Reviews

0/10

I paid in full for the service upon booking eavestrough cleaning for my 2.5 storey home, including porches and garage. I was immediately given a service week & told that I would receive an email confirming the exact date within that week. The week in question, no one came. I emailed at the end of the week, and only then was told that my week had changed to the following week. On the day the service was scheduled, their team arrived. They set up a ladder in the front, and climbed up with a couple of buckets. Literally 9 minutes later they had already come back down and departed from my home. I had someone at home just in case, and they reported that the crew didn't ask to go to the backyard or laneway (even though we paid extra to ensure that the eaves to our back porch and garage were also cleaned). The crew didn't knock on our door to alert us of any issues, nor did I receive any phone calls to alert me that the work couldn't be done. Within 9 minutes, poof, gone. Upset, I called Groupon to request a refund. I then contacted the vendor directly via email to request a refund for the additional portion I paid them directly. I received a phone call from their owner Mark Springall berating me for calling Groupon, insisting that their crew did a good job (within 9 minutes!) and refusing to refund me. A little later, he admitted that his crew couldn't clean the upper eaves because there were gutter guards. He didn't explain why they didn't clean the easily accessible and unguarded eaves just above the main floor and why his crew didn't call me, or him, before leaving. He also threatened to complain about me to Groupon and to have me "blacklisted." He was quite threatening. The photos included here were taken AFTER their purported work, and are for areas within 8 feet of the ground! Clearly they weren't cleaned at all. I replied to the owner by email giving him a second chance to admit that his crew did a poor job and to refund me. I even shared these photos with him and invited him to share his crew's photos with me, which he never did, likely because they don't exist. He continues to refuse a refund.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

The sales person, Victor, was very knowledgeable and inspired trust. He explained all of our options thoroughly and essentially gave us a furnace and a/c 101 course! He wasn't pushy at all. The install happened like clockwork. The team arrived and, despite it being a challenging install (a very tight furnace room!) they finished the job in one day. The new equipment seems to be well installed and works perfectly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris- Thanks for sharing! Happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us. Your note is much appreciated!

2/10

I too thought this was a great deal on Groupon. I guess you get what you pay for. I've got two major concerns with Diamond Duct Cleaning: terrible customer service and incomplete work. I scheduled the duct cleaning a week ahead of time. I was given a 2 hour window for arrival - between 11 and 1pm. I'm completing renovations at my home so I wasn't living there, but scheduled my time to be there for this. Well past 11am, I was wondering where the cleaner was. I called and was told that they didn't want to come that day due to heavy traffic, and that they couldn't arrive till noon. I reminded them that this was well within their 2 hour window, but they still refused to come. They instead rescheduled me for later in the evening - essentially ruining my whole day. I asked why my job scheduling had to suffer to the benefit of their other jobs and didn't get much of an answer. When they arrived, they seemed to do a decent job. However, a week and a half later I finally got around to inspecting the ducts again. One duct in particular still had a lot of debris in it. I called Diamond asking if they could come back and address it, and they refused to, saying that I waited too long to call them. I explained that no one else had been in the home to do any further work in that area, so it was impossible that we caused additional debris to fall into that vent. The owner of the company seemed incredulous and again refused to come and clean out the one vent. He kept insisting that we need to just buy another duct cleaning package, which I think is ridiculous. I get that construction causes debris... but all demolition work that could have been the cause of this debris was completed well before they arrived, and no more has taken place since. This company balked at their obligations because I took more than a couple of days to call them about the issue. I definitely search for another company next time, one that has better customer service and treats their customers right.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I hired Diamond for a second time, this time to replace the aged and damaged aluminum around my bay windows. They were able to schedule my install quickly, and Ray came by to do the job as promised. He went above and beyond and the job looks great. Once again, very happy with their work and price!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Chris, it was our pleasure to work with you again! I'm glad it all worked out. - Lindita

10/10

I called George about reconnecting my gas stove. He came out right away, completed the work and left the space in a tidy manner. He was fair in his price and honest in his work. I'd happily call him again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Chris, thanks for the wonderful review. I am glad everything worked out and we were able to get this up and running for you within a couple hours. Thanks again and great job on the reno's. Kitchen looks great!

