Reviews

10/10

We contracted Brushwerks last spring to undertake what turned into a major restoration of our 1915 cottage. Without a question, I am convinced that Adam and Coady are the only professionals in the city that would have taken on this job, let alone at this price. Not only did it turn out to be much more extensive than any of us expected, but required a level of patience, endurance, and attention to detail that few contractors in my experience have brought to the table. The team endured terrible weather and blistering heat this summer and worked with a sense of urgency to get the job done, even on days it seemed like the job was too big for anyone to handle. Not only this, but every day they brought a terrific positive attitude and focus. Special mention and thanks also to the pros on their team: Thom, Darryle, and Marc. They showed up during the day, in the evening, on weekends — there was endless sanding and scraping and mudding over and over and over again. Almost every day, they asked whether we were happy with how things were looking and what they could do to make it even better. In the end the restoration has made this 100 year-old house look like it was built in 2018. I was told by other companies it couldn’t be done. Brushwerks proved them wrong. THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Kevin & Jeff, thank you for your hospitality during the "job of the summer" as we would like to remember it.
It was our biggest challenge so far and we wouldn't have made it through without you guys taking care of us with coffee and water everyday. Thanks again and we will see you in the spring.
- Coady & Adam
Brushwerks

10/10

We had some water damage in our ceiling stucco left over from a leaking roof that had already been fixed. These guys were absolutely great – and went the distance to make sure the work was done quickly. Though there was some light dust to clean up, 99% was taken care of by them. The quality of the repair was exceptional -- because we have an older stucco pattern, I was sure the repair would stand out. You can't even tell a repair was made: amazing! Beautiful job, thanks so much.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

The front door lock broke and needed to be replaced. Service was excellent, quick, and very punctual. He took the time to explain what had gone wrong with the previous lock and how the new lock he was installing was of a higher quality. Thanks for a great experience!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for your speedy and accurate review. Many locksmith companies will not take the time out to explain the reason that your lock needs replacement. We want you to feel confident in the service we provide and understanding that we will only replace a lock in need of replacement. We are happy that you had a great experience in dealing with our company and trust that should you require further security assistance that we will be your first choice in the future. Thanks so very much for your business and endorsement.

10/10

Excellent quality work, punctual, reliable, trustworthy, honest staff. Over the past year or so I have had this company in to perform a variety of installations and electrical repairs, some more complicated than others. Wish I had ten contractors like them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Kevin for your kind words. If there is anything else we can do, please don't hesitate to ask. Kindest regards, Mike.

10/10

For me personally, dealing with this company was like finding the best doctor imaginable for dealing with a medical issue: like feeling you could totally trust the person and their expertise. Water was leaking from the roof into one of our bedroom ceilings. We knew it was probably the roof, and frankly we were more stressed out about being taken for a ride by some contractor, than we were about the repair itself (we've had many lousy experiences over the years). Michael phoned us back within an hour of our initial call, which we made probably around 7 a.m. He sent Pietro on site within a couple of hours, who diagnosed the issue as originally related to animal damage that had been improperly dealt with by the previous homeowner, and which led to a number of other issues causing water to enter via the edge of the roof. Pietro went on to correct several other misdiagnoses that had been made by other contractors previously, by taking the time to rule them out one by one: i.e. chimney leaking, turbine vent leaking, damaged shingles. Like a really expert doc, Pietro went through the options to determine precisely what was going on - it took a lot of expertise, patience, and honesty. He took the time he needed to do it right. I was really impressed by this, and also impressed by his honest, matter-of-fact, thoroughly competent way of researching the problem and explaining it to me, with photos he took, on his phone, of the damage while up on my roof. Pietro didn't just tell me what was wrong, he showed me the evidence with photos, and what he thought would be required to fix the problem. Michael was every bit the consummate professional in explaining exactly how the charges were assessed, which I found transparent and completely fair. Furthermore, he went out of his way to schedule the repairs the next day, so the leak would be fixed in time for some guests I was expecting in the following days. Pietro showed up again precisely on time, and finished the work within a couple of hours, well ahead of schedule. I found the whole process not only fair, honest, and straightforward, but that Michael and Pietro went out of their way to treat me like a real person with a real life and a real issue with my home - a business that is prepared to get involved emotionally with the customer's contingencies, and do what they can to make things work out, is as good as gold in this industry. Because heavy rain was forecast the day after the repair, Pietro even requested that I phone him personally the day after the repair, just to ensure the leak was really fixed, which it was. The work was flawless, punctual, fairly priced, and delivered with an honest, straight-shooting, human touch. Treat these guys with the respect they deserve, and they'll show it back to you ten-fold. Bravo and thanks again, gentlemen.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your very kind feedback Kevin. We always try to take what can be a stressful situation for a homeowner and make the process as straightforward and prompt as possible. We pride ourselves on attaining a level of professionalism from initial phone call through to completion of the repair. We want you to feel fully informed every step of the way.
We were glad we were able to help you protect your home.
Thank you for your business - From the Mr Roof Repair team

10/10

Hands down, one of the best professional exchanges I've had with any contractor, let alone carpet cleaning service. Adel personally conceived this company, and single-handedly owns and operates it with the professionalism, intelligence, and pride of ownership other business owners should aspire to. The carpet came out perfectly - he diagnosed the cat urine stains in the carpet like a medical doctor would diagnose symptoms in a patient! He used a state-of-the-art blacklight to locate the precise locations and borders of the stains, then a multi-step treatment to extract and deodorize the whole thing. He even thought to ask if my cats were safely locked away, before opening the outside door to access his van. 416-So-Clean really can't be beat. I'd recommend Adel any time, any where, to any one.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you Kevin for the business and taking the time to write these kind words. It means a lot to us.
Adel Majd

10/10

A water pressure issue with my kitchen tap had evaded solution by two other plumbers at considerable expense, until Tony and his son Ben came around. Their diagnosis was swift and smart (broken check valve), and the problem was solved in 10 minutes. These two gentlemen do justice to the art form that is plumbing: their work style is quiet, serious, and focused; they were both extremely polite and cleaned up without a speck of dust behind. It was interesting to watch this father and son team collaborate in intelligent problem-solving together; I highly recommend them both.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I must say that my experience with Emerald is proof to me that David Maclean, General Manager and founder of this company, really has rather elevated moving to an art form. I was impressed by the quality and integrity of this operation from start to finish, both from a labour and customer-service perspective. He hand-selects his moving crews, who never lost their bright-eyed smiles during my 3-day move, one day each for packing, moving, and unpacking. Those who are looking for movers they can depend on to get the job done with honesty, elegance, transparency, punctuality and - most of all - intelligence - have found what they're looking for. Their pricing is competitive, but those for whom price is the top priority should look elsewhere. Those for whom a quality job is the top priority, especially those who have endured the pain, frustration, and exhaustion of trying to move themselves will find Emerald astonishingly inexpensive and absolutely worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?