Reviews

9/10

I hired What A View to come out and clean the windows and gutters on our new house after we moved in in December. The team showed up on time, was very friendly, and did a good job on the accessible windows, and I assume the gutters too (obviously I can't see to check). They also caulked a leaky seam for us, which has so far held up despite them caulking it in cooler weather.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you glad you were happy with the service
If you email me we might still have the photos from the eaves trough's on file.

9/10

I had hired Superior to clean the ducts in our townhouse 4 years ago and happily hired them again when we moved into our new house. The morning they came, I had actually missed them (didn't hear them at the door), but the company was very understanding and the team came back to our house after they had finished their other jobs, which I was very happy about as it was December and I wouldn't have been able to re-book for the season. Eric and Nestor were very friendly, explained everything and were very honest. I continue to be satisfied with Superior's work and would hire them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Melanie, We really appreciate your time in writing in a review. Sharing your experience with us helps potential future customers get a real sense of the type of company we are. I am glad that we were able to return to your home later in the day to finish your appointment .Sometimes that may be difficult if they move on from your city, but in your case it was meant to be. I hope you enjoyed your winter and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a great day.

10/10

We were moving from a 3 bedroom townhouse to a 3 bedroom house, and we ordered 40 City Boxes and it really helped with our move. They were easy to pack, and easy to stack. They made it very easy for our movers to move our belongings, which greatly cut down on the amount of time we had to pay our movers for. I found they were able to hold items that we would otherwise have left as loose items for our movers to move. We also had some items packed in small boxes, and we were able to combine 2-3 small boxes into 1 City Box, which also cut down on the number of boxes we had. Also, Andrew was very friendly and explained everything to us. He was a pleasure to deal with. We'd happily use City Boxes again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

.

2/10

I hired S&S Cleaning for a post-renovation cleaning of my mother's house. There was a lot of drywall work done, the house was very dusty, and it hadn't been properly cleaned in a while so I knew it would be a big job. Unfortunately, I couldn't hire my own regular cleaners because they don't work outside of Toronto, and my mom's house is in Mississauga. I spoke with Sophie at S&S and I accepted that their cost would be $40/hour and she'd send 2 cleaners. She estimated about 6 hours for the 2700 sq ft (including basement) house. She encouraged me to go check on the cleaning towards to end of the 6 hours, but when I arrived at the house I was very surprised to see that after 6 hours with 2 cleaners, only the top floor of the house had been cleaned, whuch was the least dirtiest floor. Logic would indicate that this was now a 3-day job, as the main floor and the basement still needed to be done. At the time, the cleaners were working on removing the stuck-on shelf paper from the kitchen cupboards, which I found totally unnecessary. Long story short, the cleaners had to come back the next day, and now had to rush to finish the rest of the job in a reasonable time, compromising quality. I have very clearly communicated to Sophie that I am dissatisfied with the job because: 1. Unnecessary things were done which cost extra time and money, like removing stuck-on shelf paper. 2. Way too much time was spent on one floor. I understand the need for quality cleaning, but there needs to be a balance so it doesn't suddenly become a multi-day job. 3. The cleaners didn't always put items and furniture back where they found them. 4. When we moved some furniture back, the floor was dirty underneath. 5. Some items weren't cleaned - the front door rug was just rolled up and put away without vacuuming, and the front of the bar fridge wasn't cleaned. 6. They don't accept credit cards, and personally I found Sophie to be very pushy when it comes to payment. When contractors invoice me, typically they're not expecting me to pay within hours of service being complete. If they want immediate payment, then accept credit cards. Again, I have been very clear about this to Sophie. I appreciate her trying to work with me on this and she did offer to send someone back the next day to redo the areas, however I don't have time for that as the house is being staged for sale. I expected a complete job done on the day I hired them for and it wasn't done. As such, I would not use S&S again or recommend them to anyone.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

This was the 2nd job that Spruce Painting has done for us. We were so satisfied with their work on our staircases that we hired them to paint my mom's house top to bottom. Paul and team showed up on time, were a pleasure to deal with, and did a clean and professional job. I would definitely recommend and would hire them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Melanie! We appreciate the repeat business and look forward to continuing to provide you with your painting needs.

