Reviews


First Review

10/10

The previous plumber did a real poor job at our new cottage. Rob came to the Island and figured out the issues and took the time to explain all the issues and solve them in a reasonable time and budget. Highly recommend him for plumbing jobs at your cottage. Very approachable and honest.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

This was major job (not for Partridge though). There were several planning meetings and design redos. Juergen (The owner) is very customer focus, which is great. The design process was to our complete satisfaction. Some implementation issues along the way but they were handled quite well. The crew was very knowledgeable and professional. The project started and completed on time. Overall I give them a 9 due to lack of good communication internal to the company as well as with me. Juergen did not keep good time when meeting. He either forgot or didn't show up (or VERY late) without communicating. I gave him the benefit of the doubt but after 3 incidences I had to have a chat with him. Other than that I would highly recommend the company.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Scott is a great guy and very professional and detail oriented. He explained the entire project and walk me through the pros and cons. He had no problems sourcing lights from California and also had his own LED lights to offer. So, the flexibility was great. Since I am technical, this is great for me as it gives me a lot of confidence. He talked about any changes that needed to be made and his crew was very good as well. There was a slight problem with one of the lights but he came back multiple times to make sure it was done correctly. It has been 6 months and I have not seen any issues. Hopefully they last me for another 10 years. Will use him again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for your feedback Xerxes. It can be challenging using a new technology especially lighting where there's been so little change for a very long time. It was a real treat lighting your home as you allowed me the freedom of using this 'new' technology in ways that old style lighting could never accomplish.

10/10

Great job in cleaning up my back and front yard. I have a lot of trees so the fall cleanup means a lot of leaves. They stacked all of them on the curbside for city pickup.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Xerxes, yes you do have quite a few leaves. Of course the day we did it the wind decided to work against us but in the end we won the battle. See you in the spring!

10/10

We had our trees pruned a couple of months ago. 3 guys were up on 5 of our trees (60-80 feet high maples,walnut and others) for an entire day. The trees look great. The workers were very polite, extremely professional and cleaned up all the mess with no damage. I would use them again. It was great to watch them up in the trees and meticulously prune each tree.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We used the Gardener a couple of years ago for our yearly maintenance of our lawn. The owner was very nice and responded quite quickly and seem to be caring. The problem wa sthta there was a lot of turn around or they hired students so the job was not consistent. Too much hand holding and explaining the staff on what needs to be done. We do have a very big backyard and they need some direction

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

GPM staff returned our call within hours of inquiring. Gave us a quote, came on time and completed the job in the time they had quoted. They were respectful of the birds nest in the eavstrough. Highly recommended

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

Good process oriented company with pre-calls, coming to do the job on time and definitely know what they are doing. The only reason I didnt give them a 10 star rating is that I have not completely seen teh results yet i.e. the season is not over. but so far so good.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for an honest and fair review. Great lawns take time. The problems on your lawn sometime seem like they creep up overnight, but they don't- they fester for months and sometimes years till the point (or damage threshold) that they out compete your lawn growth and get out of hand. We can make a big difference with natural and organic products, however even chemicals of the past took time to work and repair a lawn. Some problems can be fixed quickly, others can take more time. Afterall, plants are a living organism, and require care year after year for them to thrive. We appreciate your patience and following our professional advice to get your lawn back into shape. We are dedicated to helping you throughout every growing season so you can be thrilled with your green and healthy lawn!

4/10

Had to replace the drum liner of my 7 year old washer. told me the drum was under warranty so I only have to pay for labor. Paid $380 for labor, replaced $1200 worth of parts, incld drum. After repair there was a noise that was coming from the washer. Then they said the noise was because of the pump. I had to pay $175 for the pump. I kept the old pump doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it. I could have bought a new washer for $1000 instead of spending $500 for this one +$1200 that they charged Whirlpool in parts?.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

We installed a 90 gallon tank in our family room. It was a great setup, good service. Unfortunately after 3 years the tank sprung a leak. Big Al's did their best to get us a new tank from the manufacturer. I highly recommend Big Al's, Oakville store.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Good reliable guy for lawn sprinklers. Have been using him for 5 years now. no issues. He installed our lawn sprinkler system in Mississauga and has been maintaining it for 5 years.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Got a pool built in 2005. Since then their quality and service is exceptional. Louie (the owner) is a great guy, honest and a straight shooter. Their workmanship and pricing is very good as well. I highly recommend Connolly for pools.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

I got solicited by weed-a-way (summer 2005?)for herbicide spraying our lawn. I decided to try it as my front lawn was getting too many weeds. They gave me a date that was 2 weeks away and was told that if I wanted to cancel the treatment, I could do so with a phone call. After some research I decided not to use them for spraying (I pulled out the weeds by hand) and canceled the service. The person on the phone was extremely aggressive in trying not to change my mind. I told him that I was looking for "greener" solutions. He told me that the cheap stuff at Canadian tire won't work and that I was just being cheap and making excuses. He told me that I was making the wrong decision. I stuck to my decision and asked him again to cancel the order. I also asked him to get me off his solicitation list. I asked for a confirmation #, he told me that since there wasn't any contract signed, I didn't need a confirmation number, that he had canceled it. A few days later I saw a Weed-a-way truck pull up. He was unrolling his pipes and had just started spraying when I asked him not to spray and that the order was canceled. The guy was very polite and left. He also mentioned that he will talk the guys at the office to see why he was not told of the change. I figured it was a miscommunication. A few days later I was sent an invoice from weed-a-way. I called them up and they insisted that I had not canceled the service and that I should be paying them for the service. I refused to do so. I even spoke to his manager, who told me that I was trying to get a freebie. The story gets worse. They sent a collection agency, and after a few phone calls, I paid up under duress (less interest). Later on I found out that I was not the only victim of this type of behavior. Weed-a-way has sprayed peoples front lawns and send them invoices even without contracts. Most of them have paid up as it is only a $75-150 payment. I live in a very affluent neighborhood of Mississauga and most people wouldn't bother for a few $. I would caution anyone that wants to use their service. I hope this helps others.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the service you received, but we do in fact give cancellation tracking numbers to all customers who cancel a service. This helps us stay organized and prevents us from servicing a lawn without the request of the owner. The service was actually completed prior to your cancellation, so unfortunately we still expect to be paid for the work rendered prior to your cancellation.