Reviews

8/10

The good - Anna in Customer Service was great to deal with, and Johan's estimate was right on the money - we did in fact need two trucks. The team worked tirelessly from very early to late (almost 12 hours all in), and were friendly and polite. The bad - Johan called me the night before to talk about the logistics of the two trucks, and having been packing and prepping I was not really in the headspace for that - if he felt I needed to be updated, I would have preferred he call with a recommendation versus working through it with me over the phone. The ugly - nothing too major, really. A few dings here and there, heavy boxes on top of boxes marked "Fragile", labelled boxes out of place, some random missing parts - pretty standard. My biggest issue was that the team carried everything on their back, but there were some storage boxes that should not have been carried that way and I found some items had fallen out. Did I find them all? Overall, a far superior experience to our last move with one of the big names, so I would definitely recommend them. PS - they seemed to enjoy the Swiss Chalet lunch as a change from pizza!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Grant Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience with us.
We were not aware that our phone call the evening before your move was harassing to you, and we apologize for that.
Our aim was to avoid incurring parking tickets in the morning, due to limited parking in front of your home, and two trucks. Johan cares about his customers and also respects their opinions - once he had figured out a plan he wanted to run it past you so he could instruct the drivers in the morning.
All was done out of consideration for you, your needs, and your costs etc.
We are grateful for your recommendation, your business, and you. All the best.

5/10

I am going to try to be as balanced as I can here, and I have made these comments to Shawn by phone. On the positive side, Shawn was great to deal with, very personable, arrived before we did and was already on the roof when we got there. The walk through was thorough overall, and the report was easy to read with lots of pictures and tips. Where things went offside was when Shawn was reluctant to open the access panel to the jacuzzi tub as he was concerned about damaging the paint. Our agent and I weren't willing to give him permission to proceed, so it was left unopened. Subsequent to moving in, and using the tub, we found water had leaked (we could see this from the ceiling immediately below). In order to attempt to assess the situation, I decided to open the access panel and found it came off with very gentle pressure. Once open, mold was easily seen and we immediately called someone to assist us. Their assessment was that the issue had been ongoing for sometime, and they could see not just mold but what appeared to be fungus. We had intended to replace the tub with a walk-in shower, which I did tell Shawn, but this forced us to have to do so much sooner than anticipated, and added approximately $1,000 of costs to remediate the issue. Ultimately my issue is the failure of imagination on Shawn's part - whether we were going to replace the tub or not is irrelevant. As my wife said, he should have suggested we seek permission from the seller or the seller's agent to open the panel rather than balk at the risk of damaging the paint. I am not the home inspector, he is, and I shouldn't be expected to know what's important to look at. I will note that these comments have the benefit of hindsight, but considering that water is one of the worst enemies of a home, I don't feel they are unreasonable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Grant, I am sorry to hear that you had problems with water leakage around your bathtub after taking possession of the house.
The home inspection process is, of course, an exercise in risk reduction, however it cannot eliminate all risk of future problems, as many areas of the house are obscured, concealed or otherwise inaccessible to the inspector.

As you had mentioned, the stuck access hatch under the bathtub was not opened during the inspection due my assessment, based on previous experiences in similar situations, that trying to do so could cause damage to the drywall or wall paint. As neither you, your real estate agent or I own the house, we do not have permission to undertake a potentially damaging activity. Any inspection damage caused to the Seller’s home would have been at my cost to fix. As a guest in someone else’s home I must often make judgement calls about what risks to the property are warranted to investigate concealed or difficult to reach areas based on other visual clues, symptoms and potential for problems.

At the time of the inspection, the bathtub & tiled shower enclosure in that bathroom showed no significant deterioration. Visual examination, thermal imaging and moisture measurements taken on the 1st floor ceiling below the bathroom showed no active water leakage and no staining or discoloration which would have indicated a history of problems.

As you mentioned, at the time of the inspection, you had indicated that you were planning a near-term complete reno of that bathroom to meet your family’s needs and this further mitigated the need of taking the risk of damage to remove the wall panel to look under a tub which was coming out anyway. I did not anticipate any problems which would significantly affect your reno given the lack of other symptoms.

