Reviews

10/10

in 2011/ 12 Yuill and his crew helped to transform our mid century modern home with 200 year old historic roots into a warm and beautiful blend of new and old. It took 6 months. They had excellent suggestions for using reclaimed wood and materials. Workmanship was very good and all issues were addressed, even a couple of years later when small deficiencies arose. They replaced windows, bathrooms, put in floors,redid the large basement, helped us choose the insulation process, created a beautiful transition from another kitchen contractors installation to a wall of walnut. This is not the least expensive contractor you will find, but one with creativity and passion for wood and design. I have recommended them a number of times.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

We had our flat roof re-done by Dependable Contracting in 2009. This involved placing insulation board and torching a rubber cap over the older roof that had been leaking a bit. We have 4 skylights as well and two of them were replaced. There was a 10 year warranty on leakage and workmanship. Three years later, we replaced the skylights as the energy audit showed they were letting air in +++ and were poorly installed. We have now totally replaced the flat roof as it was leaking, even on sunny days. Dependable was hard to pin down but eventually came by ( 17 calls/ emails later) and indicated that it was the older skylights that were leaking. We did not want Dependable back on the roof, even though it was under warranty.We got 3 professional quotes and all the other roofers were not impressed at the lack of seam sealing and the poor sealing around the skylights. As the roofing was being removed, the new roofers showed us that the insulation was TOTALLY sopping wet, all over the roof. The only thing that saved us was the first roof layer from many years ago. STAY AWAY from this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
1/10

I was referred to bSq by a reputable source. Their designs were creative. The project was very large. The timelines for drawings and their callbacks were delayed. But what was the kicker for us was the disregard for the Toronto permit process which landed us in hot water, despite our asking on a number of occasions. Alex clearly knew that these permits might be needed, as he helped us draft a letter to the authorities after the fact. His excuse? - he did not think that we would go through with the project because of the cost, so when we said yes, he was not prepared. All this after 7 months of back and forth. I would not recommend this company for this and other reasons that I have not listed here. Addendum: after posting this review, we now know that there is a neighbour who has lodged over 60 complaints against people in our area.Our municipal councillor is involved and considers this harassment. However we were told by 3 municipal departments that regardless of the work, we required prior permits for tree 'injury' and TRCA approval. My suggestion for anyone using this company is that you get your permits in order so that your reno goes smoothly. Lastly, the retaining wall renovation was always on the drawings and discussions. It was not added in at the last moment as is noted below.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There are two sides to this story Janet and I wish you had considered ours. You made no mention of all the work we did surveying your challenging site (3 separate trips on our part) and prioritizing your build so you could get competitive bids in order to build 1st thing this Spring. We went way overtime time dealing with your site and getting your project underway and it was a significant loss for us.

Janet, I am sorry that you had such difficulties with permits.
What you did not mention in your review was that the actual scope of work that required the permits was not added until the very end of the design and planning process and that it was the repair of an existing retaining wall. At this point you had also prioritized getting costs for the expanded scope of work which is what I did for you resulting in 3 bids and the lowest bid/successful contractor that was tens of thousands of dollars less than your contractor.

Whether or not you had to have these permits is still a grey area as you were replacing an existing set of retaining walls and again you did add this scope to the project at the last moment.
Your suggestion that I clearly knew these permits were needed is false and I actually offered to help you draft whatever letters you needed and to prepare whatever drawings you needed to resolve the issue immediately and at no additional cost.

I found out from this contractor on site that every official that could be possibly contacted from the City, the TRCA and the Ministry of Environment was contacted and requested to visit your site as soon as construction started for any and every reason possible. This is completely abnormal which suggests to us that you have a neighbour in the area who clearly does not like you and/or your project and did their best to make things difficult.

For example, the Ministry Official who was asked to look for "endangered species in peril" on your site admitted that he could not understand why he was even sent in the 1st place but someone had called and demanded it.

In the end I am just really sorry that you are unhappy with our services and that you faced these issues during construction.
I wish you would have worked with us to resolve them.
We would have done this as fast as possible and at no cost just to prioritize your needs.
I hope that everything has been resolved for you and you can enjoy your property as much as it is possible to do so.

10/10

We met John in an unusual way. Attic insulators had oversprayed foam insulation and they chose Johnny's as the place to remove thousands of foam speckles from about 20 antique pieces which had been stored (and covered) in the attic. Relieved at the results, we subsequent used Johnny's to refinish a beautiful 100 y.o. buffet made of 4 woods. Timely service, excellent communication and superior results all around. Would recommend 100% and will use again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Paul and his team were our leads on renovating our 1950's George Boake designed home, which had replaced a century farmhouse on the same property. Right from the get go, Paul's enthusiasm for the use of the old in the creation of the new was contagious. Alex from Sustainable had several ideas regarding wall removal and installation of exterior huge bifold doors that totally transformed the place. The more mundane but necessary heating changes, electrical options, crazy difficult insulation and roofing problems etc were met with professional direction. When we ran into challenges with contractors and other trades, Sustainable was always there to help. We are delighted with the end result.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Janet:
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to have been able to assist you with providing the next 50 years of life for your spectacular home. My enthusiasm for this project, while strong, paled when put next to your own. Most problems became opportunities and we are so happy that you are delighted with the results. Enjoy !! Paul@sustainable.TO