10/10

Hassan, the sales rep, was very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we were happy. We had a specific wood in mind from a specific manufacturer, and they were able to source it at a very competitive price. He came to our home to measure provide a sample as well. His installer was efficient and did a good job. Afterward, Hassan called us to make sure we were 100% satisfied. Hassan was also able to connect us with a good tile installer who completed that end of the project in collaboration with the hardwood installer, so we could have a seamless transition from one to the other - and it looks great. Very happy with their work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris, thank you for the review. Hassan is an asset to our company and has been in the business a long time. We are happy you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again in the future if you have any more flooring projects.

Thank you once again.

Jeannie

10/10

Diamond Aluminum installed vinyl and aluminum siding at my home, as well as soffits & fascia for my rear addition, and a new downspout. The install crew was friendly and did a fine job. The siding looks great! They also came quickly to address a couple of minor concerns I have. I'm very happy with their service and would call them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris thanks for the review and allowing us to work with you for your installation - Lindita

10/10

Keystone completed an unexpectedly difficult install of a fireplace at my home. They went above and beyond to make the install work - running a new gas line when they couldn't tee off an existing one, and installing the exhaust vent in such a way that it minimized the protrusion into the living space. They were also far more reasonable in cost (for the unit and install) than the top rated competitor. I'd gladly recommend their work!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I needed a quick turnaround on gravel at my site, and I needed the gravel delivered in bags. Homeland was able to accommodate my order quickly and easily. Their price was fair, perhaps a bit above average once you factor in delivery, but not unfair. I was happy with the cost and service. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I called Bathurst Readimix to deliver some concrete to my home. They were able to come within 24 hours, they arrived on time as promised, and delivered the product as promised. Very happy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

The salesperson came to my home and gave a fair quote for the roofing job, and actually gave me some great advice that ended up saving me a lot of money! In addition, the roof itselt looks great. I'm very happy with their work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Marcelo Ponciano did an excellent job at my home. His guys were efficient and thorough. He walked me through the process and made me feel very comfortable with their work. His team went above and beyond the "scope of work" to ensure the best possible outcome. The guys came when promised and even came back an extra day because one part of the job was more difficult than expected. All this, and they were among the most reasonably-priced operators out there (and I got quotes from many!) I am very happy, and would happily recommend Ontario Asbestos Removal.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, we are happy to know we provide the services, please contact us anytime for anything we will be there.

Best Regards

10/10

Albert at Universal Demolition was super nice and took care of all of my questions, concerns and special requests. The work was done quickly and efficiently. They left the space clean and in exactly the state that they promised they would. I am very happy with their work and would happily call on them for demolition work in the future!

Was this review helpful?
9/10

I hired Greensaver to do spray foam insulation in our second floor. The work was completed as quoted, as confirmed by random checks of the thickness of the foam. Scott, the estimator, was friendly and efficient. He was able to schedule our job in quickly. There was a small miscommunication about a part of the project, which led to a small extra fee. My only complaint here is that I was only informed of this after the job was complete, but it was minimal. My suggestion: double check the wording of your scope of work so everyone's totally clear on every detail. I have to hand it to them, they accidentally damaged a door frame during the work but were fully accountable and paid for the cost of the repair. Would happily call them again, and plan to do so, when we insulate our main floor.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Wholesale Drywall Direct sourced and delivered various types of drywall right to the project site. They carry a very wide selection, and their office was very helpful in ensuring that the order was correct and delivered on time. They also offer a price-match service, so you'll always get the best price possible so long as you do a little research. They offer curb-side and walk-in delivery service which is great. On my delivery, one product was incorrectly invoiced, but they came and enchanged the product with no questions or hassle. I'd gladly contact them again!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I hired King Recycling to provide large 12'x8' waste bins to get rid of construction waste during our renovations. They delivered the bins quickly and took them away just as quickly, on demand. Their price is also extremely competitive, and better than most others who provide the same service.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

I spoke to Joe at Downtown Roofing about repairing my roof and re-flashing the vent stack, after I had it changed from cast iron to PVC. Their price was competitive and reasonable, and they were able to complete my repair quickly and on schedule. I'm happy to have found them!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We hired Red Robin to repair a wall that crumbled only a year after a contractor had repaired it. They identified the problem and rebuilt the wall quickly and efficiently. It looks great and feels / looks far better built than it was. They did everything they could to accommodate my timeline and completed the work quickly and at a good price. In addition, they identified the source for potential future problems with the wall and gave excellent advice on how to avoid those problems in the future.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Another contractor tried to install fence posts for us and did a terrible job. Element came in, removed the old posts and built a beautiful fence in its place according to our specifications. Their attention to detail is remarkable, and they've ensured that the job was completed fully and to our satisfaction. Element also accepts credit cards, which is a plus!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our first review!!
Thanks Chris,

We hope your fence is a pretty today as it was the day installed.
We are all a consumer somewhere, who doesn't want to collect points?!
Element Fence accepts credit card and e transfer.