10/10

George did an excellent job installing carpet on our staircases. He showed up on time and was personable and professional. We'd definitely hire him again if we need carpet installed in future.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Paul and his team did a great job on our staircase and powder room. Paul came directly to our home to provide a quote. On the day the work was to be done, their team showed up on time and worked quickly and carefully, doing a great job on our walls and cleaning up afterwards. I would definitely consider hiring Paul and team again if we have a future need for painters.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Melanie, we would be happy to work with you again anytime!

10/10

We needed somewhere to our belongings while we prepared to move. We got a great deal on an upper lever storage locker, $25 and all we had to do was carry our stuff up some metal stairs. We ended up needing our locker for longer than we thought, but even when our deal expired the locker was only $40. The locker was large enough to hold a small bedroom and dry and well lit. The people in the front office are also super nice and it's quite easy to get in and out. We ended up using our locker for almost a year. However I highly recommend you think twice before storing your stuff anywhere. If you can do without it you probably don't need it. Just throw things out unless they're high value goods. Once we moved and unpacked I threw out almost everything we had stored in our locker!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We wanted an alarm system for peace of mind since my husband leaves very early for work and I'm left alone sleeping in the house for several hours before I need to get up for work. Danson did our consultation. He listened to our concerns without pushing unnecessary add-ons on us. We have a multilevel townhome (4) so we got 2 door sensors, and 2 motion detectors on the floors in between to avoid adding a bunch of window sensors. The installation cost was waived for us. I forgot the name of the gentleman that did our installation but he was also very nice and professional, and gave us a say in where things like the keypad and alarm were placed. The system and monitoring are a great value and Grand Alarm already came recommended to us. I'd highly recommend them to others.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We hired Superior to clean the ducts of our 12 yo townhome. We had recently moved in and were concerned about our air quality since the previous owners had a particularly long-haired cat whose fur was in every inch of the house. We had also gotten hardwood flooring installed which had generated a lot of dust. The crew showed up time and were very friendly. We had requested portable equipment but were surprised to learn that they were able to run the hose from their truck despite us being a few houses away from the main road of our complex. They explained every step of the process and even showed us the build up in our ducts, which had never been cleaned before. They also were very helpful about where to find air filters for our furnace, which seems to be a custom size. I'd definitely use them again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

This company was highly recommended by our Realtor for a home inspection on our 12 year old townhome. We requested Mr. Falcone. He showed up on time (early actually) and walked us through the home inspection and was extremely patient and helpful with our questions. He directly addressed our concerns and offered suggestions wherever he could. From my understanding home inspections on townhouses aren't very common, but Mr. Falcone really tailored his inspection to the special needs of a multi-level home, like heat/moisture issues on upper floors. He also caught several things I doubt the average home inspector would have. The report we received after the inspection was very comprehensive and we've pretty much used it as a guide to address issues whenever we have any extra money. The only thing we've noticed wasn't in our report was that our kitchen countertop had mold, rot and water damage underneath the sink area and will eventually need to be replaced. However, it did mention that the faucet hadn't been installed properly and would need to be fixed (which is what caused the water damage) so it was not a big surprise to us. In all, we really feel that Mr. Falcone went above and beyond during his inspection and I'd highly recommend him and Carson Dunlop as trustworthy and experienced home inspectors.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Melanie, Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us a review. We are so happy that you had a good experience with Philip. Please be reminded that Philip is available should you ever have any questions about the home or inspection for as long as you own the property. It's just an added bonus of being a Carson Dunlop Client All the best in your new home! Regards, Charlotte Dove on behalf of Carson Dunlop

10/10

We hired Downtown Flooring to remove the carpeting and install laminate wood flooring in our 2 upstairs bedrooms. These guys are amazing. We went down to their gallery on Queen St. and they sent us home with a deck of flooring samples so we could match the new floors to the existing laminate flooring we had downstairs. Stefan came to our home and measured our floors and was very friendly. We were on the fence about whether to also replace the carpet on the landing, but Stefan gave us some very honest recommendations. On the day of our appointment they sent 2 men to install the flooring. They showed up promptly at the time they were scheduled that morning, carried everything in and were very polite and friendly. They got to work immediately and were finished by lunch time. They did an amazing job and everyone has commented how nice our new floors look. I would definitely recommend these guys.

Was this review helpful?