Reviews

9/10

After I had a pretty bad experience with another post hole digging company, I went back to homestars to look for another one, and am glad to have found these guys! My neighbour and I were redoing our fence with 6x6 posts and instead of killing ourselves doing it, we called the experts with big machines and the knowledge to do so. So they arrived, did what they said they were going to do. There was only one slight problem created...they backed the machine up into my receptacle that was sticking out of the ground cracking the case. There will be more repairs for me to do in the future. Oh and they also asked to use one of my plywood boards to drive on to avoid ruining my interlocking at the backyard; good thing I had one (I would’ve appreciated if they brought their own but I suppose it was nowhere promised that they would). Aside from that, I would still recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jason,
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry but we do not have plywood in our trucks...
Sefi and the entire crew of Citywide

10/10

As with many companies I end up hiring for services, I go with my gut feeling (I have a big gut, so when the feelings are there, it’s there). I needed to get my ductwork replaced as I’m doing a major reno at my place. Got my usual 3 quotes from companies (found on here from homestars) but Ronald was recommended to me from two separate friends that didn’t actually know each other, so I figured that was a good sign. Even better sign was that I didn’t know they were on homestars but when Ronald told me the company was on it I was unsurprised with all the ratings given to them which I think was rightfully earned. So anywho, Ronald came in for a quote, took a lot of time explaining to me what needs to be done as per the hvac plans to pass inspection. He wasn’t necessarily he cheapest option, but the whole “you get what you pay for” mantra is something I would get tattooed on myself (if I did get this specific tattoo, I wouldn’t go for the cheapest option there either). So I went with my gut, and am glad to say the gut is still working for me. Ronald and Nelson came by, did some high quality work for me in less than two days. Most people find finishing renovations their favourite, but I’m one of those people that find mechanical work just as if not more sexy. I mean, look at my pictures of the work they did! So yes, 10/10 would definitely recommend, and there is no...Division of my opinion of Division!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jason for your amazing review! We are glad you chose us to do the ductwork in your home and are happy with our work! We appreciate your business and we look forward to working with you again on future hvac work if needed!

10/10

What more could be said about Leuri and his crew that wasn’t said? We met in April for a date in July. I was thinking that that 3-month lag time would mean that there was a chance that he might get delayed because who knows what could happen in three months. Glad to say I was wrong! Not only did they come when they said they would, they were in and out in less than two days...crazy for the amount of work they did! Reasons I like Leuri and the crew: -knowledgeable -professional -funny guys -went over with me step by step what they were going to do -did some extra steps to ensure I didn’t have to do extra work (i.e. made the steel beam fit in a way so they didn’t have to take down the front door, which other guys might’ve done because it would’ve been easier) -charged very fairly for the work and materials (including extra, more expensive materials he didn’t charge for like LVL’s), and allowed for flexible payments -that Leuri insisted on getting a proper building permit because he could stand behind his work (the city inspector approved it in mere minutes, even commenting to me that “whoever did this knew what they were doing”) Reasons I didn’t like Leuri and the crew: - - - So anyway, hire these guys if you want them to properly rebuild your planet...errr...home. I did and am glad I found them on Homestars!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You're very kind to share such positive feedback about your experience with us.
It was an absolute pleasure working with you. You make going to work easy.
Let us know if you need anything

6/10

Requested 7 fence posts for 6 x 6, and 6 footings for my future deck. Upon arrival, the contractor "did not know" that he had to install the footings as well as he as under the impression he was only doing the fence posts; he seemed annoyed (wasn't my fault; I requested it from when I called). He also complained about being too tired multiple times. Off to a great start! They did what they had to do but not without my own annoyances: -I originally requested for 7 posts, but he could not access the machine for one of them. I was fine with that, but the machine damaged one my trees when he tried to access it -he didn't like the brackets for the footings I provided and harped on it more than a few times because they weren't the "standard ones". I'm pretty sure these brackets have been used in the past as they have been sold at the stores for years (I bought them at Home Depot). Basically I was requesting to have just bolts installed into the footings and the bracket which as designed to be adjustable I would install afterward, but he said the bracket had to be installed with the bolt. As a result, my adjustable bracket is no longer adjustable as it as set in the concrete already -they didn't agitate the concrete in the sonotubes after pouring the concrete in it to release any air pockets (I even asked him if they would; he said they would but they didn't). As a result, the brackets settled unevenly in the sonotubes and the concrete sunk in a bit within the sonotube (not level at the top of the sonotubes). I don't do this for a living but I would imagine this should be a common practice? -his helper dropped the wheelbarrow of concrete on my neighbour's property. I understand accidents happen, but they did not do a good job of cleaning it up (removing all the larger stones on his grass). I'm grateful my neighbours are nice and understanding -maybe this is my fault for not investigating into this earlier, but there were extra charges I was not aware of ("marking fees" and the addition of an extra "man hour") and he did not make it clear at the beginning of the job. But I can't blame him as he was quite tired! (sarcasm) This is hard work; I get it. It's why I hired a company to do it (and one that was regarded good by Homestars). I would probably not use them again in the future if I needed another post hole digging company. I don't think I'm unreasonable (as you can see from my other reviews), but this one just left me disappointed. I do want to add though, that I found Paula (my first point of contact) to be very professional and pleasant, and she even contacted the locate companies for me. If only the on-site crew matched that professionalism. You win some, you lose some!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your feedback. We always welcome constructive criticism and feedback we can use to improve our customer service. We're sorry that your experience with us was not up to par and we hope that we can better serve our future customers from your candid feedback. If you wish to further discuss the specific issues you had (ie. brackets, unagitated cement, and the spill on your neighbours lawn), please feel free to email us directly and we can see how we can address these concerns
Thank you
Adrianne

