Reviews

10/10

Lights in 3 rooms lost power last month. I used Homestars to get quotes to fix the problem and Kaum was the first one to call me offering his services immediately. After going through about 7 different quotes, I decided to go with Trini Electric and they arrived the next day. They went through the lights and power in each room and was able to find and fix the problem in about an hour's time. I'm satisfied with the work done and would use them again if the need ever arises.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review we really appreciate it.

3/10

Shower cartridge broke and I had a hard time removing it so called 3 plumbers from home stars and mr rooter was able to send one same night. Ron was the plumber and looked at the problem. I was quoted over $450 to remove the shower cartridge!!! Wow, I told him that's ridiculous. He then lower d the quote to $330 but I told him that's still too much for a simple job. There's nothing else he could do with the price so I reluctantly went with it because I had to shut the main water line to the house to stop the water flow in the shower. It took him 1 minute to remove the cartridge and I told him theres no way this should cost $340! I guess he agreed as he lowered the price down to $275. I still think it's way too over priced but I just wanted it over and done with since it was getting late. Yes he fixed my problem but I feel completely gouged. Don't think I'd call them back in the future. Response: As I stated, he did the job but the 1 minute it took him to remove the cartridge shouldn't cost $275 (and I even provided the replacement cartridge). I think most, if not all, clients would agree with me on the pricing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Drew,
We are happy to see that we were able to provide you with service when you needed a plumber. Our records show that our plumber arrived at your home in less than an hour after you placing your service request.
Unfortunately you state in your review that you felt you were charged more than what you were expecting to pay. We feel our prices are fair based on the service we provide. We do our best to have our office staff and plumbers on stand by at all times of the day, ready to respond to our customers needs when required.
We appreciate your business and will be there for you in the future should you need our services again.

8/10

Had about 3 quotes to replace my worn out roof and decided to go with Unique for the price and a referral. They took about 7 hrs to complete the job, were on time and cleaned up as expected. I'm pleased with the new roof from what I can see. This will be the second winter since installation and have yet to see any issues so far.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

After getting multiple quotes, decided to hire Majesticon this past summer to replace several 15 yr old windows. I'd say everything went well from the product quality to the installation. The only issue we experienced was not even their fault. So far so good. I'll do an update next year once the windows go through this winter to see how they hold up.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure doing business with you and enjoy hearing feedback from our customers. See you next year.

0/10

After getting quotes from 4 different companies, we decided to go with Three Towers to supply all the hardwood for our house. Their cost was the lowest for the same quality the others were offering. They told us that each box contains about 18 sq/ft of hardwood but they usually include more up to 20 sq/ft. Well, when the boxes arrived and our contractor began installation, he found out that we are short about 2-3 boxes! We did a calculation of the total sq/ft we ordered against how many boxes we received and turns out it was around 16 sq.ft per box! The salesman shortchanged us! I called him out and he didn't deny it (this is probably standard practice to them hoping the customers doesn't find out they're shortchanged like we did). He agreed to get me the outstanding boxes but this caused unnecessary delay with out plans. In the end, their prices was good, the quality was good, their business practice is completely unethical and unacceptable! Note: In response to the Company's response, he did not visit me at my home, never shook my had no did he apologize. The last I saw him was at their location when I went to pick up the outstanding boxes owed. As a result of his false account, I'm lowering the rating from 2 to 0 stars.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Actually we remember this customer. We not only sent the extra wood, we also installed the balance for him at no charge. At the time we were prefinishing our material at a very large, well known branded finishing plant in Etobicoke that was doing private lable finishing for us. There was a mistake from the factory, as they labeled the boxes the square footage for 4 1/4 that they produced, while our material was 4 inches. Once we were notified of the shortage, we found out why it happened and how it happened and we implemented a solution. There was a delay as we had to wait for the next production run to run extra material. We delivered the shorted material to the customer, and we also installed the extra material at no charge as a show of good faith. Contrary to what he says, this is not standard practice, and it is such an isolated incident that it happened over 3 years ago and I still remember the details. What bothers me however is that when we settled the problem, I went to his home, I apologized to his face and we shook hands. But I guess in this day and age of the internet it is his right to complain. We do feel we tried our best to right the situation.

8/10

About 1.5 yrs ago, one of the springs in our garage broke. Called a couple of places for a quote and availability and Dormaster had the lowest quote (not by much) and was able to come in less than an hour so they got the job. The repair guy replaced the spring without problems, however, the upsell is almost unavoidable with these types of calls so I was pitched. He did go through and explain which parts should be replaced and why. The rollers were rusty and I agreed to have the set replaced. Overall, the service call was good, no complaints really.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

Furnace igniter broke in the middle of winter so had to scramble to get someone in on a Sunday. Called a couple of places and Service Experts was able to find someone to come in on the same day! The guy came in, checked the furnace, determined the igniter problem and had it replaced. The part costs $20 but the entire service bumped it to around $300. Don't mind it since they were able to fix it especially with a newborn in the house.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

We decided to go with CCW after getting 3 quotes to replace our large living room window. The replacement window was a tad smaller than the original but they still managed to fit and seal. Wasn't too happy about that and also realized afterwards that the new window didn't have a jamb to attach our blinds to. They knew that the original windows had them. They did send someone to install it and gave us a discount on the cost of the new blinds since our old one doesn't fit anymore due to the smaller size window.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Hired these guys from a referral and had the lowest quote out of 3 contractors. Started off good but as the job begin to drag so did the quality of the job. They left a mess afterwards. Wouldn't recommend at all!

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Called Zenic after reading reviews here. Need to add insulation in the attic since the builders only put in 4"! He was very thorough in answering my questions. Arrived on time and did the job within 1.5 hrs. Now attic has 14"!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Zdenek