Reviews

10/10

AWESOME! Thats the one word I would use to to describe Louis and Unique Roofing. I live in a mid unit row townhouse built in 2005 with a total of 8 units when we hired Louis in the summer of 2019. The house was not even 14 years old and the original builder grade shingles were already flipping up everywhere across all the town house units. After speaking to about 6 contractors, Louis stood out amongst the rest. When we first met, I really felt he was attentive to our concerns, answered all our questions and most importantly was HONEST. How was he honest? I had asked all the contractors about a "Maximum vent", and they just gave me a price and said I could install as many as I wanted. Louis was the ONLY one that asked me how many vents did I have on the roof. He pulled out his phone and took a look via Google satellite maps and told me I had 7 vents total. He also asked about the square footage of the house, at which point he told me he would need to REMOVE two of my vents to install the one "Maximum vent", so I would end up with a total of 5. I was a bit confused at first, because "the more vents the better right?" He explained that you dont want too much ventilation otherwise it could suck out the heated/cool air from inside the house. Since the Maximum vent was rated for 1200 sq ft, he said it would be too much ventilation. He also said he would need to remove two vents, seal it with wood, and shingle on top. No other company ever told me that too much ventilation may be a problem, ONLY Louis. It would be very easy for someone to just install the extra vents, get paid and then leave. Louis actually gave himself more work, by having to remove some vents THEN install the max vent. After more research, I found that everything he said was exactly what was recommended by the manufacturer. Louis was very knowledgeable, he explained the different kinds of shingles (US vs Canadian made), the different kinds of valleys, and a lot of other things. He encouraged us to ask more as many questions as we wanted, and emphasized when hiring a contractor you really need to have trust with them. All of our townhouse units had a final meeting with Louis and he was absolutely great at dealing with everyone. Imagine one person dealing with 8 different houses at the same time. He answered everyones questions, explained things in detail with lots of examples. He gave us a number of options, and never at anytime pushed us to do anything. He was very good at giving recommendations, and kept everyone on track. He estimated it would take about 4 days pending weather to complete all 8 units, and he stuck to his timeline and finished everything on time. He was always the first one on site at 5:30am and the last one at night at 8:30pm. He was able to get his guys to work through some of the hottest weather of the summer (humidex of 40 degrees!) and still did great work. I was able to work from home a few days and watched everything they did, and I have the utmost confidence in saying that they really did everything by the book and did not cut any corners. They did what they said they were going to do, and everyone worked together great. When they came to work, the only noise was from their tools and machines but otherwise quite minimal. Louis was constantly running around the entire site, double checking work, looking under corners and checking things. I really have a lot of faith that Louis is truely trying to do his best at all times. Bottom line, if you hire Louis you will get exactly what he tells you. He does not cut corners, constantly working, and he does exactly what he says he will do. Though Louis was not the cheapest, as with anything in life you "get what you pay for". For the price of Louis, I sleep better at night knowing that someone knowledgeable, very hard working and HONEST did my roof. I would not hesitate to recommend Louis to anyone I know, and in the future if I ever need my shingles done again I will definitely give him a call

