Ruppert Contracting Ltd

Formerly Dimension Exteriors
General Contractors
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  General Contractors in Whitby  >  Ruppert Contracting Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Ruppert Contracting Ltd

Average customer rating:
9 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Andreea in North York
Andreea in North York
3 reviews North York, ON

Stucco on entire home

We are so thrilled with the results of the stucco Arnold has done for us. It makes a 50 year old home look brand new again and till this day we receive compliments from our neighbours. The moulding chosen are beautiful and the execution is perfect.

It was a pleasure working with Arnold because he was professional, reliable, punctual and made us feel like we were his number one priority. We have done many renovations to our home and thus have dealt with many contractors over the last 2 years and Arnold was one of the best to work with.

We would also expect that anyone who does work on our property to stand by their workmanship and therefore if anything should need touching up or fixing that they are readily available to make it right. Arnold goes above and beyond. He has not only returned if when we called him but he has also repaired some work from previous contractors.

I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone.

thank you,


Was this review helpful?
Evelyn in Mississauga
Evelyn in Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON

Stucco New Home in Mineloa West

Arnold is absolutely amazing and extremely honest. Very proud of his workmanship and has every reason to be. He done an amazing job of my home, with excellent service. I am very impressed and lucky to have hired him as my contractor for this job. Would 100% reccommend him.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Evelyn,

It was absolutely my pleasure to work on your amazing home.

Arnold, Leslie, Thomas and Zsolt

Ozgur in Toronto
Ozgur in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Stucco work on exterior wall

Arnold was recommended to us. So, we called him to get his opinion on a somewhat challenging task. Even though it was "only" a stucco job on our exterior wall, we were looking for someone with creative thinking.

The lower part of exterior wall was newly built and simply didn't line up well with the rest. The stucco had to be put to give a continuous "feeling" for the wall from bottom to top, and north to south... which we knew required some artistic skills.

Arnold spent close to 1 hour outside in the cold to explain how he would do it in detail. He also gave a very competitive price.

He finished the job on time and on budget. Moreover, he applied extra paint with a nice finish free of charge. Neighbours stopped by many times and paid compliments for the job well done.

Arnold is extremely friendly, honest, and detailed oriented. What is important is that he doesn't mind spending less time with his family to explain things to customers, address their concerns, and answer questions. We felt he does really care. And he takes pride in his work.

We have more work to be done. And we have no plans to look for other contractors. Thanks Arnold!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ozgur,

Thank you for your kind words, it was pleasure serving you and willing to do any time again in the future in case if you need my service.
All the best to you and to your family!

A.C. in Scarborough
A.C. in Scarborough
2 reviews Scarborough, ON

stucco wall

We lived in this modest 50 years old bungalow over 15 years. The outside stucco wall was peeling off mostly due to leaking eavestroughs. I went through websites and flyers, 6 people replied. They all said the same thing, my stucco wall was old style, new EIFs could be replaced. Dimension Exterior was referred by one of the leads I called. He looked at the condition of my house and gave me an estimate detailing what the job was involved. And the good thing was he said he could do my house first before next project. They finished the house, chimney and garage within 2 weeks, if not because of the rain and unexpected shortage of material the job would be finished earlier. They had 3 people working starting on time everyday, very efficient and cooperative. The finished house looks clean and inviting. They even repaint part of my driveway with sealers and throw in the lighting sockets (which are extra from another company). They are also good at their warranty. They even come to fix the damage holes by the woodpecker on the wall which happened after finished in 2 months. One unavoidable nuisance is the foam particles will keep showing up if not clean up fast enough. This if not handle sensibly, may cause neighbor dispute.
All in all Arnold delivers more than he promised. And he is easy to access by phone or email. Quick response. Thanks Arnold, Laslo and guys.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear A.C. ,

It was our pleasure to serve you on this project and happy to hear that, you're most likely satisfied with the delivered service of ours. Exterior stucco (EIFS) application comes with many little foam particles and unfortunately so hard to vacuming all of them, but we tried our best. Thank you so much for the honest review.
We're wish you all the best and enjoy the new look of your home!
Arnold , Laslo, Tomi and Zsolti

