Reviews

10/10

Alex Fernandes is a true craftsperson. He would not start the job on our front porch until the weather was exactly right so that the flagstone patio and steps he was installing (with accompanying pillars) would set properly. He first removed old tile (hard to do) from the cement floor of the porch before starting the tile work. He bought carefully matched batches of stone and matched the brickwork to our 100 yr old house exactly. He has since been back once to check his work and says he will be back periodically to do so.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

This was one of the most professional jobs we've had done on our 100 yr old house. Not only was the job done quickly, it was supervised throughout by the owner, Serge Kanev. When we had a slight problem shortly after the installation 4 or 5 years ago, he was back in a flash to fix it. His advice recently on a job was also excellent. We have waited to review the work. We wanted to see how the work stood up to winter and assault by tree mess and we have not been disappointed. There is no leakage and the drainage is perfect.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

This is our second year using Spring Home to add suctless Mitsubishi heat pump/AC units to our house (otherwise heated with radiators). Cy was our sales person and helped us choose units that not only suit our needs but help us to heat areas not reached with our rads. The installation team included one person who was here last year, a sign that employees are loyal and well treated. Further, there was absolutely no mess left anywhere even though they drilled through walls and worked on the panels in the basement. The equipment works perfectly - we finally have a kitchen and family room we can be in during the summer! The company clearly knows a lot about the brand they install. We also have two old AC split systems by Mitsubishi - they have been running every summer since 2002.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good Morning John and Maria,
Thank yo for trusting in us to come and add a second unit in your home and we are happy that the kitchen and family room are now cool. I will be sure to pass on the great feedback to Cy and the installers. Was truly our pleasure and we look forward to doing business again in the future.

10/10

We primarily needed a cooling system for our 3rd floor apartment with one window AC. However, the apartment has only has a few radiators on our system and the house is 100 years old so the insulation isn't great. We've had to keep our (single) thermostat at a far higher temperature than we needed in the house AND our electricity bills when the AC was on were outrageous. Spring Home quoted on HVAC systems through the wall with minimum damage. They used two compressors outside, both with extra capacity. One smaller heater-AC unit is in a bedroom and the other is in the hallway open to the rest of the floor. The total cost was $5000 less than the next estimate, required less interior disruption and is much more energy efficient that a window AC. The new system does the whole unit. The technicians spend 9 hours at our house. The salesperson was knowledgeable as were the technicians who carefully explained the operation of the units to us (at 9 pm).

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi John and Maria,
Thank you for all the kind words. We will be sure to pass this along to the rest of the team here at Spring Home. We look forward to doing business with you many years to come. All of us at Spring Home wish you and your family a Happy Holiday and all the best in the New Year!

10/10

Danny's vacuum started by supplying us with filters for our three vacuums. We have a big house and our cleaners need vacuums on every floor. However, while in the shop we discovered that serviced central vacs. Ours hasn't worked since 2004 or so. Danny's came and first replaced a switch. When the vac came on suddenly in the night, we went outside to the garage and turned it off and called back in the morning. Danny's came by the next day and spent several hours testing each outlet. They finally found the problem (a short in one of the wall lines), and fixed it. We may have future problems and we may have to pay more but given the quality of the service we can insure that it will be money well spend because of the diligence of the employees.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We ordered a custom made red oak door in the Arts & Crafts style of our house with two glass side lights. We visited the showroom and factory to see how the door was constructed. We were impressed with the efficiency of the plant and the beauty of the products. Our door was installed by the company on time and quickly but efficiently. The wood matches the trim in our house EXACTLY. The insulation provided is great and you can't even hear someone who is outside the door looking at you through the sidelights. This is true craftmanship and worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

John & Maria, Thank you for your support and your very nice review.

The team at Amberwood enjoyed building your new door system and they took great pleasure in how well it fit into your beautiful Home.

Please enjoy it for many years!

Sincerly,
Colin Fraser

10/10

We had 5 area carpets cleaned two large and three small. The carpets were picked up on time. We had a small problem with the delivery and I phoned for clarification. So Clean quickly rectified the problem and gave us a further discount to make up for the confusion. The carpets are beautiful.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the feedback and the business. We appreciate it so much and I am so glad that we were able to get everything sort it out right the way.

We look forward to serving you again in the future

Adel Majd

0/10

We have ductless air conditioners one of which had a faulty pump and a lost remote. We called Dupont who were supposed to know how to deal with our brand. The worker came with the required remote but didn't realize it needed batteries so went to a nearby store to buy them. He also didn't realize that one remote would work on all identical units. He looked at the ACs and said the filters needed cleaning - he handed them to me and I washed them. He told my husband to wash the condensing units outside. He didn't touch the pumps at all. He charged $200 for the remote and $99 for the 'service' call. When I called (3 times) to ask for further service (the $99 was supposed to be for 3 months) the company was very polite but never called back. I got someone else to replace the pump and do the required maintenance at considerable expense (this worker told me that the pump maintenance was a regular part of a service call).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This customer called us because she lost her remote control for her ductless air conditoner. The ductless air conditioner will not work without the remote. We special ordered the remote for her and set up an appointment to deliver the remote and test the unit. The technician did not have batteries with him and asked the customer if they could provide them to set up the remote with the ductless air conditioner to allow for proper testing. Once the unit was set up with the new remote, the technician advised the customer that the unit required cleaning due to a lack of maintenance. He advised and showed the customer how to clean the filters on the unit as this should be done on a regular basis. When the service call was booked with us, this customer did not mention to us that they required maintenance of any sort. Our technician was kind enough to point out the dirty filters and show them how to maintain their unit. We do not charge service calls for maintenance, only for repairs. This customer wanted the service call charge to go towards a maintenance of the unit which we do not charge for. Her pump ultimately failed due to lack of maintenance and we tried to help her understand how to do that herself. Servicing the pump is part of the maintenance service but we were not asked to perform the maintenenace on the unit when the service call was booked. The technician sent out was a repair technician who carries parts and tools for repairs not a maintenance technician who carries cleaning tools and cleaners. Our maintenance charges are flat rate without a service charge. If the remote was a problem and she called us again for service, the service call charge would not be charged to this customer because she has already paid for it. I can explain this to you over the phone if you wish to discuss the matter further. Mike Logozzo 416-532-2859.

10/10

Raccoons were tearing up our deck and sapling trees threatened three houses telephone lines. MacDonald forestry came to give a free estimate and within a week had completed the job. Not a branch or wood chip remained. Our neighbours are happy and we are pleased with the efficiency of the service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for posting a review on our service. Hope to hear from you again!

Regards,

Steve McDonald