Reviews

0/10

Mike quoted the job and made me wait a month to do it, there were many excuses every week but we waited for him and long story short, he didn't do the job, he dropped off someone else to do it and claimed that person was a Mason. The job is terrible! It looks horrible! Unfortunately, this is a 50 foot long by 4 inches wide step to our deck which has lights and a return.... The step was gorgeous before he came, it was newly pored concrete and I should have left it this way but it had a few bubbles and I just wanted to make it a touch better.... Now, with my poor judgement and Mike's awful parging. We will have to get all of this grinded down and done again. I asked Mike to come and try to fix it but he is not answering my e-mails. We paid $1000 when all the other quotes were less, we figured that with his positive ratings and his high price, we were going to get something nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Let's start off with saying Tanya hated what was previously there,that contractor refused to work for her anymore and left,she said she would pay me with what she owed him still as she hadn't paid him..The whole time there she would pull me aside countless times to degrade the work other contractors did asking my opinion as she loved my work and asking if I knew anyone who could powerwash,she took down my recomendation. She has given 2 reviews on Homestars at the date of this review despite the countless contractors she has used giving both a Zero.By the looks of that companys response she did the same as she is doing here,inventing information with the sole purpose to hurt there business. It is unfortunate that Homestars allows blatant lies from that one out of 100 people we all hope to avoid in out lives and has the sole intention of ruining the persons business,writing and inventing whatever may do the trick.

I spoke to the husband originally to go do the quote,described the parging,he seemed reasonable.I described what parging was further described it to the wife in a lengthy emailing telling her there was a sponge finish.When the work was started I did just that a sponge finish which was agreed upon and the husband thought it looked amazing...he was later shocked when I said his wife didn't like it when she arrived.The wife than comes home and is not happy after the work is half done.I mentioned that it would be a sponge finish in the previous emails.She said"Oh well I don't know what that is"fair enough,but she could have asked me for more info or Googled it.As my goal is to please all customers,I tried doing something else for her with a different finish,she said she loved it and let me continue.Only near the end saying she didn't want the last few feet done and deciding to deduct $100's of dollars.The final price was also not $1000.00 dollars this is also untrue.

She says there were way too many excuses and took too long,truth is she cancelled when I was going to do it on an earlier weekend and I had to rebook here.I than showed up like I said.She says I dropped off someone else to do it.I am the owner of the company and do some work myself but not all.I never told her myself the owner would personally do it and dropped off a worker going back about 5 times and staying for hours to check in and doing some myself,she doesn't mention this incidentally.The person actually is a Mason.This same person did the work on the previous parging testimonials on here which were unassisted by me and got 10s.They loved it.They had some clue what parging was.Tanya apparently didn't,even though explained it in a detail email to her numerous times and following up to ask if she had any question they were none.Not even asking about the finish.

She says she emailed me to come fix it and was not answering my emails.This is totally invented and untrue .I wrote her a long email after the job was done to reply to her one day after the job was done on the 19th,on the 20th she replied,and on the very next day she wrote this review.I have contacted Homestars regarding this.She says the step was gorgeous before she came,she told me she hated it.She said she paid $1000 dollars,this is also not true.She actually ended up deducting $200.

I spent a total of 18 hrs on this job,includes quote,emails,back and forth etc in all,materials and had a worker there and was under the $1000.00 she said I charged,again invented.Being a smaller company I am able to be more reasonable as my overhead is lower.I dealt with her husband who seemed reasonable and nice,emailed them what I would do,(a sponge finish)did a sponge finish which everyone of my customers in 18 years has loved.The husband loved it.Than she comes home,had a totally different concept,had apparently no idea even what parging was,is not happy.Doesn't want it finished.Takes off a random amount of money,than comes on here and invents things with the intention of hurting my business.Luckily for me 99% of the time my customers are amazing,they love my work,most of my work is referrals and I leave a job happy knowing they love the work.It is unfortunate we cannot post this persons name here so other contractors would have the chance to avoid this person.

0/10

We hired Kourtis Flooring when we purchased our new house a few months ago. Danny and Santo came and quoted like many other floor guy's. We found them to be very nice, professional and they came recommended to us and they gave us a good quote. When the day came to start the work, the crew was professional, clean, hard working... The following day, Danny who did not come on site, called to let me know that he had initially forgotten to quote 2 rooms and that he was now charging us an additional $2000 on top of the $11 000 they had initially quoted. I asked how he could have missed 800 square feet of a house when the entire house except for the basement needed to be sanded and his answer was simply that he had not calculated it and wanted an additional $2000 to do the work and a deposit of $5000 to continue. I felt hostage to the situation and told him I needed to talk to my husband. Within 10 minutes, he pulled all of his men and their equipment out of our house and left. We were left with no floors done and a deposit we would never see again. We find their behavior highly unprofessional and we would never hire them again. We are now in the middle of our renovation with painters on hold and other trades on hold for the floors and I am now forced to try and find other floor guy's... an additional stress I could have done without.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Homestars readers. I am compelled to break my silence and reply to this review as I cannot permit 40 years of serving the GTA, over 2 generation and a track record of thousands of delighted customers to be marred by one scathing review. while it would take pages of writing to provide the full picture from my perspective, i will simply state facts as i recall them: jan 2010, we were invited and provided a quote to refinish existing EXPOSED hardwood and stairs. there was carpet contractor on hand to measure for carpet- two rooms on second floor had carpet and my impression was that would be replacement with new carpet- i was not advised otherwise. our quote was subsequently approved, signed and $1,000 upon acceptance was paid. directly beside client's signature, payment terms- clearly and plainly indicated another $5,000 upon commencement and balance upon completion. feb 2010, an hour + visit to our showroom to select stain samples- no selection was ultimately made. start date was pushed back by client approx 3 times due to delays and problems with trades. On day of commencement, my staff contacted me to indicate that 2 additional rooms- that were previously carpeted had the carpet removed and was now in scope of work. Also, $5,000 owing upon commencement was not provided. On day 2 of sanding, i contacted the client and enquired why $5,000 was not paid, indicated that stain must be selected before any more sanding can occur and revised contract adding the additonal 480 sq ft of refinishing for the 2 extra rooms at the same rate of $3.50/ft for resanding/staining and refinishing of existing prefinished floor $1,680.00 would need to be signed. The client was resistant to pay for the additional 2 rooms, and arbitrary decided she would not pay the $5,000 owing as per the contract and pay a lesser amount. At that time, i instructed my staff to stop working (and of course take our equipment with us as we cannot leave $12,000 of sanding equipment in a home with other trades etc. I advised the client, santo would return in the afternoon to a) work with client to finally pick the stain colour needed to proceed, b) sign the revised contract providing for the addition of the 2 extra rooms and c) to obtain the $5,000 payment that was due upon commencement as per the contract signed in january. I indicated that our staff could return the next morning and we would still finish the work within the one week alotted in not ahead of schedule. the client's reply was we were not to return and they would get another floor contractor. i agreed that would be best. i explained to what level of sanding the 2nd floor was completed. i provided important information as to what to look for and insist upon with a new contractor and also offered to review any other quote and provide feedback etc all complimentary. No requeste was ever made for the return of the $1,000 deposit as i feel the clients recognized that we had spent approx $1,800 in labour and materials. i wish the client all the best with their reno. i know she's been stressed throughout the process and has had some bad luck with others but we sand approx 200 floors per year and have for decades and i cannot be expected to add 500 ft of work at no cost and cannot have our contract and payment terms ignored and new terms dictated after we've commenced. this is my only reply and will not reply again. Best Regards, Danny G. Kourtis, President. KOURTIS FLOORING LTD.