Reviews


First Review

3/10

This company is a father and son team. Don't get me wrong: I would have the two of them over for dinner any time. They are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. However, I would not recommend using them for your railing project. First, this company charges $50 to produce a badly written quote. We were told that this fee makes it worth their time when one of them comes out to estimate the job. We were also told that, if hired, this fee would be put towards the final cost of the project. Second, they were forgetful. We supplied wood samples on three separate occasions. Once the job started, they did not remember that we actually had actually met with them twice to provide colour samples and had extensive conversations about the project. Mind you, we mainly dealt with the father of this team who is older, which means he was often forgetful. He was also not very steady . Finally, although the end product looked fine from afar, the detailed workmanship was quite poor: -None of the cuts were clean -All the holes drilled for the spindles were rough and uneven with some of the spindles themselves installed quite loosely -There was a lot of glue residue left to dry on the surfaces -Areas that required wood filler were quite messy -There was a multitude of chips, rips, and tears in the wood veneer that finished our brand new steps. -A straight section of rail was not installed as tightly as we expected. -The team often asked if we had tools they could use where I expect contractors to supply their own. -The team did *not* clean up after themselves and left everything for us to dispose. Needless to say, it's taken a number of weeks for us to touch up the deficiencies on our own. Despite being told they guarantee their work for life, we fear it would take more time than needed to have them fix up everything. (Normally a two day job, it took a solid week to complete the job.) The $50 fee was *not* put towards the final cost of the project. Their reason we were given was that a post required an extra two hours of work. (In my mind, it's part of the installation and the original scope of work, so I felt we were being taken advantage of). We decided to not argue because they did give us a break on the tax. Again, nice people, but would not recommend.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

9/10

*Note: This company does not work directly with customers, but through contractors who install the finished product. The original contractor we hired unexpectedly walked off the job mid-stream. Bruce of B-H Woodturning was kind enough to forgo normal process to work with us to finish the job. We overhauled our main entry stairway and decided to have a wide spanned, floating stair made that could accommodate slate tile. B-H took care of the manufacturing, staining, delivery, demolition of the old stairs, and installation of the new ones. Outside of a very minor misunderstanding on the scope of work (there was a single step that we expected to have produced as part of the original contract that had to be done up after the fact), we are extremely happy with the final product. The onsite crew was careful, communicative, and cleaned up after themselves. We also really appreciated their professionalism, responsiveness, and flexibility in helping us complete the project. They were also very open about timelines. There is nothing to figure out when working with this team. B-H makes exceptional product, are based locally, and is super easy to work with. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our new home had one of those monstrous furnaces from the 1960's. The entire heating system in the house needed an overhaul. We went with Canada Furnace because they 1) they kept their appointments and provided detailed quotes in a timely manner; 2) the team was very knowledgeable in the products and the services they provide; 3) the quote provided was fair and they tried a bunch of different ways to save us money. The entire process was pretty painless. The installation team was a father/son team and they worked their butts off. The office even took care of submitting the applications to Fortis and Lenox for our rebates. We did detect a very small gas leak a few weeks after installation, but a quick call to the office resulted in getting a technician to our house that same week to fix it. Overall, a really great experience, and we're really happy knowing that our heating bills will not put us in the poor house.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

6/10

Any kitchen redesign will involve new countertops. We had our eyes on quartz from the beginning, but had some challenges finding a product we liked within our budget. Belle (also goes by the name Raspar) extended the contractor's price to use and quickly provided us with a quote on a Caesarstone product that came below the bigger countertop companies. She came by the house a couple of times: first to bring samples, and the second time, to confirm measurements. She was a pleasure to talk to. Later, we received an email from her indicating that the countertop would actually cost about $1K more than what was quoted, and *after* our cheque covering the deposit was cashed. (There was a mistake made in estimating the number of slabs needed for our job.) Rather than return the deposit and requote the cost, we had to negotiate who would be paying what. As a customer, it felt a little unfair to absorb the entire cost due to a mistake made by someone else, especially since we had provided all the information upfront, and had two site visits. Belle was open to dividing the additional cost and we agreed on a figure for each party. From that conversation onward, things started to go a bit sideways. I had to confirm final figures, and chase down installation dates. There was a lot of emailing. The installation crew, although super friendly and really precise with the install, was a bit messy. (They left bits of glue spatter all over our lower cabinets and kitchen floor, and quartz dust in the driveway that we had to clean up afterward.) Belle was prompt in picking up our final payment, but unfortunately, did not do any additional follow-up. There was no "thank-you" nor any request for feedback. Not sure what happened since all of the interactions were very pleasant at the start. The experience overall was mixed. To focus on the positive: we are enjoying a very nice looking product, and in the end, we are happy this company was able to save us a bit of money. If they can work the kinks out of their quotation/estimation processes *and* remain professional from start to finish, they have a great thing going.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

