Reviews

0/10

We called Premi-Air and AC and heating after reading all the great reviews. When we called them it was fine -- that is they were very efficient and nice over the phone. We gave them specific details of our system -- We have a air handler located in the attic and a compressor outside, the air blows through 'holes' in the ceiling. Since the handler is located in the attic -- which we converted for my daughter's room -- Someone could only come and check out the system in the evening or very early in the morning. Premi-air promptly informed us that someone would be by within three days, at 8 AM. You can imagine our excitement. We were suffering from the heat wave and my daughter could not sleep in her room, moreover we have a 3 month old infant. The technician arrived, stayed for 3 hours and left, telling us that the AC should be in full force within a few hours. Well a few hours and two days passed without any change, furthermore the air blowing out was HOT!!!!. We called again. The same evening someone else arrived letting us know that the compressor was dead, gone finished. Really? Then why did the other technician inform us that all was functional? The technician from YOUR company? The nice technician hummm and aaaed and said he didn't know. He told us the reason for it's death -- It was a 20 year old compressor. We asked kindly if we could purchase another compressor to replace the dead one, oh no he told us you need to replace the entire system in your house, moreover this would take a few days since the technicians could only work early in the mornings because of the air handler's location. In addition he roughly estimated the cost to be 7000 - 10 000$. Given the technology and what we needed. Egad! However the heat was stifling. We said fine, could you please ask someone from your company to call us in order to set up a quote and let us know how quickly this could be done. The same evening a friend came over and said "Wait, I have a name for you, I've used him all the time." A little reluctantly we accepted his advice and called his 'friend' the AC expert -- You can imagine we were a little frustrated with people coming in and out of our house, telling us this and that. Next day we called this other company and OVER THE PHONE (no charging us 150$ to enter our door like premi) they told us the compressor could be replaced not a problem, no need to replace the whole system, he just needs to find the right compressor. Told us he'd call around and get back to us. Really we said, but Premi told us we needed to replace the whole system. Naw no worries and it will cost you approx. 2500$ WOW WOW. Sure enough the same day he told us he found the correct compressor and informed us that the next day two technicians would come by and remove the old monster and replaced it with a brand new one. When they left within hours the house was cool again, no thanks to premi. A few things, in response to the owners comments. While I appreciate the detailed explanation a few things do not add up, for one, why seal and replace the coolant in the compressor when it was broken and non operational? The second technician told us that we would not be charged for this error and indeed it was an error, there was nothing to fix, or patch or replace, the compressor was dead, therefore the technician spent the time doing something that was not necessary and this is the point of the review. The point being is that the compressor was broken for awhile, the diagnostic that should have been done by the first technician should have been: "I am sorry there is nothing we can do since the compressor is broken". The second technician informed us that it had been dead for some time, perhaps even over a year. The facts are as follows, the first technician charged us almost 500$ which was erroneous, the second technician even said this. Both my husband and I appreciated the second technician analysis and suggestions we were given and letting us know the options regarding the long term viability. For the record the second technician never even told us that in the short term we could replace the compressor for $1500, ever. Never. The least that can be done in this matter is own up to some mistakes that were done, no one is perfect and we are all human.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mr. and Mrs. T,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave this review and express your experience with our company. This feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us to improve our services.

You mention in your review that "The technician arrived, stayed for 3 hours and left, telling us that the AC should be in full force within a few hours. Well a few hours and two days passed without any change"

In our records, our technician diagnosed that your system has a small refrigerant leak. At the time, our technician explained our company procedures when we encounter a leak on a unit that is over 20 years old. Since it is not a good investment to spend alot of money repairing such an old machine, we give the customer an option of using a chemical leak sealer, which is relatively inexpensive and is therefore the only worthwhile investment in an old unit. Our technician made it very clear that due to the age of the machine this chemical leak sealer was not guaranteed to work but the only viable option short of replacing the entire unit. You chose to try the chemical leak sealer. After this repair was done, our technician measured and recorded the temperatures, pressures, voltage and amperage and confirmed that the system was operating properly.

This call happened the morning of Thursday July 8, 2010. On Tuesday July 13, 5 days later, we received a call from you reporting that the air conditioner was not working once again. We had a technician at your home that same day. Our technician discovered that your compressor had seized.

You write "Then why did the other technician inform us that all was functional? The technician from YOUR company? The nice technician hummm and aaaed and said he didn't know."

In fact the technician did not hesitate and clearly explained that since the compressor had been running hot due to a low refrigerant charge until our first visit to your home, the compressor suffered damage and had now seized. This was very consistent with what our first technician told you that the chemical sealer is not guaranteed to work.

You responded, "We asked kindly if we could purchase another compressor to replace the dead one, oh no he told us you need to replace the entire system in your house"

As a matter of fact, the technician quoted to you the price to replace your compressor at a cost of $1,500.

Although replacing the compressor for approximately $2,500 which is what you decided to do using another contractor, did restore your cooling, it is an option that our experience has shown will not lead to long term value or satisfaction. There are many reasons for this and I will mention a few. Firstly, since the system has a leak, you will experience further failure of the air conditioning. Secondly, your existing system uses R-22 refrigerant, which is no longer produced and is becoming prohibitively expensive and scarce.

Since we always focus on the long term value and satisfaction of our customers, we inform them of all their options and help them with making an informed decision. Our technician also offered to you the option of replacing your compressor but explained to you why we do not recommend this approach. At the time, you also expressed the disadvantage of a Band Aid fix.

You then write "Next day we called this other company and OVER THE PHONE (no charging us 150$ to enter our door like premi)"

We do not charge $150 to enter a customer's home. We charge $145 to diagnose the problem and provide a fixed quote to repair. The other company that you called did not need to come to your home to quote the repair because you had provided him with our diagnostic written report.

I am glad that you did get the immediate relief from the heat, and I hope that this fix will give you satisfaction.

In closing, I would like to mention that we are always available to discuss our customers' complaints or concerns. We regret that you did not contact us at any time to discuss this issue and give us the opportunity to explain.

I have already left you a telephone message to call me and I invite you to call me to discuss this issue.

My name is Joe Simon, and I am the owner of this company. I would love to speak with you personally. My number is 416-781-1054 extension 23.

10/10

We hired Algol services after receiving a number of quotes from other reliable electricians. Igor stood out for these reasons: 1. His price was SIGNIFICANTLY lower then everyone else 2. He was honest and upfront about all the costs 3. He did not try and sell us anything else, but offered sound and calculated advice. Huge relief. 4. Now this is the icing on the cake: His work included patching, no other contractor included patching in their price!! The job itself turned out to be much bigger than anticipated, by both us and of course Igor. Firstly our walls are old, with a large mix match of plaster and lathe and drywall - many many layers of drywall. Confronted with this Igor - in order to ensure the job would be completed in a timely manner - stayed late AND offered to come on the week end!!! He took immense pride in his work, asked us along the way if we were happy, even wanted us to comment on his plastering work, took pride in the patching of his work!! WOW. We have done tones of renovations over the years, as we've owned many homes and I can say without a doubt that Igor is a true gem. We will most definitely hire him again!

Was this review helpful?
0/10

We bought a desk and chair for my daughter as she's starting school, we told them it was important to have it when she starts school, we phoned them and they told us it would be available in November only, we bought this set at the beginning of August???? We called a few times.... very bad

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Please call Pat Johnson at G H Johnson's Trading.

I will do my utmost to resolve this situation.

Tel # 416 532 6700
Cell: 647 220 1867