Reviews

10/10

We are pleased with the siding and aluminum work done by Jake and his team. We hired them to replace the siding in a few places around our house, plus a bunch of aluminum work (flashing/fascia, window/door capping, gutter replacement). First and foremost we were impressed with the speed and efficiency of this team. They don't waste any time! They quickly overcame challenges presented by our old Toronto home full of DIY work by various owners. We appreciated their flexibility, knowledge, and good attitude as they worked.

Approximate cost of services:
$9,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We're very pleased with the work that Aleks and his assistant did for us. We hired Aleks to do some pretty major work on our home: a service upgrade (i.e. new electrical panel), subpanel installation, EV charger installation, and rewiring of a garage to fix some sloppy DIY work done by previous owners of our home. Aleks and his assistant were very professional throughout the process, making smart suggestions and delivering neat and tidy work. He was patient when dealing with some unexpected challenges due to the aforementioned DIY work. We were very appreciative of him working quite late into the evening to ensure that everything could be powered on properly in our home/garage on the first day.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,500.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Doug its was pleasure working with you as homeowner,and I really hope to hear from you once you decide to re do your garage :)

4/10

In the span of 3 years, we've hired Siamak (Max) for: - Furnace and air conditioner repair - New furnace installation - Ductless system installation We consistently chose him because his prices were always fair and his work seemed good. So I put up with his generally grumpy demeanour. However, I'll no longer be using him or recommending him to any friends. Here's why: Less than two years ago, we hired him to install a brand new ductless system with three indoor units. When he installed it, he positioned the outdoor unit on our front porch and ran the piping in relatively straight lines to the indoor units. So the piping cuts across the side of our house on diagonal lines and isn't great to look at. He said that it would be challenging to mount that outdoor unit on the side of our house (which is brick veneer) until we were able to show him the exact locations of the studs inside the house. That seemed fair, so I agreed. Later, I asked our general contractor to check the walls and mark the locations of the studs. When I showed Siamak, he gave a few reasons that he couldn't move the ductless unit; he was too busy, our house is too close to our neighbour's, etc. After I addressed each of his points, he eventually admitted that he simply didn't want to get involved with the task of moving our ductless unit. He will no longer be working with ductless systems because he doesn't want the danger of working on ladders. That's fair, it seems like a risky job. But I already paid to have my system installed and the job was never finished properly. So I asked for a referral to someone else that I can hire and still maintain the 3-year warranty that he gave me. He said no, I would need to find someone myself. And that new contractor will void the warranty as soon as they touch the system, so they'll need to provide their own warranty. What contractor is going to offer a warranty on a system that they didn't install? I pointed out that he was leaving us with zero options to get our system installed correctly and still maintain the warranty. I was hesitant to leave this review because we may still need to call Siamak for warranty coverage on our furnace or ductless system (until we move it, that is). But I wanted to voice my strong displeasure at Siamak's broken promise, rudeness, and lack of support for a system that he installed. His pricing is good, but it's no longer worth the stress. Lastly, some advice that I usually follow but skipped due to our positive history with Siamak before this incident: ensure that you get everything in writing so there can't be any dispute over commitments that are made for future adjustments!

Approximate cost of services:
$6,900.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First of all I do not mind you call me Siamak or Max, I chose Max because it is easier for English people, but you always emphasis Siamak,(I do not want to hide something).As you mentioned our price is fair and your equipment working in great condition. so far every thing is great but about removing ductless to side wall the problem is you do not want to accept reality, ductless is 200 pounds (heavy) and first your house is very old and side wall is not strong to hold too much weight. we can not install heavy unit to wood studs, we need strong brick or concrete wall for this matter. Another reason is you have just 5 feet space between your house and your neighbor which is going to effect your ductless in long term, because fan is pushing air horizontally and hot air back and forth going to your unit. Another reason how we can lift 200 pounds unit in such a small place, lifter or hoister is very risky at that place. WARRANTY IS NOT INCLUCED REMOVING UNIT, you accepted that we install unit at front and you paid in full, you changed your mind later to remove to side wall, AIRE MAX IS DOING WHAT EVER PROMISES TO CUSTOMERS, CUSTOMERS ARE OUR FORTUNE, almost 1000 review on HOMESTARS can prove this words, Aire Max serving 10,000 customers in GTA since 2008 and maybe less than 10 customers do not understand us. Thanks for having business with us and wish you the best in future.
Max, owner of business.

3/10

We're getting a service upgrade and EV charger installed at our house, and I've requested quotes from 6 different electricians. I spoke to Hellen over the phone and she explained that they incur a cost to send an electrician to collect info to generate the quote, so they charge a fee for quotes. I've worked in roles where we provided quotes for Engineering work and we considered it to be a cost of doing business, but I can understand her reasoning and she made their policy clear up front so that's fair. Hellen seemed to know her stuff and I saw the positive reviews, so I was willing to pay for a quote. However, I mentioned to her that I was hesitant to pay for a quote without knowing how competitive it might end up being. She assured me that their level of service and choice of components will be better than most so they won't be the absolute cheapest quote, but they're competitive. When the electrician arrived, he thought he was quoting a job like a de-icing system or something like that. He was polite and pleasant, but wasn't overly knowledgeable about service upgrades or EV chargers. Most of the other electricians mentioned some tips, described their suggested approach, or otherwise provided more value during the quoting process than this person did - and this was the only quote that I had to pay for. Worse than that, the quote was high. I received quotes from 6 different electricians (all reputable ones on Homestars), and this one was 50% higher than the next highest quote!

Approximate cost of services:
$90.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had our ducts and dryer vents cleaned. I got quotes from 4 companies, and Air Force was somewhere in the mid-range. However, I asked some questions and looked at the websites for the lower priced companies and found that they were pretty light on details. For just a little more money, I felt more comfortable going with Air Force. I'm so glad that I did! Damien and Kevin were efficient and courteous. They were careful to wear covers on their boots and keep my house clean. And they were happy to explain the process as they worked. Then Damien even gave me a summary and some pointers after they finished, which was much appreciated. It was a level of professionalism that I didn't really expect to get - I was pleasantly surprised, even after seeing the positive reviews ahead of time!

Approximate cost of services:
$550.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Doug so much for taking the time out to share your experience with us! We’re happy to have hit the mark for you. We look forward to servicing you again in the future!
Adel Majd
Air Force Duct Cleaning

10/10

Shafni was great to work with. He maintained a pleasant demeanor and didn't even complain about the frigid January temperature. He worked quickly but took the time to explain some maintenance items that I should watch out for. He also demonstrated how to use the product. Overall I am very pleased, especially given the competitive pricing!

Approximate cost of services:
$85.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Doug for the review. Our main priorities are not just the work to be completed in a timely manner but that our techinichians display memorable customer service. We are happy that you were pleased with the work and once again appreciate the review.