When we spoke on the phone, I wish you had taken me up on my offer of coming back to the house to evaluate the condition under the tub after you had taken possession of the house. I may have been able to offer you some practical short-term solutions to extend the life the current installation. These solutions may have better suited your desired reno timeline, as compared to the advice provided by a renovation contractor.

Again, I am sorry to hear you had a problem and I understand your frustration and review.

If I can help with any questions about the house in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Shawn

9/10

The shingles were in dire need of replacement, and after getting several quotes we chose Coverall. The project ultimately expanded to include all of the sloped roof shingling, flat roofing, and replacing the skylight. Mark was great to work with, especially since the roofing had to be coordinated among several neighbours, but I will let them write their own reviews. Any issues were promptly dealt with, and in a cheerful way. My only issue is that it would have been ideal if Mark had been onsite the day work commenced as his team weren't familiar with all of the things that we had discussed, but it was all sorted out with a couple of calls.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Grant, thanks for the great review and all your patience throughout project helping me coordinate with the other neighbours ect.
Considering how complicated the project was between six houses in the city centre, I'm glad we got it finished with everyone happy.
Apologies I couldn't be there the first morning, we were doing two large projects (yours and another) that wound up starting at exactly the same time, sometimes the schedule just ends up that way and it's impossible to change.

Thanks again and hopefully we see you on the new home your moving to when it's time to change that roof.

Mark and crew.

9/10

We had our flat roof re-done in the summer and decided to have the fence done as part of the project as the existing fence was quite old and shabby looking. It was difficult to find companies willing to quote on the job, but Element Fence was, and we felt they really understood what we were looking for. Due to the size of the fence posts there was some custom metal work needed for the "shoes" that the posts were mounted in, and that caused a bit of delay. Ultimately the work was done before the winter weather kicked in, and it looks great and I know it's so much safer than what was there before. My only issue was that Element could have kept us better informed of their schedule - otherwise, they were great to work with.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi GrantK,

This was defiantly a unique scenario and a challenging project, share a picture if you can.

To keep things fair for all customers, our schedule is based on a 'first come, first serve' system.
However, sometimes there are delays that are out of our control.
For example, weather poses a safety issue when working on roof tops, or the Ontario One Call system is delayed and we don't have locates complete (it's illegal to dig without locates).

We're constantly working to improve our system so thank you for the positive feedback.

Element Fence

9/10

We were getting much less water than we used to from our RO system, so I called Watermart to come have a look. They quickly determined that I needed a new tank, which I suspected. Since they were going to have to do work, I had them change the filters and make a few tweaks (extra shut off valve and some other stuff), and that was happily done. Great to deal with, and now we are back to having lots of water when we need it. Update - when I changed the filters the next time, I found that one of them still had the paper insert on it. When I mentioned it to them, they sent me a set of free filters, but I still felt I had to go to a 9.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Grant. So glad to hear that we were able to solve the issue quickly and that your system is up and running again (and that you found our service easy and efficient). Please let myself or any of the team know if you ever have questions about your water system. Many thanks for your review and your business! Dave.

10/10

A circuit board in the dehumidifier Clarke installed for us about four years ago (you can see my earlier review below) died in the fall of 2016, and they were easy to get out and get the unit back up and running. I wasn't planning to do a review for that, but just recently the condensate pump (I don't have a sump pump, so the dehumidifier drains into the condensate pump which pumps into the waste water line) died, so I called to set up a service call. I got a call the next day, as promised, but was pleasantly surprised to have them suggest I just go to Home Depot rather than have them come out and provide one, saving not only the cost of a service call but probably a bit on the price of the pump! It's always such a pleasure knowing that you are working with a company that isn't in it for a quick buck, but are looking out for you.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