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was looking to do insulation (blown in open cellulose) and was referred to Ecostar by a friend. I also found them to be a participating contractor through the GreenON Rebate program, and was also well reviewed on Homestars. I gave them a call to schedule an estimate and was told that someone would contact me shortly. I waited nearly 3 weeks, and called back a total of 3 more times and I was still not being contacted to schedule an appointment for an estimate. Eventually I decided to email them directly, in case my information was not being passed along and I finally was able to get someone to come in and do an estimate for me. Within one week of my email, Miri came out on Friday afternoon to come and do an estimate. Funny enough he actually did not have a ladder, and I had to lend him one. Miri was able to pop his head in to take a look at my insulation, told me that I roughly had about 7 or so inches of insulation which was about R20 something and told me I would totally qualify for the GreenON rebate program. He took measurements of my house and was kind enough to answer all my questions. He made sure all my questions were answered before he left and told me that I would receive an email quote within a few days. After a few days I did have to follow up to get my quote, but after all this everything else was smooth sailing. I got an email quote, which was pretty much what Miri told me it would be approximately. I confirmed it all looked good, and then set up an installation date. The day before they informed me that they would be coming at approximately 8-10AM the next day. On the morning off, they showed up right around 9 am and started to get to work. My installers were Eric and Armir. I showed them where the attic access was, and they started to lay down tarps and plastic wrap to protect my floors. They took off their shoes at the front of the house, and brought it up to the attic access point which at this time was all wrapped up in plastic. I have to say that these two guys were totally awesome. They came in, took their shoes off (as a home owner I REALLY appreciate that), took a look around to see how to set up and started working. They laid down tarps and plastic wrap where ever the hose was going to be. They also wrapped up the work area in plastic to minimize the amount of dust. Since it was in a closet of clothes, I really appreciated this. They told me what they would be doing, where they need to place things, and how they will be setting up so I knew what to expect. After everything was set up, one of them went into the attic while the other was in the truck. They ran a hose from the closest window to the attic and it was surprisingly quiet. As a curious home owner I did have some questions, and Armir was kind enough to invite me up to take a look at the attic and he can explain everything. Once the ladder was all set up, I popped my head in the attic and he informed me that the attic looks like its in good condition, doesnt appear to be any leaks. The current insulation seemed fine and that he would be a bit noisy as he walks around. I really appreciate the fact that it felt like these guys had "nothing to hide". They let me walk in and out to take a peak, ask my questions and they explained everything. I have dealt with some contractors in the past where they absolutely do not want me anywhere near the work area, and if I have any questions they dont bother answering them. Eric and Armin were very easy to approach and answered all my questions. They finished spraying in the blown in cellulose in about an hour or so (my attic is approximately 850 sq ft). They brought a broom and dust pan, and also offered to vacuum up after themselves to clean up all the dust. Im quite happy to report that my ceilings are all intact and there are no foot holes at all. So in total it took about 1.5 to 2 hrs to finish, though they do tell you that it could take up to 4 hrs. After they were done and about to leave they explained to me the payment options (cheque, etransfer or credit card) and which one would I like to do. They did note though that with a credit card payment there would be a slight surcharge on it (2%), so I opted for the etransfer as its the easiest. Later that day they sent me an invoice with payment instructions, I paid them the same day and next day they confirmed they received my payment. Now I am just waiting on the GreenON rebate. Im sure these guys are very busy as they are a GreenON participating contractor, so thats probably why I had some minor hiccups in the beginning as it was a bit hard to get a hold of them. I would say from the first point of contact to get an estimate to job completion it was right around a month or so, which is totally great. After all this, I have to say that they were totally awesome. Big thanks to Eric, Armir, Miri and Enri, I hope these guys keep up the good work and stay awesome!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rodney. You are correct that the GreenON project being so great has also created a huge demand for us, sometimes more than expected :). We are constantly working on improving our line of communication with our customers and we do believe it has gotten much more efficient. Appreciate the detailed description as it does remind us of the week points in our organisation and what we need to improve. Looking forward to the next project

10/10

The GTA area suffered a HUGE wind storm on Friday May 4, 2018. Driving around the next day I noticed a LOT of peoples shingles and roofs were damaged. I was taking a look at my own roof and noticed some shingles on the street that were the exact same color. I was able to finally figure out the shingles were in fact mine. I believe it was 3 shingles total that was missing, as well all the shingles around the missing shingles were "ruffled" or turned up. My job wasnt the worse, but as a home owner I obviously needed to fix this ASAP as there was another rain storm coming. I called 6 different companies, EVERYONES voicemail box was full. I also emailed a few more, and still to this day nearly one month later I have still not heard back from anyone else. I understand it was a huge disaster, but when your house is damaged you need to fix it. High skillz roofing was the only one that actually answered their phone, and was able to give me a rough quote over the phone even though they were slammed. They said they could maybe come out in 2 days, but I was surprised that they actually called later that same day and said they were on their way! When they got here I could tell they were quite exhausted, but they were able to still get the entire job done within about 30 minutes. Taking another look I cant even tell anything was fixed. In summary, I got same day service from when I called. They showed up within 30 minutes when they said they were on their way. They took maybe 30 minutes to fix my roof, and patch everything up. Even though I was a small job they still came out to fix it. How awesome is that? These guys are awesome and I look forward to calling them again for some more work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for such a great review we work had to make ourr clients satisfied!!

