Reviews

3/10

I called Your Tree Doctor in early April and the estimator came out very promptly. He was very courteous and informative and suggested treatment for an ailing pine tree. He did say that they had to wait for the sap to be running so I knew it would be a while. Mid May I contacted them and they couldn't find the quote; they didn't call back; end of May I tried again as the estimator had assured me the quote was in the office; beginning of June, still no work done. Finally somebody shows up the middle of June after I sent an email complaining about the terrible service (the email was never responded to though). I don't know what the problem was, but perhaps if you can deal directly with the owner you'll get service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Will,
I apologize for what happen last Spring. I realized when you sent an email that your contract (under your wife name) was still in the binder : pending acceptation. I can't explain why the information that you accepted the contract did not have been write down on the contract.
I did schedule the service as soon as possible after that.
We do not enter your personal information in our computer database before we got an accepted quote. That was the reason why our receptionist was not able to find your contract a the moment you called.
She didn't know that your quote has been accepted.
I apologize for that lake of communication within our services.
I will send you today a 10% credit coupon on your next tree fertilization with Your Tree Doctor.

10/10

We have an original, single piece steel overhead door on our 1960s garage. Recently the bracket attaching the spring to the rest of the door mechanism broke. I called a number of other companies and was told it couldn't be fixed because nobody makes parts anymore. Found John's information on Kijiji and he said he would come see what he could do. He was here within a couple of hours. What he did was find a solution and fix the door. No there wasn't an official replacement part, but he made it work and that's what I needed

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We returned home New Years Eve to the house at 6 Celsius. After attempting a restart we called L&K. Over the phone they walked us through trying to restart it on our own before setting up a service call. The service tech arrived about 5pm (did I mention New Years Eve!) and was friendly and quickly determined that the heat exchanger had failed - a shock as it was only 9 years old. A quick discussion with the office determined that replacement was better than repair and plans were made for the technicians return on Jan 2. (thankfully we had a backup source of heat). Tech arrived early on Jan 2 and the replacement was completed by mid afternoon. Both guys were polite and the work went well. They explained what changes they'd made to ensure it was installed properly (many issues arose over the years due to problems with another company's install) and how the new furnace worked. Best of all I have a warm house and the confidence that this one will last.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

In the spring of 2012 we decided it was time to replace windows and siding. We contacted SIS as they are one of very few companies in Calgary that indicate they will do both. We had also worked with SIS years before to replace doors. We had our old siding stripped, insulation installed, HomeWrap added, fascia, soffit and eavestrough and downspouts replaced, and nearly all windows in the house replaced including creating legal egress windows in the basement. Everybody from SIS has been very good. The sales rep was very helpful tuning our quote and plans including managing to find replacement siding when our initial colour choice was discontinued by the manufacturer. The work was scheduled with my time in mind. The work crew were excellent and friendly, even helping me with a water emergency during a massive rainstorm. The work was done quickly and well, and the SIS crew worked well with another work crew I had on site at the same time. A couple of months later we contacted SIS with a few issues. A few pieces of siding had manufacturing defects, a corner join of the eavestrough leaked and we had some accidental damage do a screen and corner post. The issues were all dealt with quickly in spite of the arrival of winter and the charge for those items that were our fault was minimal.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our apologies for the slow response, but thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about S.I.S. in HomeStars! We do appreciate your time and are happy that you are pleased with the final results of your exterior renovation.