10/10

I wanted to jump onto the bandwagon of the fancy script house numbers, so I naturally did my google searches for companies that did it. I got a few quotes and got a few responses. Found a company (tribecca signs) who in turn directed me to Nathan. I liked Nathan's response (and price!) as he sent me an electronic mock-up of what the sign would look like on a picture of my house I sent. I had the option of having Nathan install it or I do it myself. To my satisfaction, if I did it myself it would come with a template, instructions and silicone! So I ordered the sign for self-install and it arrived within days. The install itself was pretty straightforward and the instructions were as clear as could be. I would definitely recommend this company to anyone looking to fancy their home up. I already got compliments from the neighbours as I'm the first one in the neighbourhood to have such a sign :)

Was this review helpful?
10/10

My home is now over 30 years old, so I had the dreaded "hope it doesn't leak during the Spring Thaw" feelings...unfortunately those feelings came true. Luckily (if there is a "luckily" to draw from here), I removed the old, dilapidated deck from the backyard and the basement walls were also down so I could see where the water infiltration came from. I'm more of a "do it once, do it right" kind of home owner, so I had a few estimates come in. One company suggested doing just one little part of the wall, but I figured to get the whole wall done. One reputable company came in and gave a fair quote, but when I met Alex from City Wide, I knew this was the company I wanted to work with. Alex gave me a quote that was a bit more expensive than the other reputable company, so I asked him if there was anything he could do; he in fact did a lot more than I could have hoped for...he matched the price. Alex explained to me the materials they were using, the lifetime warranty that was transferable, and he slotted me in for a date I could work with (after I got my basement windows replaced). He even made sure he gave me his (in his words) "best crew" and ate the cost of having an HVAC guy come in to disassemble my A/C unit so the guys could do the work properly. Well date of install came and unfortunately it landed on the hottest day of the year. There was even an extended heat warning...I wasn't expecting them to do much but much to my surprise the backbreaking, crazy hard work of digging out the dirt was 3/4 completed. They even came in to work the next day when it was just as hot and humid. Much kudos to the crew! Alex estimated a four day job, but due to unforeseen circumstances it turned into a bit more than that. But I wasn't mad! This is work I could never imagine doing myself, extra work was thrown in for free (ex. parging a hole in my rear wall), and Alex is a great person to work with that always makes sure his customer is happy (at least that's how he treated me). I'm hoping it stays dry this coming up spring time (based on the work I saw, I think it will). I also hope I never have to waterproof my other walls, but if I do and if anyone asked me for a recommendation as to where to go, I would not hesitate to refer them to City Wide!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your detailed review and picture. We appreciate you taking the time to write this excellent review!

8/10

Having used this company before with satisfaction, I was happy to have called them again to get my basement windows replaced before I was to have waterproofing done to the exterior walls. Contacted Jonathan again, and he came out to do some measurements and I placed the order. Unfortunately when the day of install arrived, the install crew (who I'm more than pleased with and am quite happy with their work) came and after removing the old windows it was found that there was a mix-up and the windows provided were too small. So they temporarily put those windows in and spray foamed the gaps. I understand mix-ups happen and I always try to be patient...the only disappointment I had was the lack of communication regarding this issue. A few times I had to call in to see what was happening. And not only that, I had my waterproofers scheduled to come in and I wasn't sure if the windows would be installed in time. In the end, I had to wait another two weeks, and literally the day after it was installed my waterproofing started. The installers did a quick and thorough job and were great to work with; I just wish the communication with the office was better (mind you I understand my job was quite small compared to other projects, so I have to temper it with that I guess. But still!) I still have my upstairs windows to replace eventually, and I will still have this company on my radar but I will be getting more estimates from other companies as a result.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