10/10

Louis is awesome! This was the classic battle of man vs nature, and man defintely won this time! Jokes aside I would not hesitate to recommend Louis to anyone and everyone that needs his services, and if I ever find myself in need of some animal control I know who is going to be on my speed dial. My wife and I had started to hear "scratching" in one of the rooms of our townhouse. One day when I was mowing the lawn, I noticed a hole in our soffit on our roof overhang with birds flying in and out. I called a few animal control places on homestars and Louis was one of the most responsive out of all of them. I tried calling the larger places, explained my situation and was told that they could come take a look at it in two weeks! Louis was able to come out earliest in one day, but I could only do two days out which he accomadated. Come day of, he was a bit back logged and showed up a bit later then the agreed time which was not an issue at all as he kept me up to date on things. He pulled up, and right when I opened the door he told me straight away that there was a hole in my roof, so he was right on the ball from the get go. He was totally comfortable with me hanging around and watching him work and take photos, as I was curious how the entire thing would work. He got out of his truck, quickly pulled out his ladders and made his way up to the opening. Upon inspection he found not one, but TWO openings. The main one I could see from ground level, the second one you would not be able to see unless you were up there looking at it yourself. He took out his cell phone and text me some photos with what he found and as he worked. I truely appreciated this, as it was like I was right there beside him seeing what he was seeing. Goes to show he has nothing to hide. He climbed to the very top of my roof and walked all around to make sure there were no other openings. He went back to the original problem spot and fixed the secondary opening with some "sheet metal", and began to set up a "one way door". He noted that it was definitely a raccoon that made the hole, as he saw bite and scratch marks. As well birds would not be able to make such an opening in metal. He also noted that since birds were starting to make a nest there it was likely there were no squirrels but he would check my attic to make sure. After setting up and cleaning up on the outside, he came inside to check my attic. Upon coming in, he was kind enough to take off his shoes (a lot of contractors dont do this) without my asking. He brought his shoes upstairs, while carrying a ladder and was constantly looking around to make sure he was not going to hit anything. He climbed into my attic and spent a good while up there looking around and confirmed that it should be just the birds starting to nest in the soffit opening and he didnt see signs of anything else. I could hear he walked through pretty much my entire attic to look around. Although I do believe my job was pretty straight forward and "minor" in the world of animal control, at no point in time did I feel Louis tried to cut any corners with me. I felt like he treated my home as if it was his. I also felt like he was treating my job with just the exact same amount of detail as if it was a much larger job. A lot of the other companies I contacted sounded like either they didnt want to bother with me, would take the job and probably do something really quick or not give much care. Again, although my job may be considered "small", I am the one that is living in this house. And as with any home owner, I want to trust that the contractor I hire would take as much care as I would. Louis is this and more. Louis, has definitely earned a customer for life. UPDATE: Louis and his colleague came back a few weeks later to complete the job, and I just so happened to be home as well. I overheard them looking for a hammer, as they noticed that my eavestrough has a few nails popping out and they actually noticed and were willing to hammer it back in. A small touch, but super duper appreciated - Goes to show that they dont just do the minimum. While they were up there working and fixing my soffit, they were willing to make a few small improvements.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow thank you so much for this incredibly detail review
Lol....this must be the longest review ever been sent to homestars!!

Yes i do my work on every house just if i would own them , i wouldn't want to have garbage work done to my place so i don't do fast job ....i do the way it's should have been done at 1st

