Reviews

10/10

Last year we were ready to put in new counters but a health crisis prevented us from getting them done. Finally I got back to the store and met Lela again. She was BEYOND helpful ( even listening to my sad story ). Her humour just added to the experience. Her recommendations were spot on. From the initial visit to measurements and finally installation they were all awesome to deal with. There was a small cliche which was dealt with easily. Cheers to you all. Judy B

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Judy I was so glade to see you come back! Thank you for all the kind words. Enjoy your kitchen and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!


First Review

10/10

Artisan contracting was a gem of a find for us. Jim is meticulous in his work and care for a project. We received a pre-plan binder that out lined both costs and procedures of the various stages of this year down and rebuild. The cost quoted IS the cost of the project unless I made changes or something far beyond the norm is discovered. With discussion Jim willingly made changes sometimes on the fly this made the final outcome very custom and beyond our expectations. The quality of work was excellent....pride for what his company stands for is definitely evident in our finished project.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Initially the job was for the soffit and facia of the house as well upper floor window trim. After not hearing from the provider well past the proposed work date, I called him and got a very bad feeling about his lack of knowledge. I then found out we had not had full disclosure, the provider had said that painting metal (soffit and facia) was covered under their warranty...this NOT the case. At this point we requested our refund be returned and call it a day. Since a contract had been signed and a deposit given we were refused the refund and agreed to have only the window trim done. I was assured that his BEST painter would be doing the job. If this is their best everyone be fore warned! The paint is extremely thin and streaky and areas of white that were not to be painted have black smeared on them. We have had nothing but upset dealing with this company so when he came to collect his cheque my husband pointed out some of the deficient areas we could see from the ground, he did tell him we did not want them back. We had College Pro come in to complete the job and they took pictures to show us the windows were worse then we thought. We had them repaint the windows properly. So we have now paid twice to have these windows done. I called the district manager who agreed upon seeing the photos it was a poor job but we should have allowed the painter back to correct the mistakes. Why on earth would I have an obviously incompetent painter return to potentially make a bad job, worse? A home is one's greatest asset, you would not deliberately allow someone whom you know is not good at his job come and continue to devalue it. This company has a banner posted by HomeStars warning of possible fraudulent reviews...given the poor treatment, poor customer service, the poor workmanship and poor transparency of the company; I would very much believe this is what's happening. I have been in the customer service field for over 25yrs. and am shocked at the lack of desire to make a customer feel good or at least in good faith refund for a job badly done. Horrible experience all the way around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry that your experience was so poor with our operator, Dawson.

The agreement is very clear of what is covered by our extensive warranty, in fact, there is an area on the contract that you initialed to indicate that you had read our warranty guidelines.

We understand that you were not happy and we offered to come back and complete whatever touch ups you requested. I believe that is reasonable that all contractors should be able to rectify any mistakes and it is a common viewpoint in common law as well.

We understand that you hired another company to complete our work and we are sorry you chose to do so. I know if I were unhappy with my Ford dealership and sent my warranty work to be completed by GM, Ford would not cover my warranty costs. They would have asked to complete the work themselves. I think our position is a reasonable one, we are sorry that you do not feel it is reasonable.

The warning that was posted on Home stars was about a student operator not following the proper procedure to get a client to post on their site.

We have been in business since 1981 and have one of the longest warranties in the business. We have a group of incredibly hard working student that paint over 10,000 homes across Canada annually. We are sorry that you did not allow us to complete your paint job to save you money and allow us to finish our work. We are far from perfect and our students really care about doing quality work. We think our record of performance and 1000's of clients reflect this accurately.

Our sincerest apologies
Student Works

10/10

We found Stanley on Homestars. He arrived early and got to work immediately. Explained the gate issue, solved it and repaired. He worked very efficiently and is a pleasure to deal with. He will be returning to fix other areas of concern. Could not be happier!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Judy, I will get that rotten window fixed next week. If any of the houses that you are staging for sale need work I would be glad to come and fix them up.

10/10

We found the company very knowledge & competitive price wise. They were extremely friendly and informative. All work was reviewed with us. We had a secondary squirrel issue, they responded the next day resolved the matter at no cost. In a business world were consumer satisfaction is dying Awestruck went above and beyond. Judy B

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Judy!
it was a pleasure working with youi