The hose for our central vacuum was in crisis - the cord was fraying, the connector knob had fallen out, it had been duct taped - it was time for a change. After a quick Homestars search, I found Vacuums Plus and called Marco, who spent far more time answering all my questions than such a minor matter deserved. Because I got such a good feeling, I asked him about replacing our existing vacuum, and once I gave him the serial number he was able to tell me how old it was (pretty old - 15+ years if I remember correctly), and after sending him a photo of where it lives he recommended a Nilfisk of about the same size. However, it is substantially more powerful, and significantly quieter! The best part was the installation - the guy he sent was a pro! He not only installed the unit, including humouring me (after he was basically done) by adding the port that is normally for the garage so that I can clean my crawlspace, he then tested all of the ports to ensure they were maintaining a good seal, and happily replaced one that was failing, and then happily replaced all of them when I saw how nice the new ports looked, running back and forth to his car each time. To top it all off, when I asked about a muffler (even though it was already quieter than before), he was out to the car again and set me up with a good quality muffler. So glad I found Vacuums Plus! Update - we found him a bit curt on the phone when we called about service, and to my wife when she brought the power head in, so I bumped my rating down to a 9. The service was done, but the after sales experience did not match the pre-sales one.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Grant,
It was a pleasure to answer, help, perform, complete and rest assure all of your Central Vacuum needs.
Sincerely,
Marco Mazza
Vacuums Plus
http://www.vacuumsplus.ca
647-748-7587

10/10

If you look back far enough, I was the first person to review Reliable 8 years ago when I replaced my AC, and I said then that when it came time to replace my furnace I would give them a call. Well, when my old furnace was red tagged on its annual cleaning last year, I did exactly that. I also called the "big guys" to compare prices, but Darryl was still a better price and I knew the service was going to be great, so it was an easy decision. On the day the guys came, they got the old one out and the new one in super quick, piping was all run flush to the wall to not only look great but be out of the way as much as possible, and set me up with a new filter to boot. After the free cleaning I was promised is over I certainly plan to get Reliable to keep maintaining my unit - why pay those other guys when I know the service I will get will be top notch!?! On that note, they just serviced the above mentioned AC, and the technician tweaked the furnace blower pressure to get a bit more cold air up to the top level, plus gave me a tip on maximizing comfort (run the fan hourly - the furnace costs so little now) - love it!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you were pleased with our service! We appreciate your business. We are very proud of the high-quality work we do, for our customers like you who appreciate the fact that we are willing to go the extra mile for a job well done. We also know how important you are to the long-term success of our company. We appreciate your loyalty…Darryl P.S I remember installing that Air Conditioning unit because we had a flash rain storm that came out of the blue. Both me and Dave got drenched...Darryl

10/10

We had John install new windows at the front of the house when we moved in, but put the back windows off for later. By the time we were ready to get them done we had some damage and staining from a leak that needed repair, which would then need painting, all in a three storey open area. Under the heading of "while he is here" we threw a replacement upper deck door into the mix, and then a ceiling fan in that same three storey open area! John pulled together a crack team who triaged the whole thing over less time than I thought possible, particularly when you consider that by the time he got here we had added motorized blinds (see my separate review) so we needed additional electrical (like I said in the header - plus plus plus!). Everything looks great and he got it done in the time he promised. We have used John more than once, and he never disappoints - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Grant, thank you. You and Lisa are great people to work for. John

10/10

We were having our windows replaced so we decided to replace the blinds as well. We chose Rose Sun based on their reviews and the information on their website. They went through several rounds of tweaking the quote, and once it was settled they met the timeline for delivery (including getting it mostly done while my wife was away for the day as a surprise). They did end up installing it over two days vs. one because the natural light makes things better for detail work, which I was fine with. Everyone was great to deal with, the blinds look amazing, and the skylight blind has been a huge improvement to sleeping at night.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Grant,

We are so pleased to have your feedback! We strive for excellence in customer service and are happy to hear that you were satisfied!

Kind Regards,

Rose Sun Motor Tech.

10/10

We needed a new cover for our catch basin (the old one was rusting out). Since we already had a relationship with Art Metal from the railing we did we called them without hesitation. Not only was the price great, they got it done before my vacation and the grate looks great!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

8/10

We found Nature's Air through one of those daily deal sites (like Groupon). Since it was something that we had needed, we decided to give it a try, and we were pleased. The team was on time, very thorough (I saw them popping the register covers off to vacuum). All of the equipment was wrapped so as not to damage anything.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business with us.