Best regards
Louis from A-1CWRP

10/10

First and foremost, I have to say that David is a true professional and gentleman. When you call David, you are speaking to the owner, operator, and actual hands on person so there is no middle man to deal with. I am a big home stars fan, as I am a new home owner myself. I learned a very painful lesson that I would call a "home star rookie mistake". When my shower started to have issues (leak), I quickly looked for the companies that had the most positive reviews (on the first page of home stars). Believe it or not, this was a HUGE mistake. Most of the companies on the first page are "bigger" companies, and as such the bigger the company the more people that you are paying as well. Not only this, but when something happens, you have to go through not just one person, but a COMPANY of people. And often times you will get a company that is a "jack of all trades, master of none". I had actually spoken to over 10 contractors for an intial estimate, and finally settled on a company that was highly rated, had lots of good reviews and seemed to be the easiest to deal with. Again, HUGE mistake on my part. By the time I finally had someone come in to work on my shower reno, I had already spoken to over 4 people at this one company. I had to repeat what I wanted to each of these 4 people, and they STILL managed to screw up. When I say screw up, I dont mean that maybe they didnt nail down something enough, I mean this so called "large" company was making fundamental mistakes! The renovation that I had wanted done was to rip down my current shower down to the studs, keeping its current shape and retiling the full enclosure, new shower valve, new shower door and drain. Sounds easy enough, but you would not believe the number of mistakes that A LOT of contractors that I had spoken to were doing! As this is my first house, and first renovation, I did my due dilegence and I learned how to put together a shower (theoretically). While I lack the hands on experience, I did countless hours of research to make sure I knew exactly what I wanted. Regarding the first contractor that I had hired, he had initially wanted to build my shower with NO PRE SLOPE. If you are doing a shower renovation I urge you to please read up on this fundamental thing. Simply put, a shower is meant to be water proof AND also of course drain away any water with no standing water (standing water means mold and other issues). The first contractor tried to fluff me off by saying that a pre slope was not necessary. He also got very apprehensive when I simply stated the obvious that unless he can build a shower that defies gravity, there MUST be a pre slope towards the drain so water can drain away. If you ever go into a washroom, and you smell something musky and moldy in the shower, the grout lines are cracking in the shower base, and maybe some tiles are cracked that is a VERY bad sign that potentially there is no pre slope and it will eventually leak. With no pre slope, the first contractor was basically trying to build me a pool, something to hold the water in but NOT drain away! Also, I attached a picture of some of the handy work of the first contractor. When he was installing my shower valve, he did not measure it properly and it would have stuck out from the wall way too far. After a very bad experience, and lots of stress I finally had to fire the first contractor mid way. I lost my deposit and was left with a hole in my wall now where my shower should be. So I start to make some more phone calls, through the first few pages of home stars and all the other companies was giving me the same nonsense. While a pre slope is not against code, its logically necessary, ask around! Finally I found David after dealing with countless others. when I met David, I must tell you it was an absolute breath of fresh air. Every single contractor I had called in, they all came in nice cars, nicely dressed with fancy clothes. Right off the bat, you can tell that these guys are NOT the ones doing the actual work. These "sales" guys will promise you the moon but when the real guy that does the work comes in its a whole other story, and will try to upsell you more, but its too late now as your on the hook once they step foot into your door. Trust me, I saw this game first hand with the first contractor, and quite a few other ones I had called for a quote. David is 110% honest, where he will tell you if its not a problem, its not a problem. Who knows better then the one doing the work? And David is the one doing the work! Also, if it doesnt make sense or could lead to a problem, he will also tell you straight up what potential issues there may be. David was not the most polished looking of the contractors I met, but let me tell you from the first time I spoke to him on the phone to the last time I shook his hand this guy was an absolute gentleman. He came in and was able to quickly assess all the issues from the previous contractor. He spoke to me for over 2 hours in the first meeting going over every single detail with me making sure that we were on the same page with everything from the schedule, the materials, start dates, everything! David is an open book, if you ask him a question he will more then willingly tell you the answer, or his reasoning. The shower materials that I had wanted to use was Schluter. David is a "certified schluter installer" which is a huge bonus as his training really shows. Every single thing he did was absolutely 110% textbook straight out of the manufacturer instructions. If you go on Youtube to look at how to install a Schluter shower, David will do it for you in real life and more! There are some situations that you NEED to have experience to know how to handle. For example, I have a neo angle shower, so there are some corners that are not perfect 90 degree angles. How would you go about sealing them? Well, David knew how! The last contractor I had hired was making LOTS of assumptions. I saw he was just throwing the instructions to the side