Reviews

9/10

On three separate occasions at three different properties I’ve had Yuriy out to replace old clogged sewer pipes in the basement. He is quick to come out and assess the problem, provides you all the options and is fast and efficient at executing the work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

pleasure doing business with you

2/10

We hired this company based on our neighbour's recommendation and unfortunately they did not live up to the referral. 1. After requesting it a few times, they never came to our house to sit down with us to review the quote and talk to us about product, samples, warranty, options or other details of the job. Elaine in the office wanted to field all questions. 2. As soon as we gave them the ok they started the job very quickly thereafter. 3. I did not pay them in full prior to inspecting the work even though the onsite workers requested it and I am so thankful because it made sure that they did not ignore our concerns. 4. When we inspected the work we found two critical areas where the gutters were not sloped properly. As for the roof, there were exposed nails all over the shingles (my husband counted at least 40), a couple areas of nails sticking out, and when he was up there with one of the roofers at one point there was even a corner shingle that fell off when they touched it. We clearly reported all of the deficiencies in an email with photos. No one from the office ever called us. They sent guy after guy after guy, asking us what we are complaining about and what will make us happy (ie “what it will take for us to pay them”). What we want is what we are paying for - properly installed new roof and gutters. We had 6 visits from them in 2.5 months. What bothers us the most is how they never acknowledged the inferior job that was done (except for a young guy that walked the roof with my husband and actually said “I’ve never seen it this bad”). There should never ever be any exposed nails. If you read the shingle manufacturer’s warranty, it is void if the roof was improperly installed which specifically includes incorrectly placed nails in the shingles. Long story short, they tried to shrug this off as though we were being picky and nothing was wrong with their work. They never called us to discuss, until I brought up the voided warranty and demanded to speak to the owner. Nick came out and they finally agreed to replace those shingles that had the exposed nails. So the job they tried to make us believe was fine actually took them over 4 hours to fix. There are still a few areas of concern but at this point, they've still never earned our trust so we've paid them in full and would never use them again nor would I ever recommend them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The homeowner was given the estimate by email around Aug, 2015 – for roof, eaves, soffit & facia installation – and again on Sept 30, 2015- then the installations were verbally approved on Sept 30, 2015 – after several times of taking shingle colours to the homeowner we had waited till Oct, 2015 for them to finally choose a colour – on Oct 30, 2015 Extreme Roofing had set up the shingles and bin and notified the home owner that the work would be started Nov 2, 2015 with the installation of the roof – it took 2 – 3 days to install the shingles and a cheque for the payment of the roof was given to Extreme Roofing on Nov 9, 2015 – after receiving the cheque as payment for the roof, the warranty papers were issued to the homeowner and sure they were received along with the paid invoice – The payment in full for the roof installation is a legal notification that they agreed with the installation of the roof completion – Extreme Roofing then performed the installation of the eaves, soffit & facia on this house – the homeowner (husband) had decided he would go up on the roof to do an inspection – Note that each and every time he sets foot on the roof the warranty becomes null & void as it can not be proven the installation has not been tampered with – he then sent many picture where had actually lifted and shifted the shingles that should not be disturbed – The payment of the Eaves, Soffit & Facia was held hostage because the husband had decided that the shingles had not been installed correctly – Several times we had a technician return to the home to look and try to satisfy the homeowner that the roof was installed correctly – Extreme Roofing also had the manufacturer’s representative accompany the owner of Extreme Roofing to the site – upon which time it was agreed by all parties that an area of the roof was to be removed and re-shingled - The home owner kept saying that “someone had told him” that this was done incorrectly – someone being someone other than Extreme Roofing and unknown if they were in the roofing trade and had proper knowledge of roof installation – This was all finished before Christmas but still payment for the second part of the original work was not paid out to Extreme Roofing – It took till Jan 25/16 to receive the payment from the homeowner – and it was handed over with a few choice words from the homeowner “here is your FXXXXXX payment and don’t come back” – we will be very pleased to accommodate your request of the homeowner – Please note that the pictures that the homeowner has placed on this site no longer depict the condition of the roof, this was rectified by Extreme Roofing and is false.