9/10

Derek came by to do the quotation 08/30/13. I was off for the long weekend and so I walked him around the property. While we were doing the walk around he noticed some very loose shingles. He said he would nail them down when they did the eaves. Since it was supposed to rain and I didn't want to leave it (and not even knowing who to call), I asked if he could do it since he was here. He said of course, and up the ladder he went. While he was up, he asked if I wanted to do the eaves now (which worked great for me), and so that got done too. He had to disassemble the bottom of one of them, which he then re-secured top and bottom. I was very grateful to Derek that he was willing to rearrange his schedule and take care of me on the spot. Plus, he was very personable, which made the whole thing easier. I will absolutely refer these guys to my neighbours! The only reason I didn't give a 10 was they had lost my initial request for a quotation, and I had to follow up. Derek was extremely apologetic about that, even though it wasn't his fault.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Worked with David to upgrade the kitchen. We painted all the cabinetry, rearranged some things, added a granite counter top and tile backsplash and some other goodies. David was generally great to work with, and had lots of good suggestions. Sometimes his follow up is poor/takes too long, and sometimes it feels like he could have made a bit more effort. On the whole, we are happy. His pricing was great, and his granite subcontractor was very good, both to work with and pricing.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Worked with Alex through the quotation process, and he was very patient (there was a lot of back and forth). Everyone we connected with (at the shop, installation team) was very pleasant, and they did the installation on a Saturday which was great for me. The railing looks great, and will add safety and functionality. The only reason I didn't give a 10 was there was a blob of paint that when I picked at it pulled off and left an unpainted spot. I am going to go pick up some touch up paint later in the week, so it will all work out in the end.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mr Grant

9/10

Went through several quotes with Clarke, ultimately settling on a solution that insulated the crawlspace under the house, covered an open section with some concrete, and most importantly, added a dehumidifier piped right into the waste water. This gave me a lot more comfort storing things down there, and I might ultimately add the pump and drainage to take care of any water that might still come through the wall. Only downside was there was a bit of miscommunication between the salesman and the installer as to the scope, but it was all done as promised, so I was happy, and have already recommended them to a neighbour who used them.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

It was very easy to book Max, and he worked around our schedule. He showed up on time, and not only accomplished the hard drive replacement we had contacted him for but the inevitable list of additional things we had come up with by the time. We were very happy with the service, and he was very personable while on site. Not to mention his quote was very competitive of the ones we solicited! Would definitely recommend, and would use again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our salesperson, Faouzi, was willing to spend lots of time talking with us about various options and was willing to share his personal experiences which helped a lot in making our choices. We were able to purchase some scratch and dent items at excellent prices and the regularly priced items also were reasonably priced. They were willing to hold our items until we were ready for delivery and when we were ready they were able to deliver when we needed it. The delivery guys were great considering the challenging layout of our home. Would highly recommend for appliances. Thank you for all your help Faouzi!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

On New Years Day our fridge was not cold, but the freezer side was working. After some online searches it sounded like the defrost heater was broken, We waited until the next day but found that, like most businesses, everyone was closed since New Years Day was on a Sunday. We kept calling companies listed here on Homestars and Toronto Appliance Repair actually answered! We gave him the specs for the fridge, and he agreed it was the heater, so he said he would get the parts first thing in the next day, because the parts warehouse was closed that day like everyone else. By noon the next day our fridge was working like it should, and paying cash had added benefits! ;) He offered a lot of good advice on what to look for in the future when buying a new fridge, which I thought was a great added service! Will definitely call them again.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Our a/c was quite old, so we decided to take advantage of the OPA and EcoEnergy rebates to replace it. I solicited several quotations, all of which were at the high end of the range I noted. I had been on the verge of accepting one of them, but wanted to complete my due diligence, which is how I found Homestars. As a result, having found some very negative reviews, I started again, and found Heating Plus Heating & Air Conditioning on Homestars. Their schedule was full, so they referred me to Dave at Reliable Home Comfort. Dave very quickly came out to do the quotation, and I was immediately impressed not only with his knowledgeability but by the fact that that he recommended a smaller unit than everyone else! Having done some reading, I knew that an a/c works best if it works for longer periods of time, yet all but one company quoted on a 2.5 tonne. Dave recommended a 2 tonne (my existing was 1.5), and took the time to explain the technical rationale, only some of which I had come across. I accepted Dave's quote and we booked the date. He and his assistant came by this Saturday (11/15/08) (even though the weather was poor) and everything went perfectly. He called before they left, took all of the old equipment, and left the site clean. He took me through the work done, explained all the paperwork, completed the OPA forms, and it was done. I would absolutely recommend Dave and his team, and certainly will be calling when my furnace needs to be replaced. Thanks Dave!

Was this review helpful?