Reviews

10/10

The technician arrived within 2 hours of my call. The problem was promptly and easily diagnosed and repaired. This man works ONLY on Sub Zero so you not only get an expert, you get the right SZ parts. If you have a Sub Zero anything, new or old, this is the only person you should call.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and your business.

10/10

Erick and Matt were the best. I experienced a shoody contractor prior to this experience but i did not need to worry. Erick was so professional and thorough. I have already recommended him to neighbours

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

10/10

Andrew and his crew were just what we were looking for. They arrived on time, did the work and bared with me while I sorted out the plants and trees I wanted. The work was done professionally and everything was cleaned up at the end of the day and the end of the job. Totally fit the bill for my requirements.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi "JB"

Thanks for your review and kind words, I'm curious to see how our earth retention project worked out. I'll come by soon to have a look and maybe we can figure out a plan for the rest of that hill.
Hope to see you soon!

10/10

It took us a while to figure out with which product we were going to replace our old over-sized built in cook-top. Greg was very helpful and patient with during our discussions, order changes and delays caused by an eventual minor renovation of our kitchen. We're still adjusting to the spontaneity of the heat produced by the new Electrolux induction cook-top but so far so good!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good work Greg! If you have further questions or need advice please call Tasco Customer Service! 416 642 5600 or you can email at customerservice@tasco.net.

10/10

The replacement of an older malfunctioning cooktop necessitated that we replace our countertops. We started out thinking we would just use laminate again but after talking to an experienced contractor, the project grew to include re-facing the cupboards and making a few minor changes to the configuration of the cupboards. As such, we decided to really make a statement and use a solid surface for the countertops. I found Prostone on the HomeStars site and being in our end of the city, I visited the showroom and was so glad I did. The sales rep, Alex showed me why natural versus synthetic stone is the way to go and took me into the warehouse / showroom to look at the slabs of stone. I was sold. The pricing is very straight forward. They provided me with a price sheet with about 6 or 7 grades and under each there is a list of the stone types included. Best of all, the price included the double sink and any edging style they offered. When my husband came along to pick "our slab" it was a low key, no pressure experience as we were free to wander in the warehouse and select not only the type of granite but the very slab that would be used. The counters were installed this week and the installers were top notch: prompt, clean, professional and very polite. We have a penninsula in the kitchen but the measurements were precise. Our contractor was very impressed by the quality, the installation and the price. The re-facing is nearly finished and the kitchen is looking like we spent far far more than we did. The granite was the way to go and ProStone made the decision and experience easy, problem free and reasonalby affordable.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Perhaps Andrea at Fine Finishes Custom Design Solutions is the person to call if you are looking for colour swatches but from our experience this is not the company to call if you are looking for an interior designer with innovative ideas. The great reviews on this site led us to believe she could help us plan a major renovation of our family / entertainment room. Not only were we disappointed with the lack of ideas and alternatives, we were very taken aback with the approach Andrea and her partner took as they tried to pressure us into allowing them to take on the project as the primary contractors -- without ever providing us with the design plan we were looking for in the first place. Some of the "solution" suggestions dealing with construction and drywall installation were so off the mark that it was clear they did not know what they were talking about. In the end, we were out several hundred dollars, a lot of wasted time and received a couple of paint chips in return. Check credentials. C.I.D.C. and P.D.R.A. refer to paint certificates. The initials do not represent a degree or diploma in interior design or construction from an accredited institute of higher learning. Also, based on a posting on HomeStars by the City of Toronto, be sure to check if the people offering their services to renovate are licensed with the City: "Building renovators, Plumbing contractors, Heating contractors, and anyone holding him/her self as a contractor in the building renovation field requires a City of Toronto License. Call 416-392-6148 to verify if the contractor is licensed or to file a complaint.” I wish I had seen this earlier. Fortunately we found a real contractor with great credentials and far more design ideas than this firm offered. In no time, our renovation was completed to perfection by real professionals.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It took a while to figure out who this disappointed client could be.

Why [the customer] waited 13 months to post a review puzzles me.

After finding out from [JB] that the first designer walked out, I should have been more wary. However I was up to the challenge.

[JB] was, as are all our clients, aware of the hourly rate, and was given a colour consultation for which she paid $236.25 (1.5 hours).

She then asked for assistance in giving her some ideas for her basement. Another appointment was made later in February 2008.

[JB] was supplied comprehensive drawings for built-ins surrounding the fire place and a wet bar according to her wishes and needs by a licensed carpenter, a quote for gas modifications by a licensed gas fitter, electrical modifications and pot lights installation quote by a licensed electrical company, floor plans and drawings by myself.

During that time [JB] did not give any indication that she was not satisfied with the suggestions. In the nature of business, you supply quotes for jobs – some you get and others you do not. After giving the quotes, we did not hear back from them and assumed that they did not wish to proceed. JB was invoiced for the floor plans and drawings and still outstanding balance with our company.

I do strongly agree with [JB] that you should not only check all contractor’s credentials with the City of Toronto but also check with your local Better Business Bureau (www.ccbbb.ca) to see if there have been any complaints lodged against them. Speaking with former clients will also give you a good idea as to their work ethics.

In addition I would also advise clients to seek out at least 3 quotes from different companies. All quotes should be written in detail so you can compare the fine points.

And to further clarify C.I.D.C. refers to Certified Interior Design Consultant and P.D.R.A. refers to Painting and Decorating Retail Association.


First Review

10/10

After dealing with an unscrupulous appliance repair company, this company helped us get the right parts and gave us a selection of reliable technicians who they felt could meet our needs. Very helpful in a frustrating situation.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Steve of B&B Plumbing has done work on our plumbing repairs and installations for over a decade including a bathroom reno. He is friendly and most importantly reliable. Overall, he provided excellent service! We will definitely use him in the future and will recommend him to others!

Was this review helpful?
0/10

The company was contacted to repair faulty burners on my built-in range top. While checking the current, the technician caused a short and a flash electrical fire ensued. That should have been a sign that we were dealing with incompetence. Fortunately, there was no external damage. The technician determined the parts required and left to acquire them, taking some of the faulty parts with him. He was to contact me later that day to install. We had to make several phone calls before the technician returned more than a week later. Not once did the company call us with the status. He installed the parts including new elements. However, one of the elements failed to work and the same connection that was not working prior to his repair, continues to not work. Each call to the "dispatch" is met with broken promises of when the technician will call back. She basically. In addition, requests to have the technician call me so I can explain the problem are fielded by a very rude receptionist / dispatcher who appears to never pass on the request. I have paid more than $300 for parts and service and the same problems exist. I have since checked the BBB and there are 15 unresolved complaints against this company as of March 2008. BEWARE!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?