10/10

I have hired Capps twice, once for a house in Leslieville and once in Etobicoke. I believe it was a different brother that came each time and both of them were great to deal with. They take a lot of pride in their work and in obtaining customer satisfaction. I have had negative experiences with cheaper duct cleaning companies in the past and I will now never use anyone other than Capps.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mel, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your honest and kind words about our service. Mel, we thank you for you loyalty and for putting your trust in the Cappellina brothers.
We will look forward to being of service to your home in the future.
Wishing you a very happy holiday, Best Regards, Kathe Mann

10/10

No complaints, easy to deal with from start to finish. I had them quote on 3 projects, they were very quick to come out and to provide the quote. I went ahead with 1 of the 3 projects right away. Their website provides so many photos that it is very easy to point to exactly what you want so that there is no miscommunication in the exact look of the final product. A few weeks later when the materials were ready, they came to install, took them less than an hour and a half. Very professional and certainly seem to know what they are doing. Good service and great looking results, can't ask for anything more.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much

5/10

I have to say that I am disappointed with this company. I had them quote on a new fireplace install last year and chose to go with another company because National wouldn't install a limestone tile from another supplier. When we had a second fireplace project to complete this year, I thought I would have them quote again and after spending a lot of time in the showroom with the salesperson, decided to give them a chance. They said that they would work with my stone tile this time around and although they did make it clear that I would have to hire my own drywaller and electrician as required, that they would do everything else (i.e. frame & install concrete board around fireplace, install tile, install mantel, and tile the hearth). I made it clear that I wanted the exact same fireplace that I had installed in my first project because we are happy with the look and function of the unit. I gave them the unit model # and showed it to them onsite. In the end, I am disappointed with the final result for the following reasons: 1. The options available with the fireplace unit were not explained to me. The unit I had installed last year had the ability to control the flame and included a thermostat remote. I did not realize this was a special feature so I did not specifically request it. I think that it is only reasonable to expect the salesperson to explain all the options available but this was definitely not done. 2. After the demo of the old fireplace was completed, I was basically convinced by the salesperson not to use them to complete the finishing around the fireplace and that I would be better served by a contractor who can bring in all the different trades (i.e. for any drywall repair). So I am now left with an unfinished fireplace wall and an inferior fireplace unit to what I was expecting. I just wish the communication would have been clearer and easier from beginning to end. If you are looking for a turnkey solution, I would not recommend National Home Comfort Centre. I have nothing bad to say about the installers who came to attach the unit to the gas line and vent it out, as far as I can see they did a good job.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

I had Five Star come for a small exterior job (garage door and exterior window trims for bay window) as well as some interior painting (doors, trim, hallways & living/dining room walls). From my experience, this company is relatively affordable and reliable (they show up when they say they will and try very hard to keep within their time frames). You can also tell that they strive for customer satisfaction. The only tip is to make sure that you inspect the work carefully, I find they can tend to be a little sloppy with the finish but I have had no issues either time with them fixing the areas that I pointed out.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

They booked a date to complete the job within a week, arrived on time as scheduled, were fairly efficient at hanging a 50 inch television and a 24 inch television on wall brackets.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Customer forgot to mention that I gave them a free mounting bracket that tilts. Enjoy Guys!

10/10

We found Walter after a couple of other companies found on Homestars told us they were too busy and wouldn't even come out to take a look at our job. Walter came the same week we spoke, quoted on the job within a few days, told us when he would be available to complete the job and we hired him. We have nothing but good things to say about him. Not only is he respectful, honest, but he is a man of his word (which is hard to find these days). Somehow he found the time to squeeze us in early and finished the job before he was even supposed to start it. Even though it took longer than expected, he did not change his quoted price. When we asked him to add a little extra job to the scope, he said no problem and gave us a reasonable price for it. Walter did a great job, and we certainly would not hesitate to hire him again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
2/10

