we'd probably have to replace the faucet system which would practically be an entirely new shower. We also had a smaller problem with another shower. Having found Valentin on Homestars, I texted him and he said to send him a picture of the hardware. He texted back quickly and said I could find the parts I need at Roman Bath Centre, and who to call. That person got me the parts and Valentin installed it, working great. He also said to call Riobel for our second shower since not carried at Roman, and I got the necessary parts from them under warranty. Valentin then fixed both showers, and in the meantime gave us tips on what else we could fix around the house, but never once pressured us to call him for the additional work. He just gave some tips and said what to watch out for, and where we could fix it ourselves. He is extremely trustworthy and honest, and we'd call him again for any plumbing needs. The reviews are all on point, and we'd highly recommend him too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for posting this review for us, Valentin

10/10

We had a great experience with Maple Window & Eaves Cleaning. We got a referral from a family member for fairly priced eavestrough cleaning services and were happy to see the outstanding Homestars reviews. Anna, the office manager, provided a quote promptly and the company was relatively flexible in booking us a slot after most of the leaves had fallen. We also dealt with the President, Yitzie, who was very responsive to questions by email. They also kindly fixed a couple of our downspouts which had issues. We will use them again and recommend them to anyone as an honest, reliable service provider.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for recognizing! I appreciate you business. Yitzie

10/10

I had an absolutely outstanding experience with Husky. Earlier this month, on the hottest weekend of the year (humidex of 45), a terrible coincidence occurred when our AC unit stopped working on Saturday of the Canada Day weekend. That night, by pure chance, we saw a social media recommendation for Husky, saying to give them a try. We called them Saturday night at 10 pm and someone picked up (they have 24/7 service), and they said they could send someone over the following morning (Sunday, July 1 - Canada Day). We couldn't believe our luck. The technician, Dave, who came quickly evaluated the issue (broken capacitor) and replaced it on the spot. AC worked right away. Total cost was under $300 for part and labour, which given it was provided on a holiday on short notice, was more than a fair price. Overall, I would highly recommend Husky for HVAC purposes. They were friendly, responsive and quick. Really outstanding.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sean, thank you so much for the great review. Dave has been notified of how happy you are. Thanks for choosing Husky for your service requirements. Victoria and the Husky Team.

0/10

Professional Roofers.com (PR) is a highly unethical company that we would not recommend anyone do business with. They charged my wife and me $480 in advance, and despite performing no services, they only refunded half the amount. Because of their shady business practices, we submitted a formal complaint directly to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). The summary of our complaint is that PR charged us in advance, lost our record when asked about cancelling, then told us cancelling should be fine, and finally sent workers anyway after we had hired an alternate roofer (because they could do a permanent fix that day, instead of only a temporary fix by PR). We are reasonable people – we called PR twice to ask about cancelling hours before they showed up and if they had told us no, that would have been fine. Only after they told us cancelling should be no problem did we hire another roofer. PR then said because workers showed up (despite leaving moments later without having done work), they would only refund half our payment. They then wouldn’t let us talk to a manager and threatened us not to call back or they would withhold the whole payment! It makes obvious their offers to “come visit our office at any time” are totally disingenuous. We never agreed to this “settlement” and subsequently filed a formal complaint with the BBB given they withheld half our payment. PR was unable to respond to any of the issues we raised, instead insisting that they followed the process in their “repair service agreement”. Here’s the problem – there WAS NO REPAIR SERVICE AGREEMENT. We never signed anything nor agreed to any such process or policy, and naturally PR was unable to provide evidence of any agreement. Perhaps just as importantly, this whole dispute revealed a lot about PR. You can tell a lot about a company’s values by the way they deal with unhappy customers. Just look at their responses to the recent negative Homestars reviews. Every response is a combination of denials (“this doesn’t sound anything like us”), accusations (“provide truthful feedback and not falsehoods”) and general condescension (“this user has failed to understand the terms and conditions”). Think about whether this is the kind of company you would want to hire: one where if a dispute arises, they will never make it right because in their mind, the customer is always wrong. During our interactions through the BBB, PR refused to accept any responsibility but could never actually explain why it behaved the way it did, including refusing to let us speak with a manager and threatening us not to call back. We did NOT accept their response to the complaint, and it is now on their BBB record (along with two other recent complaints). We expect their response to this review to be more of the same. Hopefully, this review sheds light on the type of company they are. Buyer beware.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Professional Roofers appreciates and takes all reviews from our customers with care. We have reviewed and investigated this situation and determined that this is not an honest review. Regardless, we always prefer to solve this and find a solution for both parties. If you wish to discuss this matter please contact the office

10/10

My wife and I recently hired ColourWorks Painting to repaint our house before we moved in. Dee Potter was easy to deal with from the beginning, having spent a good half hour on the phone just explaining their process and answering my many questions. Dee then came over and did a full assessment of the home for a quote. Most impressive was his honesty - we toyed with doing the trims around the house (beyond the walls), but he just told us that was unnecessary and wouldn't improve the look significantly, despite it creating much more billable work. We did find some imperfections in the work afterward, as would be expected in a job of this size, but Cameron, the lead painter on the project, came back multiple times to correct everything and ensure we were happy at no extra cost. He also was happy to do additional stuff that was not necessarily within the scope of the original job (like caulked some gaps in our shower and replaced light switch plates for us) at a cost of time and materials. They really just want you to be happy at the end of the day. We're doing a small job in our condo for sale and using ColourWorks too. Overall, we'd recommend using Dee and the team for any paint job, large or small.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great to hear, Sean. Thank you so much for your feedback, and we look forward to working with you again! :D

10/10

I recently engaged Marian and Toronto Pro for a move and was extremely happy overall. The planning was a breeze as Marian was easily accessible and very easy to deal with. On the day of, there were 3 guys, one of which was Marian. Marian and one of his guys were really great, so friendly and willing to do anything with a smile. One cabinet has glass inserts wrapped up and while some movers might just leave them next to the cabinet, Marian proactively offered to put them in for us. If I had one criticism, it would be that the third guy was the phone on a personal matter while on the job (had it on speaker). He still moved stuff with no real issues, but I found that not so great. Overall, I still really enjoyed having these guys on the job and would use again for sure.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Sean and we appreciate your feedback!
Regards,

Toronto Pro Moving