and just jamming things together. There were countless things I caught him on. David on the other hand, welcomed me to see what he was doing. He actually let me do a few things here and there (these are lessons worth the money!). I saw him do a lot of dry fitting, measuring and making sure everything fit together. Measure twice cut once! He would at times review the manual, to make sure that everything is correct and then install everything. I really can not emphasize this enough, Davids installation of every single thing in my shower was absolutely 110% textbook as per manufacturer instructions. Not one single step was skipped, and he went above and beyond even! David installs things from the home owners perspective, he makes sure that its all correct and to your satisfaction. The last contractor I hired, had I let him continue the shower would not leak or have issues right away but it will very soon. Why take the risk? The shower David built me, Im sure will last longer then the house itself now! David is a true man of his word. He shows up when he says he will, he will text/call any updates or delays. He will allow you to take lots of pictures, as well as take lots of pictures himself. This in itself really shows he has NOTHING to hide. David worked nearly every single day for over 2.5 weeks. I think he could have finished the shower faster, but I was coming in and out to see how things were going, so I do take some of the blame. Some weeks he worked a full 7 days. Of course some days he would come in for a half day, to set up equipment or install something and then need to let it dry. From the front of the house, right up to the work area, David put drop clothes down. He was as neat as humanly possible, but do keep in mind this is a renovation and dust will be flying around. I would also highly recommend that you have an area set aside for David to set up all his toys/equipment. Sometimes I felt like he was a walking Home Depot, with all his equipment he was definitely prepared for any scenario. Another thing, his daughter was due to have a child, and I only found out about this AFTER he came to work and mentioned it around lunch time that "oh hey, my daughter also went to the hospital and is having a child". THAT right there is true dedication to his work, to work through even such a big occassion! During the entire installation there were a few extremely small minor issues that David was quick to rectify. For example there was a tile that somehow got a small chip on a corner, I assume from the cutting process it may have just flaked off. I casually mentioned this to David and he right away went to work removing that tile and replacing it! Any other contractor would have fluffed it off and said "oh the grout will cover it" or something. But not with David, he said "if your not happy, Im not happy so lets fix this". Another big thing to look out for with contractors when working in a shower/bathtub install is to ask them for a flood test. I do not mean simply taking a bucket of water and throwing it down the drain watching the water go down. As per any manufacturer (especially Schluter), they recommend filling the shower area with water and letting it sit there for a full 24 hours to ensure there is no leaks. David had no issues with me doing this, while other contractors were extremely hesitant. Once the tiles are on, theres no way of figuring out where the leak is happening. I do not understand why more contractors dont do this test! This is the time to test it! I attached some pictures, but what David and I did was fill the shower base up with water, and make sure that no water leaked out from the sides. And let me tell you, 24 hrs later, the water did not drop one single bit! If a shower can hold water for 24 hours, Im pretty sure it will not leak! Of course the second test is also to drain the water and make sure there is no puddling, which with the shower David built me the water went straight down the drain no problems at all. Im more of the functional person, whereas my siginificant other is all about the "final look and touches". David passed me with flying colors, as everything was installed perfectly. And he also passed my significant others judgement, and the final product is really something that makes me smile every time I use it. I know 110% sure that not only will this shower last me until my house crumbles, but it also looks pretty darn good if I do say so myself. I truely believe 100% that David installed everything correctly, but on top of that I believe David gave me 110% effort! Thats a lot more then other contractors out there! David is meticulous in his methods, he made sure that any dirty water was thrown OUT the house. Not down a drain IN the house. This is extremely important, as why would you want dirty water filled with grout thrown down your drain? Some contractors have no problem doing that! David made sure that only clean water went down the drains. No dirty grout water, or else this will plug your drains! A last few notes about David, is to make sure that you have lots of tea stock piled as he really likes his tea. And I heard he also has a weakness for Ice cream. Also, one last thing about David is to beware his extremely friendly and addictive conversations! At the end of all of this, I feel like not only was the job done superbly but I would have zero hesitation to call David back for anything, including maybe a BBQ. Seriously, hes really just that great of a guy that I have no problem just hanging out with him. Thanks David, and I really look forward to our next project together!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for review. I always treat every home as if it was my own. I was saddened to see, how these contractors sucked your hard earned money which such poor results. They did use good material but it's application was incorrect and would have led to failure. My goal is to meet your expectations and I think I achieved it -- which makes me an extremely satisfied and a proud contractor.

