Reviews

10/10

When my wife and I decided to gut our 1950s bungalow and build a second story we did lots of research and interviewed multiple companies before finally landing with Somerset Construction. Graeme was excellent and made us feel comfortable every step of the way right from our initial meeting where he explained all of the details of the process and put our minds at ease. Never once did we feel that he was trying to “sell” us and he seemed to always have our best interests in mind. He was open and honest throughout the whole process and helped us control budget which was important to us. Graeme has amassed a collection of the best trades people to deliver on any job big or small. I would often visit the site and was always welcomed with updates from the crew who did top quality work, often going over and above to impress. At the end of every day, the site was cleaned up and put away ready for work to commence the following morning. One of the things we appreciated most about working with Graeme was his flexibility. We didn’t have to have all of the finishing details planned out before hand and could evolve them as the house came together. There wasn’t a single thing that we brought to Graeme that he wouldn’t at least attempt to accommodate. Lastly, and in my opinion, most importantly, Somerset’s has a great ability to recover from unforeseen problems. It doesn’t matter how much you plan, you will likely run into some type of problem along the way. What we appreciated most about working with Graeme was his ability to help the project recover when hiccups did occur. He personally takes the time to explain the situation, alleviate worries, and propose solutions and doesn’t leave you high and dry. If hiccups do occur, any additional work that needs to be done will be priced out fairly. There are other houses in our neighbourhood being renovated but the quality of ours is noticeably better. We’re constantly getting compliments from passers-by and we are very happy we decided to work with Graeme and Somerset Construction!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
1/10

Brought these guys in to service a broken washing machine in our rental condo. They guy came out and "fixed" the problem. 4 months later and the problem came right back! Not only do I have a problem with their poor quality of work, but the tech reconnected the water lines incorrectly. Our tenant wasn't able to diagnose or fix the problem herself and when we called QuickFix Appliances to come back and fix the water temperature problem they caused, they refused stating that there would be a new charge to look at the new problem they caused. I ended up having to go there myself to fix the problem. It turned out that the "technician" connected the hot line to the cold intake and vice versa. Unbelievable! Oh and one last thing, watch out for the "convenience fee" that they charge but don't tell you about.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your experience with QuickFix. We have bought the company out and purchased the QuickFix website. We are so sorry for the experience you had with QuickFix. We are pleased to let you know it is under new management. Our customer service is what sets us apart. Our company strives to be fair, professional and ethical at all times, keeping customer service at the forefront of all we do. Going above and beyond when we can. Sometimes we don't get it right but we are committed to making it right. We invite you to experience the quality of service we stand behind.

8/10

These guys did a great job at fixing my drain. The water would not drain and they fixed it fast. They're service was fast and courteous. I had to change my appointment and they were happy to accommodate.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

These guys really do care about doing a good job. They brought their equipment into my house and with a vacuum and snake, sucked the length of all of the ducts. They recommended that a better job could be done if they cut a small access hole in my basement ceiling (due to the configuration of my house) to ensure full removal of dust and debris and spent the extra time to do so before patching the duct and cleaning the mess. The team is very professional and friendly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for doing a review of our services, it is appreciated. All the best. Mike Skelton