(NOTE: This company is also known as Kitchenhoods.ca.) This place does mainly kitchen hood fans, which is great because we've had troubles finding a great one in the big box stores. (They also carry kitchen sinks too. We ended up returning one we bought earlier from a different store, and purchased a new one from here along with our hood fan.) Phillipe (sp?) was fantastic: he really knew the ins and outs of the products the store carries, as well as the products of brands they do not carry. He really helped us understand the difference between a $300 hood fan vs. one that was double the price. The fan (and sink) we wanted were both in stock, and we were able to carry both items out with us. Dealing with this company was a pleasure and we've already recommended them to friends.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Can't say enough great things about this local company. From start to finish, the staff were professional, friendly, and super helpful. We were really impressed by how patient the sales staff were with our questions. The installation team was clean and professional. The product also has a pretty good selection of neutral colours to choose from. We're super happy with the final product: the price was fair, and the roll-up door works beautifully and is also uber-quiet. (The extra ceiling real-estate in our garage is a bonus: it's enabling us to create ceiling storage where the old door used to be.) The new door looks good too: we've received a number of compliments from our new neighbours already. Definitely consider this little local company if you're in the market for a new garage door.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

It really saddens me to write this particular review. Mr. Leighton had done some small jobs in the past for us in other homes, so it seemed like a natural choice to have him renovate our new home. The renovation is extensive and involves the entire house from top to bottom. We were under the impression that he could handle a major project like ours, but as the work became more complex, it became clear that he was out of his depth. He also did not have as many connections we thought he should have for other vendors/service providers, which had us constantly cold calling other companies for quotes. At the start, we let go the small stuff: the finishing work on some of the smaller projects was shoddy; his buddy from down the street made frequent visits to the house without asking us; he needlessly argued with some deliverymen on our front lawn; and the invoicing suddenly became more frequent. He was also unable to ever provide a quote, estimate, or time frame for any project, and insisted on being paid straight time (i.e. by the hour), which makes it impossible to budget. In the end, the situation exploded because Mr. Leighton did not understand the basics of stair building. The sub-trades we hired were fantastic (we were all on the same page), but unfortunately, Mr. Leighton's constant whining about non-existent problems created confusion and frustration for all involved. (We saw after the fact that every time he was nervous, he became very negative. Whenever he screwed up, it was always because of something else.) In the end, he walked off the job after yelling at me over the phone and accusing us of being difficult. (I called him out on his negativity and asked him to think of solutions, rather than focus on perceived problems.) I was stunned by how incredibly unprofessional he was, especially since we trusted him enough to leave him a house key, paid his invoices swiftly, and was patient with him from the beginning. I wish I had thought withhold payment of his final invoice to cover the staggering number of deficiencies we found after the fact. The realization: this person is a handyman pretending to be a contractor. Despite knowing him, we should have interviewed him and insisted on receiving quotes for different jobs. We also should have only contracted with him on projects where he had experience. We would have saved a ton of money and prevented a great number of headaches. As they say, hind sight is 20/20...and this brutal lesson was a very, very expensive one for us.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

It was too bad we didn't find this place before we purchased flooring from a different company. The selection at this place is insane: there is lots and lots to choose from. We did purchase moulding and vents to finish our flooring job, and we found the floor staff to be professional and helpful.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We were in the market for a new roof and loved the idea of a rubber shingle. (Our old roof was made of cedar shakes.) We looked at a number of products, and none of them looked "real". We were always under the impression that Penfolds was expensive. Upon receiving an estimate from Michael, we were both very surprised. Not only did they carry a rubber shingle that looks almost like cedar shake, their pricing was very competitive. Penfolds' warranties are also pretty great. We also found out the next day that our old roof leaked like crazy. Michael and Ron came out right away to tarp our roof. We had to wait a number of weeks for work to finally start, but have to say, we are extremely happy with the final product. Unfortunately, the crew was dirty (Michael and Ron did their best to clean up their mess) and did break a very large skylight during installation. (Michael and Ron got us a new replacement very quickly.) We do still have some issues with the replacement skylight, but have no anxieties: we know Michael will get back to us. Would recommend this company in a heartbeat: they are communicative, clear, and provide timely customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with Penfolds. The Eco Roof is a very unique product that will last a lifetime! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! All the best, Shaun Mayhew.