10/10

I emailed John through homestars on Wednesday, got a reply Thursday and also called him as well. Spoke to him on the phone regarding my situation and he was on site by Friday afternoon. I called Friday morning to confirm our appointment, and despite him being down a person and a bit behind schedule he still was able to make it within the time frame he told me. So A+ for communication and punctuality so far! Very friendly, down to earth and willing to listen to what I had wanted to do. I had wanted to get my asphalt driveway sealed as I live in a townhouse with a shared driveway. The person I had bought it from had done a very bad job of sealing before and the line dividing my side of the driveway with my neighbors was all curved giving me less of a driveway then my neighbors. My neighbors for god knows what reasons seem to always have about 4+ cars on their 2 car townhouse driveway (they also have interlock) that seem to have license plates from Florida, Virginia, New Hampshire and a bunch of other places. And of course they always parked right on the line if not over, which so happened to curve right into my share of the driveway making it a pain to pull out and in from. Its incredibly annoying coming home and seeing a crammed driveway with someones bumper sticking onto my side too. John and his crew did a clean up of all the dirt on the driveway to make sure there was no debris while sealing. He also used wood boards to make sure that he did not over spray onto my lawn, my house or anywhere else except onto my asphalt driveway. Most importantly for me, he helped me to measure out the driveway to make sure of where our line should exactly be divided. I didn't want any disputes with my neighbor, and John was spot on while setting up. He used tape to line it all up, made sure that I took a look and was satisfied with how straight it was then it was onto the spraying. My driveway now has a clear contrast with my neighbor, and looks as good as new as well as straight as an arrow right down the middle as I needed it to be. Yes I know it may look a bit funny having a driveway look "half sealed" but thats the price I am willing to pay if it clearly ensures my property line is clear. John took the time to understand my annoyance at my neighbors infringing on my space, and also had some other suggestions to further help make clear the lines if I wanted to go further. It goes a long way when someone doesn't come barreling in does a rush job and sticks their hand out to get paid. John was the total opposite of this, and even though this was a relatively small job it meant something to me and he took the time to care for it like he cared just as much as I did about my property. I also had a conversation with John regarding potentially putting in interlock and the process and would definitely call him in the future when I am ready. If everyone was charging the same price, the most important difference then would be whether the job is done right. I have no question that what John says he will do, he will do it right or make it right. You get what you pay for, and John is worth it. I would not hesitate to recommend or use John again, and in fact I have already spoken to a friend about him.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I recently purchased a 60 LCD TV "refurbished" - biggest mistake ever!! The TV took over 2 months to get to me and was heavily damaged it looks during shipping. When opening the box and plugging in the TV I noticed white light at the top of the LCD. Worse of all the TV would not stay on any longer then 5 minutes. I would turn it on, then after 5 minutes just shuts itself down and the power button starts to flash on the TV. I called the manufacturer, and was advised to seek out their "recommended TV repair guy" MR Services WHAT A GOD SEND! I called and he promptly picked up, and out of the 20 "TV guys" that I called he sounded like he actually knew what was going on when I described the issue over the phone. He was extremely nice and offered a free "diagnostic" to see if the TV would even be worth it to fix. He was extremely helpful, setting up an off hours time for me to drop off the TV. He does not open on the weekends, but his schedule is a bit "flexible" pending appointments. After dropping off the TV he promptly gave me a call and let me know he found the issue and for only $275 could fix it! I would have been out of pocket $1300 for a large paper weight but was able to salvage the situation thanks to MR Services. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone, I was at my wits end at my $1300 paper weight! Now my TV has been working perfectly for the last 3 months Thanks so much MR services!!!

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I have a very expensive 30 inch Dell LCD monitor that recently just went "black" on the screen for absolutely no reason whatsoever. Prior to the screen dying, it was working just fine as expected. It suddenly flashed a few horizontal lines and then was kaput. I could see the power was on, and when I turned off all the lights in the room I could see that the monitor was still "lit". After some googling I found some people suggested it may have some bad capacitors some where and then my search began for a place to repair my monitor. I found Roman through an online advertisement for LCD monitor repairs. Roman was FAST to reply to my email, and although I had many questions for him he answered all my concerns. I also gave him a quick call as I wanted to clarify a few things and he was very open to speaking to me on the phone. He provides free estimates, which really helped persuade me to go and let him have a look. I promptly brought it in, and the next day he informs me its actually not the capacitors but is some sort of board in the LCD and he could source a part to fix it for only $50 ish dollars. I obviously did not want to spend a few hundred buying a new LCD when I had a perfectly wonderful one already, so I gladly told him to go ahead and fix it. I picked up the monitor a week later, and its been over 2 months and no issues. The monitor works exactly as expected. Roman is a life saver, if not for him I would not have been able to fix this monitor on my own. I would absolutely recommend him, and he also does many other types of electronic repairs (for example projectors, TV's, printers and so forth) His website is located here http://www.rosebudtech.ca/lcd-monitor-screen-repair-toronto.html

