Omni Basement Systems

95 Frid Street, Unit #3 Hamilton ON L8P 4M3
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Waterproofing in Hamilton  >  Omni Basement Systems  >  Crawlspace waterproofing
The Blacks in the Niagara Region
The Blacks in the Niagara Region
1 review St Catharines, ON

First Review


Crawlspace waterproofing

We are thankful for the products that Omni Basement Systems had installed in our crawlspace: Cleaning it out, waterproofing it with the liners, the sump pump and ice guard, and doors. They have very innovative products.

We did run into many issues with the company and the work they did in installing those products, and their plan to fix the situation is to not contact the customer back (many times) and then blame the customer (many times) for their staff’s inability to communicate with their customers, not cool. This leads to very poor customer service. Putting stress and blame on your customers is one great way to ruin your reputation and your business.

The issues with the work including them breaking our ductwork completely apart and then saying that it was like that when they went down there. The doors and window coverings of the crawlspace were not installed properly leaving gaps where air and moisture can get into the crawlspace. There was a 2 inch by 15 inch gap in one of the doors where moisture would get in (because it was installed too low) we fixed it ourselves and they would not give us a refund. After submitting an email with the issues and pictures of the work they did, they took 2 weeks to contact us back and then blamed us for not getting back to them when we were waiting for them to give us a refund and contact us back! This was a very poor customer service tactic.

They installed a different sump pump (because they were all out of the one we ordered) without notifying us prior. The cleaning of the crawlspace had some issues such as not completely removing all debris, not racking the dirt, and leaving lots of garbage in our neighbour’s driveway and the side of our house.

Lack of accountability and Poor Customer Service are the biggest issues. After meeting the owner Pete Karreman, we realized where the poor customer service originated from. When he first came over to our house he swore more than a sailor and was very rude. We were giving him $6000.00 and instead of giving us professional customer service he decided to drop swear words constantly, making rude remarks, demanding the washroom and a glass of orange juice without asking nicely or politely, making demands of us that were not discussed in our proposal, and making us feel unimportant, not cool.
His visit (2 days prior to the workday) was very stressful for us. With a personality like that you may not want to be around people, stay at the office. We also find it very rude to just show up at a customer’s house without booking an appointment and then to blame the customer to her face for not communicating when you were the one not communicating and you told us you were going to inspect the work done on our property after the work was done, but went out of the country and did not contact us when you came back. If you fail to accept your mistakes, and fail to learn from your mistakes, you will fail to learn and grow and you and your company will never improve and will not last long term.

Approximate cost of services:
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We at Omni Basement Systems regret the opinion of the Black family in the Niagara Region. We are the number one waterproofing contractors in Southern Ontario and pride ourselves on excellent customer service, from the first call to the completion of all of our many projects. The Black's are right however, we do have very innovative products and will absolutely remain committed to the success of these products in their home and in yours for many years to come.


Pete Karreman