Hello, I wanted to say that I was happy to find someone available on a Saturday to fix my leaky pipe. From the person who answered the phone, to the technician who came to do the work, all was good. I realize there was a premium to be paid for same-day, emergency service. But let's get real. I paid $450 for 1/2 hour of work! That's got to be 3 or 4 times what would be normal for 1 hour of work. The technician had me sign the order, knowing it was going to be just 1/2 hour. I asked him how long it was going to take, being so high a bill. He evaded the question; I trusted that he probably was going to be here a long time for that price. But no, 1/2 hour later he was out the door. I would have happily paid twice what it would normally cost for an hour's work, but $450 is nothing short of gouging. It is rude and unbusinesslike. You are obviously taking advantage of people when they are in need. It is hard to believe you are still in business. As I said, I expected to pay a premium, but $450 for 1/2 hour?? How do you sleep at night? B Simms

Approximate cost of services:
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Bernadette, thank you for giving us the opportunity to service you.

We are very sorry to hear you felt our price was unreasonable! Our goal is to truly make every customer happy.

We would like to know how you came to this conclusion. We charged you a flat rate of $398 + HST. Do you have a competitor quote for the same day emergency service? We do take these accusations very seriously and ask that you provide some context to justify your claim. You booked with us because we showed up online where you searched, answered when you called, and provided service when you needed it.

We aim to keep our prices as competitive as possible whilst still providing top quality service when our customers need it most. Rest assured knowing that what you paid was indeed in-line with our competition. We even provide free estimates Monday to Friday during regular business hours because we are so confident that our prices combined with our outstanding service will win customer over.

What another company may have offered you on another day would be irrelevant because you needed the service that day. The other companies you are referring us to would not be a fair comparison and would have been of no use to you even with their lower price if they could not be there for you when you needed them.

Drain King charges a flat rate per job which is provided from the start to give you the peace of mind knowing what you’re going to be paying ahead of time, and so that you have the option to decline if the quote is out of your budget. We do our best to be as upfront and transparent as possible so that you are satisfied at the end of the day. Rest assured that we would not overcharge, gouge, or anything of that nature. We really do take pride in our work and it’s upsetting that you have such negative things to say about us.

 There is no doubt that any premium service is expensive these days but that does not mean that we are overcharging or gouging if all of our competitors are charging around the same price. 

We hope you understand that we always have your best interest in mind. We look forward to hearing from you for your next plumbing project!

-Drain King Plumbers