Reviews

4/10

Disappointed with the guaranteed installation -- be careful! I got three quotes and went with Dupont to get a more efficient furnace and replace a rented hot water tank with a purchased one. The salesperson Rod, was extremely helpful, and there was no problem with the installation. BUT, a month or so later, a friend who is a licensed inspector came by the house and noticed the venting outlet in the walkway was too low. He said that raising it to the proper height would be straightforward. I called and emailed multiple times to ask them to extend the vent, based on the Inspector's comment and the fact that at the current height it blows unpleasantly people's faces. I had trouble getting in touch, was told people were on vacation, calls weren't returned, was asked for more detail by email which I provided... and it's still not fixed.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

This company returned my call promptly and booked a Saturday appointment, which was great. The technicians, Steve and Mat, were punctual, pleasant and happy to answer questions about the cleaning process. The company sent me a work order with the price in advance of the work, and offered an additional furnace cleaning service with a donation to the North York Food Bank, which I thought was a great idea. I wanted to get my ducts cleaned because house-sitters complained of stuffiness. Since getting the cleaning by The Duct Cleaning Specialists, the air in the house is fresher and I notice I'm much less sniffly in the mornings than I was before the cleaning. Last year I used a discount coupon get my ducts cleaned last year by another company. The cleaning was not thorough, plus one of the technicians warned me that the other would try to scare me and upsell me, which he did. My experience with The Duct Cleaning Specialists was great, and I am comfortable recommending them to any homeowner.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Janesse. Thank you for this great review. I am glad you were happy with our work and seen first hand how a proper and thorough cleaning is done by us, in comparison to "the other guys". Thanks as well for your support with our fundraising efforts and glad that you have noticed a difference in your home after our work. Thanks again for your business, and if there is anything we can help with down the road, please feel free to contact me. All the best. Paul

8/10

I bought my stove second-hand fairly recently and was very disappointed when it completely died. Not even the clock worked and the fuses were fine, so it was fairly clear that the problem was something electrical. Service4Appliances responded to my appointment request through their online form quickly, which was great. The coordinator was very professional and the technicians were punctual, pleasant and able to repair the stove the single call. I'll be happy to call them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Janesse, we are very pleased that you were happy with the service our techs provided. We pay very close attention to our online appointment request, to better serve our customers. Thank you once again

10/10

Bill and KNT Electric are outstanding. They provided a detailed written quote, started and finished exactly on the day as they'd said, at the price quoted. Bill was easy to reach by phone, email and text. Overall, KNT were the best of both worlds -- precise in handling their commitments and flexible and helpful with snags from my side. As a single woman and a first-time "vintage" home-buyer, it's easy to get the run-around. KNT respected my two stated priorities, safety and cost-effectiveness, and didn't push potlights, dimmers or extra outlets. They provided written progress updates on the work without my requesting them. The ESA report and insurance letter I needed arrived on the day work ended. Above and beyond the call: My basement flooded during the work and the KNT team vacuumed up the water and lifted up my click flooring to help it dry. When I injured my hand, they changed gears and did the patching I'd planned to do myself -- out of sequence, and working around the wet walls caused by the flooding. They were even nice to my cat.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Janesse for coming on to my Homestars page to write a review. KNT Electric strive to exceed customer expectations each and every time - and we understand the stress and frustration first time home buyers get, especially when they buy a "vintage home" with problems that just keep coming. Electrical work is our bread and butter but making sure we leave your home tidy and clean is just as important to us. Thank you again for your praise!