Reviews


First Review

10/10

I build my own kitchen cabinets, I did so at my last place and I am doing it again at my new address. I have shopped around the Ottawa area for quality lumber and I can tell you that for price, quality and selection, nobody beats The WoodSource. I decided to use birch because of it's hardness, grain, and price. I purchased 1x4x8 birch boards at The WoodSource, to start my cabinet doors and the wood is pretty much flawless, without having to dig through the whole stack to find a few good pieces, like you have to do at some other stores. Not only that, but I was not able to find Birch at another store. If you're looking for quality lumber for a good price, look no further, and whatever species you want will be here.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I have rented several post hole diggers in the past: shovels, 2-man augers, etc., but nothing made the job as quick and easy as the pendulum post hole digger I rented here. This tool has wheels and hooks to a trailer hitch to get it home, but don't let that intimidate you, it was manageable for 1 person to push and pull around their yard. I have a substantial slope in my yard and had to work in some fairly tight spaces. I used this to auger out about 20 holes in 1 day for my fence--it worked well. The other auger options might be a little cheaper (approx $60/day), but this is probably the easiest way for 1 man to do the job. I would recommend the Tool Rental Facility at the Kanata HomeDepot and the staff at this location were helpful and friendly. Address: 10 Frank Nighbor Pl, Kanata, ON K2T 1C4 Phone: (613) 271-7577

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I built my first fence this summer. Constructing the 80 foot wall was a daunting task, but by building it myself I easily saved $1000. My yard is encircled by a decrepit old (ancient) chain-link, which I had to take down first. I picked up the materials; Brown Pressure Treated Boards, Brown Pressure Treated 4x4 Posts, Form Tubes, Cement, and Screws at my local Deka Home Building Centre. I love small, local hardware stores and this newly renovated building center is no exception. In fact, since their recent renovations, the store offers twice the stock--the lumberyard and new warehouse are also fantastic. They offer an unmatched friendly down-home service that you would expect from a local store. The staff are knowledgeable, the store is clean, well stocked and organized. The delivery is reasonably priced as well. That was side #1, next year I will start on the rest. The fence, although not completely straight, looks great. I love the brown pressure treated lumber.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

After purchasing a pool table and having it set up in our family room, we found that the existing paint was a really poor match. So--time to paint. The Home Depot paint department in Kanata, has very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. One important factor in a paint store for us is the color selection, as my wife does not like to be limited to 1200 colors ;-) The selection of colors and brands at Home Depot is fantastic. The prices are reasonable as well. The trim and the two colors for the walls were all 'Behr' brand and they all went on perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I used (UTT) Under The Table's table move service in August 2015. After a few calls I determined their price to be the best for what I wanted. Some other companies had a very long wait and UTT was able to schedule me fairly quickly. UTT dismantled the table, delivered it, reassembled it and installed new felt (color of my choice). The table looks fantastic! The guys did a great job, James and his crew were friendly and professional, I would highly recommend their service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We're glad your happy with your table.
Rack em up!!!!!

10/10

This story started as a nightmare, but ended up great. I woke up to discover that I had no hot water and as you can imagine, my wife and daughters were not happy. I did some quick online searches to troubleshoot and then called a company which had reviewed well online, in our area. I was very disappointed the service (You can read the review I wrote about it on my profile). A subsequent search I discovered Enercare, who offered the installation of a larger unit (free), with lower monthly rental fee, AND they gave me several months with no charge. SERVICE CALL: FREE INSTALLATION: FREE REMOVAL OF OLD TANK (To Curb): FREE MONTHLY RENTAL: under $30 I went with them and would highly recommend them for their price and for their friendly, professional service.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
1/10

I woke up to discover that I had no hot water and as you can imagine, my wife and daughters were not happy. I did some quick online searches to troubleshoot and then called a company that reviewed well online, in our area (Carleton Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd.). To be fair, the company installer was friendly, but that is the reason this company gets a 1 instead of a zero. I was told they did not carry the parts for my 9 year old gas burning unit. They offered me a replacement rental unit, but they would have to return with it another time. The installer called his office and then informed me that they would wave the service call fee and the installation. I felt like this was a good offer so I accepted. Later I received a call from the office to schedule the installation and was informed, and not very kindly, that they would not wave the service call fee. While discussing the issue with the sales guy, I started a web-search and I discovered that another company would install a larger unit (free) for less money per month, AND give me several months with no charge. I told Carleton that I found a better deal. In the end, they charged $150 for a service that included being told that they couldn't help me, a deal which was reneged, and an unpleasant conversation with a guy who was fairly rude. I would suggest that others look for a better deal as well. I really felt that I was unkindly kicked around by some very unprofessional people and was left with a very bad feeling about them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience with our team. This definitely is not the way we conduct ourselves in business. As you have already identified by reading previous reviews. By no means is this acceptable to me. Since this review was posted I have been trying to identify who may have been involved in your situation. Unfortunately with just your first name I have not been able to identify you in our system, and the people involved. Therefore I would kindly ask that you contact me directly at our office to discuss further.

Thank you again for your time.

Roger Holmes
General Manager / Partner

10/10

I received a Wood Stove, Chimney Cleaning in preparation of the wood burning season and found that the Top Hat crew was courteous, efficient and they did a good job. The price was quite reasonable and I would definitely recommend their service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for choosing Top Hat.


First Review

10/10

CDL installed a 2.5 ton Rheem air conditioner at my place. There was no central A/C previously. The price was the most reasonable quote for best product I could find. Chris was a pleasure to deal with and the technicians who installed the unit were great as well. It was a quality job and I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

K&P did an exceptional job. Great guys, great price, and great work. What more can I say? I would definitely hire Kevin and K&P for another roof in the future.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

During the winter our plumbing backed up and Mr Rooter came out on short order. They could not determined the cause from inside and started excavating the septic tank. This was the major expense as they had to chip through frozen ground which took time. We had a frozen pipe and a cluster of small roots at the baffle. I'm new to septic and found the guys were great about explaining the system, the cause and suggesting how to prevent issues in the future.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Reg and his crew were diligent in their inspections and very good in explaining their findings. Reg took the time to ensure we knew about the septic system; how it works and how to maintain it. Very knowledgeable top-to-bottom House, septic, Infrared, many photos, detailed report! Great Service. I would highly recommend Reg.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rob for your kind review. I put my heart in the job and try to give the kind of service I would expect from others. I am happy that you were pleased with the effort.