All we wanted was to replace the faucet. He ended up removing our undermount sink because the nut holding the faucet was stuck. After he was done, not only was there a leak in the piping under the sink but he had done a bad job putting back the undermount sink (not centred so that the custom fit strainer wasn't fitting anymore and the silicone was all over the place and looked incredibly ugly). We called him back, he fixed the leak and re-installed the sink. Result: there was another leak elsewhere and the silicone still looks horrible all around the sink. My other beef: he destroyed my kitchen mat using it as his cushion instead of moving it out of the way. I wish I could get my money back because we finally had to call a different plumber who ended up re-doing ALL of the plumbing under the sink because it was wrong (1. it was still leaking but also 2. the dishwasher hose although elevated, where it connects into the drain it is directing water towards the second sink bowl instead of directly towards the drain). I've also since learned that you should not let a plumber install an undermount sink - this is countertop people's jobs, they know how to properly affix it to the granite countertop with the best glue/silicone and how to clean off the silicone from your sink and counter with special product after it is affixed). Anyhow, buyer beware depending on the job you need done. I have given a couple points because he was on time, and did come back a second time but we just didn't feel comfortable having him back a third time to fix it again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am very sorry you did not have a great experience with my company. As you knew the bowl had to be removed and it was done after we discussed the issue together.
The nut holding the sink was so tight that even after the bowl was removed we still couldn't get it off. As you knew I was completly unaware of the strainer and came back and put it back in for free. As far as everything being wrong The kitchen sink was initially installed without a vent and I did inform you of this but to comment on what the other plumber told you, the dishwasher should always be installed up and that is so when the pump in the dishwasher shuts off the water doesn't run back and sit at the bottom of the dishwasher here is a link further explaining the issue
http://ca.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100225033838AAq46IT I'm very sorry you were not happy with my service but I really wish you would at least rate me fairly. I was on time my price was very fair, I came back and made sure you strainer worked at no charge. I'm sure that someone who only installs undermount sinks could have the caulking around the sink a little cleaner then the way I did it but you have to factor in the job would have costed double. I give all my customers a one year warranty on all work done and if there were further issues you should have called me, as discussed before I left I couldn't test the sink untill the glue dried (24 hours) and I did inform you that if there was any more problems to call me, I never recieved a phone call.

10/10

Adrian is punctual, honest, and keeps his work area clean. We had a horrible experience with another plumber and were delighted that Adrian came in to fix the other guy's mistakes. Adrian had to redo all the plumbing under the sink because it had all been done wrong. When he noticed a part missing from the new faucet (which the previous plumber must have thrown out), he offered to come back another day to install it at no extra charge once we were able to secure a new part, and he was true to his word. We would not hesitate to call him again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

In the summer 2012 after seeing the reviews on Homestars, I hired Moore Brothers to paint the exterior of my bungalow in Etobicoke right before putting it on the market. They did a great job and were able to come in quickly before I was listing the house. I most recently (Dec 2012) had them come into one of my investment properties after the tenants left it in a state of complete filthiness, to paint some of the rooms, floors and staircases. Moore brothers once again were great to work with in terms of scheduling, quality, and flexibility with the scope of work to make it fit my budget. Even when there was a misunderstanding about the scope, we were able to resolve it in a way that was completely satisfactory. Kevin, Kirk and Kelly were all very good to deal with and take a lot of pride in their work and obtaining customer satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Derek arrived on time to provide the quote that I had requested. He understood that it was a new house for me with lots of expenses and as such just quoted on the work that would accomplish my primary goals. His quoted price was in line with the competition. On the day of the job, he arrived early with his crew, was fast and efficient, and made sure to confirm with me, prior to finishing up, that he had done everything that we had talked about. I would certainly recommend him and use his services again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure to work for you and we appreciate the review,please keep us in mind in the future. Thanks, Derek

2/10

I had a home inspection clause in my offer on a house in Leslieville last summer. I hired Ken Haller to satisfy myself as to the condition of the house. His report was generally good so I waived my condition. Big mistake. He missed significant items that cost me a lot of money in the following months. One item was the significant presence of knob and tube. The report didn't say there was any, that it was all copper wiring. The other item was water penetration in the basement. For these two items alone my expenses were over $12,000. I would not recommend his services.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Do NOT hire this company. They provide incompetent service. After having my duct supposedly cleaned, a brand new air filter was absolutely filthy after 48 hours (see pic). There was visual debris, dust, pet hair in the vents still leftover right after they were done(see pic). This company should be shut down!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?