It was time for a new roof and seeing how I am planning on staying at my house for many years to come, I decided to invest in a metal roof and pay double the amount I would with regular shingles (but at least I wouldn't have to worry about replacing it hopefully for the time I will be at this house!). My rear neighbours (not pictured) used this company and were satisfied so I decided to go with them as well. The salesman I dealt with was okay. I met with him in Oct/15 and arranged to have the install in the spring time. Come spring (just a few weeks ago), I had the install arranged and they estimated a day to install. Unfortunately they did not deliver enough of the material so it was extended to two days for install, which I was not upset about. The crew worked efficiently and were pleasant enough. What I am upset about is two things: 1. The after-install cleanup. The installer had me sign off on a "survey form" indicating certain services were done, like showing me pictures of cleaned-out eavestrophs and clean-up of all materials. Well the installer was done at about 8:45PM and it was dim outside so it looked like it was clean. However, I'm still finding metal pieces bigger and small around the perimeter of my house. As well, the pictures he showed me of the cleaned eavestrophs were the pictures of the eavestrophs he cleaned on one side of the garage. The eavestrophs on the other side of the garage? Not clean and had a lot of the old shingle debris in it (I could see it from my bedroom window). I don't know if the eavestrophs on the upper section of my house have been cleaned as I only saw that one pic of eavestrophs having been "cleaned". 2. Damage to my new eavestrophs themselves. The workers only used the yellow "gutter protectors" which prevented ladders from damaging eavestrophs when leaned against them, they did not use them all the time. They also leaned materials against the eavestrophs. As a result, there are some scratches and dings on my eavestrophs (as seen in one picture). There is no way I can prove that they did this, but I did just get the eavestrophs late last year and I have not leaned anything against them. Anyway, I'm not going to label the workers as incompetent or completely careless; for the most part I am happy with the work they did. I would have appreciated a little more attention and honesty, but their jobs are difficult and tiring and I appreciate the risk and dangers they go through to complete the work. But when I keep in mind the amount of money I am paying, I will speak up when I am not completely satisfied. I am still happy with the product and the way it looks though and if anyone were to ask me where I got it done I would let them know.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Jason. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied. Sometimes it is hard to collect all pieces of debris after installation, however we will tell our installers to be more mindful. We will look into the issue regarding not using the gutter protectors, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

10/10

As I'm planning on getting a new steel roof in the spring, I figured it would make sense to get new eaves/soffits/fascia/siding done to the colour that would compliment the roof. That plus the original was wood, ugly and rotting. Ivan returned my call within an hour and came out for an estimate the next day. His estimate was the most detailed and he told me exactly what he was charging me for, unlike the other three companies I had come in. His wasn't the cheapest nor the most expensive, but like what others have said, he was professional and his timelines matched with mine. Communication was good, and on the days of install (took two days in total), him and Mario were efficient and precise and beat with their work. Every step of the way Ivan told me what he was doing. At the end, I was quite pleased with the result and it made my house look a whole lot more modern. If you would prefer to hire a smaller company but one that does and guarantees what they said they would do, go with Can-Mar!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was doing some organizing in my garage when I climbed my ladder; when I got to the top where I could inspect the area between my soffit and roof, I saw what had to be the biggest wasp nest I've ever seen. In other words...it was a whole lot of nope-no way-I'm not going to touch that-I'm getting off the ladder-and-calling someone. Seeing as how I contribute honest reviews to Homestars, I thought I would trust the other reviewers on here and try out a company that was reviewed highly. Enter SNAP pest control...I gave Joe a call and he came out within a day. He cleaned out the nest, vacuumed it all up and was a pleasure to work with. He even charged me less than what I would have expected! I would definitely recommend him to anyone and while I hope I never have to use his services again, he would be the first person I would call if I do need it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

A wasp job even at the end of October. Even I couldn't believe it. I really appreciate all the kind words.Joe

10/10

Upon first meeting the owner Robert at my place, I could tell that I would never meet someone more knowledgable and passionate about garage doors than him. He explained to me what constitutes a good door and install. After checking out a few other companies with prices in and around the same area (some companies were cheaper, but that adage of "you get what you pay for"...), I felt this company would be the best fit and value for me. And I couldn't be more right (so far)! The door was exactly what I wanted, the installers were professional and efficient, the capping was done much better than what I usually see, and they installed the garage door opener I provided. Even when I had problems with the garage door opener a few days later (again, I provided the garage door opener, not them), they came by free of charge and fixed it. All in all, great company, good experience, and I always love supporting small Canadian businesses. I would definitely recommend them to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Second time using Wilson Paving (previously at my old home). Tony did what they said they would do and at a competitive price. They also paved my neighbour's driveway at the same time, and they were satisfied as well. Met the workers and they were careful and did a good job with my tricky driveway (they had to spread it by hand as I had a design that wouldn't allow them to use the automatic spreader). I would use them again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you Jason for the kind works. It's our pleasure!

