Reviews

10/10

Replaced an old rotting laminate with new Arborite. We had Integrity do the measure and installation too. Everyone we excellent to deal with, and there were no surprises at any point. Aaron did the measuring, Greg did the installation, and Breanne was extremely helpful whenever I called the office. I will call them again for our bathrooms and rental suites, and if I ever get around to putting quartz in the kitchen, I'll call them for that, too.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Nick built our deck a few years ago, so when our fence started failing under the weight of masses of ivy, I knew who to call. Nick is in high demand, so it was a while before he got back to me, but I wasn't in a hurry and I wanted quality work. He estimated the cost for the 80 foot fence, including posts, and then sent Chris over to do the work. Chris was a little appalled at the amount of ivy, but he put his earbuds in and tackled it like a pro. Nick stuck to his quote and removed it all. Chris worked amazingly fast and had the fence done in less than 2 days once the ivy was cleared, even in a torrential downpour. It looks great, we are happy, our neighbour is happy, and Nick even came in UNDER his quote...who does that? An honest guy. Hire Cedar Coast and you won't go wrong.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michelle,
It was nice to see you again and how fast those kids have grown. I see my two every day and still amazed at how fast it all happens.
Thanks again for another project and I hope your kitchen turns out as you hope.
Merry Christmas and have a great new year!


First Review

10/10

At 5:30 pm we noticed we had no hot water. What we had was a leaking hot water tank with water on the basement floor. We called 911 Rooter because their website said they were 24/7. Dave answered and after a few questions said he could do the work the same night. We dithered, and told him we would try to do it ourselves, and even then he was helpful, making sure that we had turned off the water, gave us tips on how to drain it etc. At 6:30 pm we realized we would rather have Dave do it than try ourselves. He arrived at 8 pm and by 9 pm we had a new tank all hooked up. He was fast, he brought the tank with him, he gave us more tips as he worked, I'm super happy with his service and will definitely hire him again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mode was hired by our project manager based largely on cost. She had not worked with them before. At first we were not happy because the paint was chipping immediately and there were a lot of missed spots. However, they responded right away to our call and came over to touch up the deficiencies. They also explained to us that since the house was old, the walls just weren't holding the paint like new walls and they were doing the best they could. It was good to have that information. In the end we are pleased with their work and their customer service.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

We hired Savage designs to help us choose paint colours and ended up hiring her to manage a larger project of redoing electrical, taking out valences, installing new lighting and painting. Since we could not live in the space while our ceilings were being taken down we trusted Savage to manage the project and trades in our absence. We should not have. Once the lights were partly in, I noted that there were bright spots all over our floor. I was told that this was normal, but it could be changed. I said I wanted it changed. Savage spoke to the electricians who had purchased the lighting, who were under contract to Savage, and then completely changed her tune and said that in her entire career she had never seen something like this and it was the fault of our floors, not the lights. I went to the retailer where we had been told the lights had been purchased and they informed us that though they had quoted the pricing to us and Savage, Savage did not in fact purchase the lights from them. They would have helped us if they had. We confronted Savage about the lights and after some pushing found out the electricians had purchased them directly from the supplier. We now had no one to turn to. They refused to return them and we were met with a brick wall of unhelpfulness. I went to the supplier (Juno) and was told initially that their lights don't do that and they couldn't be their lights. They finally relented and sent out a regional representative who said he hadn't seen that before and would try to help us. We never did get help because he quit a few weeks later. Our calls to the local rep went unanswered. Savage came by with flooring samples to 'prove' to us that it was our floors, not the lights, which she couldn't do because the 'spots' showed up on everything, even carpet and fuzzy sweaters. Basically, she was trying to show us that it was our fault. However, if she knew anything about lighting, and if indeed it was the floors (it isn't), she should not have recommended those lights in the first place if she thought there would be spots. The floors have been there for 50 years, we didn't change them during construction. That's poor design planning on her part. We also found, when we pushed our bed into place, that our wall sconces were way way too far away to be usable. I asked the electrician if there was reason for them to be that far away and he said it was because he was told we had swing arm lamps. We never had ever considered swing arm lamps. I asked the designer why she had not caught that and her response was 'it was in the book I left for them'. She was supposed to be managing the work, not letting trades look something up in a book she left. She would not fix the work. In the end, no one would help us with the lights, we still have spots, we still have sconces we can't reach, and we had to call the painter back to fix deficiencies. Overall a very poor experience. The only thing I think was done well was I like the paint colours. Should have stuck to that and hired someone else to do the rest. Also, never use Juno pot lights.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We thank Michelle for her review, and we are very sorry to hear that Michelle feels that our service was not up to her standard. We have been in business for over 13 years and we have served hundreds of residential and commercial clients in the Lower Mainland.  We strive to create a smooth, cohesive interior design and contracting experience, and we work extremely hard to deliver the best service possible.  

Savage Designs worked with Michelle and her husband over 2 years ago in 2013/2014 and completed an extensive 3 month renovation to the value of $60,000.00. Savage Designs provided and created reflected ceiling and electrical lighting plans, AutoCad drawings, and site binders for client and contractors. We created a new interior paint colour palette, purchased all interior and exterior lighting as well as providing all the necessary and highly respected and qualified trades from electrical contractors, drywall, insulation contractors, and paint contractors to fulfil and complete the renovation work. Daily site visits and regular communication with the trades and with the client were the norm throughout the term of the renovation.

All products purchased through our company were expressly approved by the client herself and her husband. All of our clients have detailed knowledge of their approved purchases.  All contractors have detailed knowledge of items to be installed via several site meetings and as an aid, with a site binder including detailed Auto-Cad electrical and reflected ceiling lighting plans with detailed and specific measurements for accurate location of light fixtures.

When the client had a concern about lighting, paint adherence and distance of bedroom wall sconces, we provided the client with solutions and rectified the issues as is our standard practice.

We encourage and ask Michelle to phone us directly should she have any further questions or concerns regarding her renovation that was completed in early 2014 at 604.877.0731

10/10

I found Nick through Homestars and even though he was not the least expensive of the 4 quotes we got, we hired him because of a gut feeling that he would do the best job and be true to his quote. We were not dissapointed. He was fast, paid attention to detail and quality, communicated with us every step of the way, was courteous, cleaned up regularly, and added extras we didn't ask for, but certainly appreciated, at no extra charge. I'm happy we chose Nick over the others and will use his business again for future work.

Was this review helpful?