Reviews

10/10

Thrilled with our full glass shower enclosure from Shower Deluxe. Follow up on the status of the custom glass was great. Installation was very well done and extremely clean. Have zero complaints. Now I want to change the other bathrooms!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much, Joanne!
We're very happy that you are pleased with your new shower enclosure -- enjoy your new bathroom!

0/10

Peter of TCF Cement Finishers came to our house to level out our basement floor with cement. He said it would be at most a 2 day job. The cost would be $1,500. He requested a deposit of $750 for material, and given that we knew how much leveling cement he would need, we agreed, but paid via electronic payment so we would have a record of payment. Peter did not show up the first day he was supposed to, with an excuse that his car broke down. But he did ask for another $250 deposit, as he required more material, and he would be showing up the next day. The next day he did not show up again, with another excuse. Then he stopped answering any calls/texts/emails, until I texted that I would be contacted the Ministry of Consumer Affairs and filing a complaint. At that point, I received an immediate text back from his girlfriend, telling me that Peter was in jail, and would be for 3 weeks, and he was very sorry, and would be in touch as soon as he was home. I contacted Peter again when I knew he would have been released, and he assured me that he would drop by our house with a refund of our deposit. I waited all day, in the hopes that he would actually honour his word. Of course, I should have known better. He did not show up. Did not call, and now does not bother to answer any emails, texts or phone calls. I have filed a complaint with the Ministry of Consumer Affairs. I really wish I had seen the other review before engaging this contractor. I hope that this review can help some other poor homeowner. Run far away from this person. He will take your money and disappear!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We have used Excel Shades in two of our homes with excellent results. We had California shutters installed at our house in Ajax about 5 or 6 years ago. Then when we moved 2 years ago we called them back to have the shutters put in our new house as well. The price and quality of the shutters are very good, and we were pleased with the installation which was very professional. All the blinds look great. When one of our blinds was damaged a few weeks ago, they looked after us in a speedy manner and the shutter looks like new again. Gabriel and Carmella make a great team. Thank you Excel.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joanne,
Thank you for your repeat business and for taking the time to write your review. We're always happy to hear when our long time customers are pleased with our service and product and years later continue do business with us. We're glad that we continue to live up to your expectations. All the best! Carmela and Gabriel


First Review

10/10

I cannot say enough good things about this company. Tom is a true professional, and his landscaping skills & design are amazing. We did not have to do anything, which in the contracting world is saying a lot. We have learned during all of our renovations that we need to be on every contractor to ensure that they will finish this part, or that part, or even to ask how they will be leaving the site at the end of the job. Not so with Elephant/Tom. The work was extremely clean, and the job was more than we could have hoped for. Tom started by providing a hand drawn design, which was great for visualizing the end result. The actual finished interlock looks even better than the drawn design. Have had so many neighbours comment, and ask for Tom's number. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful?
1/10

This was for a front porch extension. This was being built on an existing pad, with an existing roof overhang. No structural work. We started this project in Nov'13, and it was supposed to be done before the winter set in. While the beginning stages (framing, electrical) happened quite quickly, the rest of the project got stalled, with very little to no communication from Jason. Taper & mudder would not show up, and we wouldn't receive a call, text or an email. Nothing telling us what was happening with the project. We would send texts & emails & leave voice mails, but our project would just sit there for 1 week without any progress. Finally, the winter showed up, and we were told by Jason that he would not be able to put on the external stone, or paint the outside as it was too cold, but that he would return in the spring. It is now summer. We have been calling & texting. We did receive a call from Jason that he would arrive on Weds, and that the rest of the work would take 2 days, and would be finished by the weekend. That was 3 weeks ago, and we have had no other communication since. We have again attempted to email, text, leave messages, and have heard nothing. Is this what all contractors are like? Terrible service, terrible communication, not bad work...what was actually finished.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible!! Run as far away as you can from this guy. Had pot lights put in our new kitchen renovation as well as our living room. Also changed our electrical panel from 100A to 200A at the same time. Paid for an ESA inspection, just to be safe. Thank God we did. This joker failed ESA "3" times! He put pot lights into the ceiling of our bungalow without using the proper insulated boxes. As he told the ESA inspector...it was fine because after all he pushed the insulation away from each pot light, prior to installation. Inspector was so incredulous, he actually shouted at Rahim, "You are a licensed electrician, right?" We are now into the summer, only to find that our A/C unit is not working, as he hooked that up incorrectly. A/C unit is not on it's own breaker, and is not even labeled on the new electrical panel. We have called out a new electrician to fix the problem, as we wouldn't call this guy back even if he paid us. New electrician says the panel is a complete mess, and we should warn everyone we can about this so called "master" electrician. He was not the cheapest quote, and was not the most expensive. The reason that we went with him, was because he had been recommended to us.

Was this review helpful?
Bml
10/10

If I could give 11 stars, I would! Bohdan assembled & installed our very large Ikea kitchen. His work was nothing short of outstanding. Bohdan is very meticulous, and made cost saving suggestions to us throughout the install, saving us quite a bit of money on cabinets/trim that were not required, even though we'd spent so much time with the Ikea planners. Ikea planners sold us so many extra panels for "customization". Bohdan worked out ways of trimming out the cabinets by using the least amount of material, while still maintaining the highest custom look. This guy knows Ikea...how it fits together...how it will look in the end. The kitchen was always very clean at the end of each day, and all the garbage was neatly stacked, and even moved out to our garage. I would highly recommend him to my friends & family without hesitation. I wish the rest of the subs working on our house were half as good as Bohdan!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had our roof replaced on our 2-story house by Red Dog Roofing. The quote provided was very competitive, and the work was very well done. Workers were courteous, and clean up was exceptional. No nails were left behind for our 3 year old to find later. All in all we were very impressed, and have since recommended Red Dog Roofing to our friends and neighbours!

Was this review helpful?