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Fantastic! I am a first time home owner, and just recently closed on my place. I had wanted to make sure that everything was fully clean top to bottom including the duct work as I have some allergies to dust. Paul and Johnny came over promptly during the allotted time, prepared for work. They went straight to the furnace to check things out, and then asked if I wanted to take a look to see "how bad" it was inside. To all of our surpise, the place looked clean! Clean enough that I actually probably didnt need the deep cleaning that I had ordered. Paul was very fair in letting me know that although I could still opt for the deep cleaning, it really wasnt necessary and that a light cleaning would do for a smaller amount. This tells and shows a lot about the integrity of the company where they are willing to work with you to keep costs low. I found that after purchasing a home, the costs are never ending and where and when you can save is definitely most appreciated. I would absolutely recommend Paul and his crew to anyone I know, as I saw hands on what kind of equipment they use and would definitely use them again when the time comes. I consider even a basic cleaning money well spent, as being a first time owner I also got some tips, pointers and advice which I feel is money well spent. The best companies not only come and do the job for you, but they also tell you how to keep things going and why you should. Thanks again Paul and Johnny!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rodney, thanks for taking the time to share about your experience with us. Glad you were happy with our work and appreciate our honesty, that is how I like to run my business. Congrats again on your new place, and if there is anything we can help with down the road, feel free to contact us. All the best, Paul

10/10

A bit of background about myself first I am a first time home buyer, and have been scrimping and saving for the day that I was able to finally find the perfect placee I could call my own. After searching for about two years (the GTA housing market was just insane in the area I wanted), the stars decided to finally shine on me and I put a bid on a house. To my ecstatic surprise, and a bit of negotiation the sellers accepted! Then panic set in when I realized I needed to find a home inspector ASAP. And to make things worse it was Canada day long weekend, and only had a few days to get everything in order. So the mad scramble began, googling and asking friends. Through both a friend, and my own research I came across Brent and his near flawless reputation in home inspection. I contacted Brent, and to my surprise he responded extremely promptly, within a few hours even on a long weekend. We chatted a few more times and he was on his way for a home inspection. He arrived early and got down to work. He noted quite a few things that I had not noticed before which raised my alarm bells but he was also quick to explain why and how to fix the issue. So not only was he able to find WHAT was wrong, he also took the time to explain WHY (the root cause) and HOW to fix it and prevent anything further. I really appreciate his ability to communicate the why and how to fix the issue. I met a lot of other people in my life where they just tell you "oh you got a problem" but never how to fix it or what caused it. And knowing is half the battle! The home inspection was completed in a very timely manner with nearly no issues (minus a broken light cover though this was a total freak accident). The best part about Brent I found was that he actually is willing to listen to you after the home inspection, provide further advice and insight and re-assurance. He didnt just "get in and out", but still spent quite a bit of time speaking to me on the phone as to the issues he noted. As well, his advice was very neutral and unbias as he could have easily up sold me or referred me to others. Again, being a first time home buyer my nerves were stressed to the max as my entire life so far led up to this one huge monster purchase! Brent was steller in every way for his after sales service. What keeps people coming back and recommending to others is after sales service. It's the "wow" factor that someone cares about you more as a person rather then just another transaction to wipe their nose with and throw away. In summary, Brent was fast, efficient, courteous, detailed, patient and thorough. I really appreciate his time and explanations, especially being a first time home owner it was over whelming! And again, his after sales service is second to none. I would not hesitate to recommend to Brent to anyone I know. And I have no doubts Brent will also keep any future clients from saying "WOW" as well.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sir Rodney!!! You will become King of the Castle!!! Like ... wowee!!! What a review! Thank you sooo much. I am so happy for you guys. I'm glad that I was of help. I know how excited and nervous you are. If you ever, ever, ever have any questions whatsoever about the home (your new castle) always please feel free to contact me. Enjoy your new home, all the best, and congratulations!!! Thank you for choosing Classic Home Inspections!!!