8/10

Not a lot of concrete companies would come out to do a quote let alone the actual job for a small one like mine, which was redoing my cracked and sinking front porch (about 50 sq. ft.). The work itself appears to be done properly and I am happy he took away the old porch. Only part I was unhappy with was the lack of communication for when he or his staff would be at my place to start and continue (despite John telling me he would call me before he went over...I never did get a phone call). Some days I would arrive home and some work was done, but I wouldn't know this before I went to work (it would be a surprise to me). The finish wasn't what I expected ("brush finish"), and I could not tell him what kind of finish I did want ("smooth finish"). Might seem small and trivial but not to someone who will be seeing it everyday. Regardless, the work was done and I would still use them again provided the communication was better.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry that communication between us was not !00%. Going forward, I know I will work on communicating better. It was a pleasure doing work for you. All of us at Solocrete appreciate your referrals and any future work you have. All the best-John.

10/10

I started an entrance pathway project (removed the old one with off colour bricks) after getting my porch done in concrete. Realizing I was running out of time (winter was approaching) and running out of energy (or I might not have known exactly what I was doing...haha), I was referred to Zach from one of the reviewers here. I'm usually the type of consumer to get at least three quotes before selecting who I am most comfortable with. But after seeing his work firsthand and realizing how professional and knowledgeable he was, I decided to forego even meeting any other competitors. And this was without seeing the actual quote (which turned out to be reasonable)! The interlock pathway, heavy concrete steps, armourstone placement and even work I had him do which wasn't originally planned for (sodding certain areas) was done efficiently and meticulously. I have attached before, during and after pictures (the parts of my lawn that look dead in the after pics are spots I told him not to sod, so don't blame him if it looks "off"). Long story short, I am happy with the work, I would refer Zach to anyone and I look forward to using him again in the future for my backyard patio!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the amazing review Jason! I am happy we could help you with your landscaping needs.

10/10

I started an entrance pathway project to my newly laid concrete porch. I was running short on time (fall and winter were approaching) and my muscles started to ache (plus let's face it, I didn't know what exactly I was doing...haha). Luckily I was referred to Zach from one of the other reviewers here for a quote. Honestly, as a consumer I usually get at least three quotes but after seeing his work firsthand, and meeting him and already realizing he was professional and knowledgable, I already decided to go with him before I even got another quote from a competitor. And this was before I even got an actual quote from him, which turned out to be very reasonable! His work was efficient and meticulous for the interlock pathway and concrete steps I had him do, and I even changed up some things we didn't originally intend to do (I had him add sod) that he did without complaint. Long story short, great company to use, I would recommend him to anyone and I look forward to using him again in the future!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

When I was looking to replace my patio doors with garden doors, I happened to have found this company that was having a special on them. While speaking to them, they gave me a good deal on replacing my older windows on my main floor with good quality Northstar windows as well. From dealing with Bob, Jonathan and the excellent installation crew headed by Edwin, I could not ask for a more straightforward and fair experience. They aren't the cheapest company out there (which is a good thing; who wants cheap quality anyway?), but they aren't the most expensive and you get what you ask for (which is sometimes rare these days). I hope to use them again in the future!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

There is not much more I can add about Max that was already said below. I will say this though: he is the best contractor I ever worked. I called Max on a whim through a company that I never bought from/worked with but still they recommended him. I usually call about 3-4 contractors when I want work done in my house. Max? Right from the get-go, I could tell that he was the person I wanted to work with...he was the only person I called. Luckily, my first impression/feeling about him turned out even more than I expected. He explained to me each step of the way (no pun intended) on what he was going to do to install the railings/spindles. As a do-it-yourselfer, I certainly learned a lot from him just observing his professionalism and craftsmanship. We also had some great conversations and he took the time to actually teach me some of his techniques. Everything was done on time and even below what I expected to pay (he wouldn't even take the extra money I was offering him!). On top of this? He committed to doing the job at my house on a holiday weekend and on short notice. I mean, seriously, who does that?!? Basically, from this point on, Max would be the first person I would recommend to anyone that is requiring the services he is capable of doing.

Was this review helpful?