Reviews


First Review

10/10

My second time dealing with the company. First time to order a toilet tank lid which I couldn't find anywhere else and the second time for a a bathroom sink. Not only do they carry hard to find items but their prices are lower and customer service is amazing. I ordered my sink yesterday, it arrived today via courier and the shipping was free. Top marks for this Canadian gem :)

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Regina! We're happy to hear we could supply you with the fixtures you needed both times. We hope to see you again!

10/10

Family run business, original makers of the Goodbar product. Excellent service, easy to reach and very helpful in making sure you get the right product. Fast (free shipping over $10) and prices lower than the big stores.

Approximate cost of services:
$45.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Can't say enough good things about this company. Tom came to the rescue when our hot water tank broke down. A couple of places I tried had wait times of over a week, were crazy expensive, and information passed through go betweens rather than the installer. What a difference with Tom! I called, he answered. Asked a few questions and quoted me an estimate over the phone. Was apologetic that the earliest he could come was the following day, offered to pick up the tank from the store for me and haul the old one to the curb. Good as his word, patient with the store pickup issues that arose, he came earlier than expected, charged less than he quoted, and made sure the place was clean after the job was done. You won't find many contractors like that anymore! Needless to say, I am keeping Tom's contact number for future reference :)

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I'm a repeat customer many times over. Andy is nothing short of amazing, with professional and efficient service along with prices that can't be beat. You can get things done with Any in a single day whereas a big box store would take weeks. How would you like to call one day and have the mattress delivered the next day with a 2 hour delivery window promised and kept? That is what you get from Andy! Not limited to mattresses, Andy can give you recommendations for places that sell furniture, moving companies and probably others if you ask. I would give this place a 10 out of 5 if it was possible!

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Regina for your kind words.
We try our best to treat each customer the best way, provide best professional and friendly service and also the best possible price.

Its always a pleasure doing business with you.
Enjoy your new mattress!

Andy
TonFurniture

10/10

We used Speers to replace the living and dining room carpets with hardwood floors. The job included the removal and disposal of the carpets, supplying the hardwood and quarter-round, and the installation. Greg the coordinator and Joseph the installer were competent, helpful and punctual. The contract was clear and detailed, work completed on time and the price reasonable.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you ReginaV!


First Review

10/10

Used this company on two occasions. Once when our old garage door track broke my mom suggested we call Daniel as she had her door serviced by him and was very happy with the work. Daniel's 24 hour availability was a blessing, he came right away, fixed the door and charged a very reasonable price. When the time came to replace our garage door Daniel immediately came to mind but being prudent buyers we did obtain other quotes just to confirm what we already suspected: Daniel was the best choice for both qualifications and price. The company website doesn't offer a location but this is a reliable company that won't disappoint.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I shopped at BTG before for new blinds because of the quality, value and service. This time I just needed new light blocking slats for my existing vertical blinds track. BTG came through again with great selection, price and fast service. Thank you BTG!

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
9/10

We wanted to install a metal roof due to constant issues with shingle blow-offs off our 7 year old roof which is supposed to last 30 years. After getting quotes from several metal roofers we opted for Eco- Roofing for the quality of their steel, manufacture/install combo and the competitive price. The process for signing the contract was quick and the salesman knowledgeable. After the contract was signed however, the communication regarding the work start date was problematic, resulting in broken appointments and about a month delay from the promised install date. Once the work began, things went smoothly. The crew was friendly, punctual and hard working. There was one more snag with communication from the company when the material wasn't delivered on time and the crew had to wait for it but they still completed the work on time. Overall, a very good experience, the roof looks great and we received compliments from the neighbours. It's still too early to fully assess the quality so I'll probably be back in a year or so to write a follow-up review.

Approximate cost of services:
$17,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Regina, thank you for your review, I assure you that your roof will be just as great in a year. We are currently examining some new solutions in regards to communication, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

1/10

In 2008 we hired Jerry's Roofing to replace our aging roof. We picked this company despite having lower quotes from other roofing companies because Bob seemed competent and knowledgeable. With 30 year IKO shingles and 10 year labour warranty we felt the cost was justified. After 4 years our new roof started losing shingles on windy days. At first Bob was quick with repairs but as problems kept recurring he stopped answering his phone and when finally reached he didn't show up when promised. With each incident it became harder to get action and sometimes months would pass before he would show up. This year, the shingles blew off again, in the same place Bob fixed several times. We didn't try to reach Jerry's roofing despite the warranty still being in force. We had to pay to have the roof repaired but at least the work was done. This is just a stop gap measure though as the rest of the roof is in bad shape and will need to be re-done. Sad to have to pay for 2 new roofs in 7 years but that is the result of us having hired Jerry's Roofing to do the job.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The day after the wind storm it was impossible to reach any roofers but w were lucky to come across Five Star Roofing on Homestars. Ed returned my call the same day and came to assess the damage. He showed up very early the following morning with the new shingles and fixed our roof. It was a relief to have the repairs done so quickly and before the snow came. I don't know what we would have done without Ed. Thank you Five Star Roofing!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Best place to get a mattress. Ton Furniture offers great quality at great prices. Andy provides helpful advice, and is prompt with delivery. Got 2 mattresses from him and a sofa from the importer warehouse. Thank you Andy!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

When my Hydrotech RO system started leaking from the manifold I discovered the cause was worn out O-rings. Never thought finding a couple of rubber rings would be an issue but I was wrong. I contacted several water filtration dealers, some never returned my call, some didn't know what an O-ring was, some suggested Home Depot (which referred me back to Hydrotech) and some got back to me weeks later to offer 1 ring only. I could have ordered the rings directly from Hydrotech but their minimum order was $25. Cindy at Water Land came to the rescue, knew exactly what the part was, ordered it and within days I had my water system working again.When the auto shut off valve on the unit stopped working I knew immediately where to go and wasn't disappointed. Water Land had the part in stock and much cheaper than online retailers. Thank you so much Water Land for being there!

Approximate cost of services:
$25.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

My mom had her furnace and tankless installed by Coretemp back in Jan 2010. Today Richard and Eric came to do the annual furnace maintenance. As with the initial installation, they have proven to be knowledgeable and very professional. A true test of the product and service is time and after almost 2 years my mom is very pleased with having chosen Coretemp for her furnace and tankless. Richard knows his product and it was he who suggested the furnace and tankless model best suited to her needs. As a result, my mom's gas bills went down and last winter her highest monthly gas bill was only $85. Thank you again Coretemp for great service!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

When my mom’s furnace gave out over the weekend CoreTemp was the only one that responded to request for service. Richard (the owner) understood right away what the problem was just from the description of the symptoms. He is very knowledgeable and takes time to explain the issue and describe the options available. Richard cares about his clients and goes out of his way to provide the best and fastest service possible. It was a nice surprise to find a company that has that skill and focus on client service. As we’d planned to replace the furnace in a few months anyway, we’d opted to do it right away and at the same time install the tankless water heater to replace the rental. Richard and his team did the work quickly and expertly and my mom was very happy with the result. This company stands behind its work. Highly recommended!

Approximate cost of services:
$7,500.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We first had Ascon 3 years ago replace 4 windows. The work was of excellent quality, done on schedule, and the people honest, hard working and a pleasure to deal with. Last but not least, the price was reasonable and the owner knows his job and can provide valuable advice. This company takes pride in their work and ensure their clients are satisfied. We were so pleased with them that we had the rest of our windows, a total of 14 (including 4 bay) as well as sliding patio doors and a front door done by them as well. Each time we received the same great service. This company is a gem!

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?