10/10

This company is, quite simple, top-notch. They carry a gorgeous selection of tile for different price ranges. Samples are free of charge, and pick-up was a breeze. I selected a stainless steel, lantern shaped mosaic for our kitchen backsplate and it looks gorgeous. The help I received from the floor staff re. grout, mortar, installation, and maintenance was superb. They do extend contractor rates to "civilians", however, be sure to have him/her by the phone to confirm that you are indeed customers. Would recommend this company in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

A seasoned builder referred us to this company. Don't let the tiny storefront fool you. The selection was extensive and the service was top notch. They also carry plenty of stone in the 1X2 ft size, which we learned is hard to find. We were extended the contractor rate without question, and both Rick and Sharon (?) were generous with their knowledge of the products they carry and the processes required to install and maintain it. Rick even helped us get to the warehouse and load our truck. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We're in the process of reworking our entire kitchen. On the list was a kitchen hood fan that was both powerful *and* quiet. We found KitchenHoods.ca through a google search, and decided to see their showroom, which is located in Burnaby, BC. We were quite impressed with the selection as well as the price range, even in their tiny showroom. Filip was really knowledgeable on the products they had in stock, as well as their competitors products. We really liked how they had a number of models plugged in so you could hear for yourself how loud a fan was. The hood we ordered was in stock, so we drove off with the product in hand. Since our purchase, we have definitely recommended this company to friends. Side note: they also have a limited selection of kitchen sinks and better prices. We also purchased a new kitchen sink, and returned the one we had bought at a box store last month, because the quality and price was much better.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We're renovating a fixer upper and decided to purchase stock through Exclusive Floor Sales. We purchased both bathroom tile and hardwood. Meliha was very helpful and patient with us. She allowed us to take home showroom samples, and was open to negotiating price based on volume. She was also very flexible with us when we changed our mind on the hardwood we selected, despite having the original order filled and waiting. Home delivery is a nice option and not too expensive. We still have a lot of house to complete, and we will definitely work with Exclusive for the rest of our home if we can.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I found Sean through a Google search, and then through Homestars and another consumer review site. Sean was upfront with his fees and availability, and provided a clear, easy-to-understand contract. He was punctual, professional and thorough with his onsite inspection. The inspection took longer than average, but I appreciate the extra time he took to inspect every aspect of the house. He was also quick to turnaround his report so we could lift the conditions on our purchase. Finally, we also really appreciate his timely follow-up, including his openness to answering questions. The thank-you card we received in the mail was a nice touch. I wouldn't hesitate to refer Sean to family and friends, especially when he is willing to stand behind the work he does by putting his name on it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi D,
Your comments are very much appreciated. Yes, at times inspections can take longer than expected. We have to take the opportunity to take a really look at everything while on the property so you can walk away with as much information as possible. It was a pleasure working with you and will make myself available if you have questions, etc in the future. All the best, Sean

0/10

We made a short move from Coquitlam to Delta, BC, and decided to hire this company based solely on all the positive reviews and ratings we found on Homestars. The positives: 1) the call centre was prompt and professional when booking and confirming the move; 2) the crew was very hard working and worked quickly; 3) the price point was very competitive; 4) this company moves larger pieces, like pianos, with care and precision. (Randy was great with ensuring the piano was well taken care of.) The negatives: 1) There was no pre-move inspection of our home. If we had not moved all of our boxes on our own, the truck would have needed to make two trips. 2) Although the rest of the crew was very hard working and very quick, all of our wood furniture and large items with a softer finish, like leather, was badly scratched up and damaged during the move. 3) I was told the movers would be prepared with blankets and boxes should we need any minor packing done. The crew we got was not prepared. Our smaller items were randomly squashed into whatever they could use around the house as a "box". The language barrier also resulted in items being placed in incorrect rooms in the new house. Had I known that all of our larger items would be damaged, I would not have tipped the crew as generously as I did. 4) I filed a claim for damages according to the company's processes and timing, and after 19 days, I have not received any kind of acknowledgement that my complaint was being addressed. I called three days ago and was promised a receipt (I was never emailed an official receipt for payment), a call from the crew manager, and some acknowledgement of my claim. I have been now waiting 21 days with no receipt, no call, an ignored claim, and a house full of damaged furniture. Unfortunately, my experience with this company does not align with the rest of the positive reviews on this site. For anyone looking to move within the Vancouver lower mainland, I would not recommend using this company unless you want a lot of your stuff damaged and your claim ignored. UPDATE (11/15): Homestars contacted this company to verify my review. Metropolitan denied that I was a customer, despite providing a valid order number. I have still have not received a response from the company for a receipt or on the status of my claim. UPDATE (12/16): In response to the staff member who responded below: you need to review your files again. I was indeed a customer and I raised my issue many times. Due to the lack of response to all of queries, this issue is now going through the Better Business Bureau process for resolution.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi DHultgren! I'm sorry to hear about your experience but as I have checked with our customer service, we have not encountered a situation like this. First of all, we do not know when did you booked with us. Scanned all of our moving files from September-October but no similar story like yours. Please feel free to contact us and provide your name and moving date so we can do a deep investigation. Thanks