Daniel
Element Fence

8/10

We greatly enjoyed purchasing our bed set and laundry pair from The Brick! We got an excellent deal, and found exactly what we were looking for. It's two years later for the bedset (the laundry pair is a more recent purchase) and it's still in great shape. I'd gladly buy furniture there again.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We hired Energy Crew to help with our move from condo to home. The crew was very patient - even with an elevator out of service they didn't stress, and worked around other residents who needed the elevator as well. They successfully moved all the contents without any damage. Very happy with their work!

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Before buying my home we contracted Pillar To Post to do a home inspection for us. The report we received was detailed and fairly thorough. Their report also included several tips on maintenance that have proven helpful. The inspector walked us through the house and what to expect, and we felt much more secure and comfortable in our purchase afterwards. Also, happily, now that we purchased the home there haven't been any surprises!

Was this review helpful?
0/10

We engaged Micon to renovate our basement: lowering to create an 8' ceiling height (which would involve underpinning), the final finishing, and some odds and ends such as replacing the front porch and installing fence posts. The underpinning was completed properly, as was the basement finishing. Our issue with this is the time it took - originally estimated around 2 months, it ended up taking 6 months. Not entirely their fault, however. Where things get dicey is once we paid for the project in full (which was just prior to completion). There are still some outstanding deficiencies, but all of a sudden the contractor has been extremely difficult to reach - doesn't answer the phone, doesn't reply to emails, etc. We've tried scheduling days for their workers to come, and all but once the workers didn't show up without notice. On one of the days they actually did show up, the workers installed the long awaited fence posts. Micon agreed to install these posts for us for free as part of other renovations they were completing for us. In the end, they balked and said it would actually cost $500 to meet the specifications we needed. They claimed the material and time costs would be higher than anticipated. We reluctantly accepted. We were very direct on where the first post should be placed, the distance between posts, etc. The builder ended up ignoring all of our specifications and in fact misrepresented certain aspects (ie the type of cement they'd use, and the time it took - half of what he originally quoted us - because they didn't do the job as required). In the end, the fence line isn't a straight line, the distance between posts is completely off and some posts aren't even perfectly vertical (they are at an angle!) Therefore we refused to pay this extra $500. At this point we are very worried if they will make good on their warranty promises. Time will tell. ** update: As of January 20, 2014, Micon's workers have yet to resolve the outstanding deficiencies.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

They did a good job cleaning our vents, even found a dead mouse that had crawled in there during renovations. They also made a return visit when we were concerned about a couple of the vents. Solid work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to share a few kind words. Glad you were happy with the work we performed for you and the follow up visit to clean the vents that were missed. Thanks again for your business, if we can be of any service or help in the future, please feel free to contact us. All the best, Paul

7/10

I hired Ian Cunha to design plans and solicit permits for retrofitting my basement into a second unit (requiring underpinning and complete finishing). Ian was efficient and created a solid design which drew a great response, and earned top rent in our neighbourhood. Only one issue, which is probably not even his fault... a couple of items which Ian felt weren't necessary ended up being imposed by the building inspector. This cost us more money than we expected. This could just be because our inspector was a bit more strict than most. Regardless, it came as a surprise. (for example - double 5/8th drywall between the two units, resilient channel were not planned for).

Was this review helpful?
4/10

As our rented water heater was nearing the end of its life we asked Direct Energy to replace it with a new model. They promised that their installation fee ($100) would be waved because the water / gas drops were already supplied and nearby. When they arrived, DE decided they didn't like the placement of the gas drop and installed their own. They then proceeded to bill me $250 + HST for this "service." I did not approve of this, nor was it necessary. I had to call and file a complaint against the charge, and continued my conversation with Direct Energy. They refused a refund. It was only after I wrote a letter to their "office of the president" that a refund was finally given. Home owners beware.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Chris,
Send us your phone number and address so we can determine why the line needed to be moved. We will work with our team to investigate why the technician had to run new lines. It could have been for code or accessibility reasons, but send us your info and we’ll find out exactly why.
Thanks