Ali H in Aurora
Ali H in Aurora
4 reviews Aurora, ON

First Review


Exterior Insulation on my home

I was pursuing updates to my home as part of the second energy audit. I was planning on installing PV Solar panels on the South side of my home and thought I should replace the aluminum siding on the second storey and add insulation as a number of neighbours had done. When the audit was being done it was discovered that due to the age of my home (built late 1960's)there wasn't really any insulation in the walls (equiv.R4) so I couldn't just replace the siding as the whole North side of my house was brick and therefore the coldest portion would be left 'as is'...So I started researching for an alternate solution and found EIFS which is essentially putting insulation on the outside walls and then sealing it with cement and a finish coat of stucco. I started searching for providers and found that after 5 estimates I had one that was $8k higher than the lowest with 3 in the middle but the scope of service varied widely. This became key to knowing what you were getting for your $. I found a neighbour a street over had their house done and they provided me with the name of the person they used, he was local to where we lived and they had good things to say. I contacted him for an estimate, his was in the same range as the other 3 but since he was local I felt it was a better choice.I called the 3 references he provided and went to see their homes. He assured me I would be extremely happy with the work of his crew and the finished result would be perfect, he wants his customers to be happy. He would take care of extending the external outlets and taps and included caulking once finished which was one difference with the others. He also provided me with a copy of his insurance information. So I said let's schedule for May...I also had to get 3 doors and 7 windows done and all those had to be finished before he would be able to complete his work. The work started beginning of June, took 2 weeks and was more disruptive than I expected and if I never see small pieces of styrofoam again I will be very happy. This is really where the high expectations didn't come through. The promised daily clean up wasn't done effectively or consistently so there was always styrofoam around, inside/outside, everywhere so I ended up cleaning up after the crew left each day. I also had to clean up after the stucco was applied as it was in the gardens, on various other areas outside. It looks like I have new home and his willingness to use a custom colour for the external walls that I chose as well as the colour for the ledges was great. The final work was to have the caulking done and due to lack of communication the person arrived twice without warning. Once he had to be sent away because my front door had still not been installed, only the frame was in place but not properly set(see Ostaco review). The second time we had a long discussion while my relatives from the US, Australia, etc. watched as he showed up without warning as they were arriving for a visit! There was also an issue with the front tap as it wouldn't stop dripping and there was a gap at the top of a few windows and the front door between the stucco and outside caulking making it look inconsistent. He came by to 'look' and didn't think he should have to address these issues. He said he did me a 'favour' by extending the taps and it wasn't in the contract so he wasn't responsible to fix it, even threatened to just take the tap off and I could hire someone to fix it.He was angry that the person doing the caulking was sent twice and I said calling me would have avoided both instances. He also challenged the suggestion to paint where the gap showed, he felt he had addressed one other problem with flashing as 'a favour' due to the other workmen not doing the job properly. I said that cutting off a piece of flashing was part of finishing the work properly. I said I was told I would be happy and all would look perfect? He later emailed indicating he would do the painting, I guess my having still owed the last installment was realized, I was disappointed he didn't also apologize for his loud discussion outside my home.
Overall, I am pleased with the finished product, just disappointed when someone says something will be perfect. I was skeptical, however in this case simple attention being paid to communication and a calmer approach would have resulted in a very happy customer. Another neighbour has already had him do work on their home as a result of my initial reference, the recent interaction on the remaining items has tainted my impression which again could have been softened by an apology.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Allison,

Unfortunately that is very hard to make everybody satisfied, even if im working hard to make all of my clients happy. I've read your review and sorry to hear that, i couldn't deliever a 100% service, since i thought (and said) you will be really satisfied with us at the completion of the work.
Well, regarding the caulking issue: soon as we finished all four elevations of your house(it was first week of of June), i sent my guy to apply the caulking on all doors/windows. You're right, i didn't call you to let you know that, he's comming to finish the work, please accept my apology for that. He couldn't finish his work at that time since you have told him to do not caulk around the main entrance door because you're facing with some door issues, so i didn't even ask for the final payment eather for months. Finally, you emailed me with the great news "Hi Arnold, The door saga continues...I apologize for the delay...I've been waiting 12 weeks and courting to get this sorted out too..." as you wrote in this email in 10th of August. First week of September you called me to inform: the door has been installed and you want me to finish the caulking around the door, so i told my guy to go there as soon as he can. I supposed to learn from my previous mistake, i didn't call you with a notice, when he will arrive to complete our work, but i sent you an email to your smartphone that morning to let you know he is comming early afternoon. Well, it was my mistake, i apology for that as well.
Re: extending the exterior taps(valves)
At my first site visit, we were walking around your house and gave you a list, what has to be done before you hire a stucco contractor, specially if 3" ridgid board has to be installed instead of the standard 1,5 or 2" exterior insulation. You was asking me if we can install the extension boxes for the light fixtures and include the caulking seal as well in my estimate. About a week later, you called me to sign the contract for the above work, not including the tap extension(please see our signed contract). Once, we have started the EIFS work and the valves were not installed yet, i offered to extend them for FREE OF CHARGE, otherwise we have to work around them and not able to complete that 2 elevations. I went to the local home depot to buy the required tools, pipes and taps and installed by myself spending long hours with the one at the backyard(since im not an expert of plumbing) so i returned the other tap to the store and purchased a high end (no tool required) valve with a pre-installed extension to avoid to spend another evening again welding that tap instead of enjoying my newborn baby at my home, even if i had to spend a bit more money. Unfortunately that tap was leaking slowly(factory defect) as we recognized after the completion of the stucco work. You told me to replace ,what i refused as you wrote above. Im sorry, but that was not my fault and i can't offer warranty on job what i did as a favor, so i told you to call a plumber to fix the tap. I was trying to save you a few hundreds of bucks and avoid to delay our work doing this favor to you. Well i learned the lession, but still, willing to help my future customers in a similiar case and hopefully they will appreciate that with a few kind words.
Re: existing steel lintels above the windows/doors:
As i explained you on my site visit, we can't apply our material onto steel, that has to be painted with exterior oil paint to match the color of the window or the stucco. Previously they were painted white to match your existing windows, that's the reason, they didn't stand out so much. After the completion of our contract, you asked me to paint finish them. It was not part of my work, but i offered my help to do the labour if you bring a small can of oilpaint in the color you like, then you said, i have to do the labour and supply the paint as well. Well, i went to the BM store to buy the paint and refaced the lintels to the matching color.
Re: cleaning after the succo
Whenewer we do a job, we have to leave the site in a reasonably clean condition and fit for use (please see at the back of my contract) which means, that is inpossible to clean each pice of the foam powder. During the work, we had to work around debris left on site by other contractors, but we cleaned ours and removed from your property as we agreed. Im really sorry if we caused any hard time for you, please accept my apology for that.
Over all, it was my pleasure to serve you in my neighborhood and thank you for the referrals(we finished both).

Arnold and the boyz

4 reviews Toronto, ON

stucco front of house and parge foundation

We contacted Arnold to remove insulbrick from the front of our house and replace with stucco. We also had his crew parge the foundation of our property to repair and update some cracks and uneven areas. Arnold quoted a fair price, made sure we understood the work and came on the job start day to ensure his crew was well informed. Unfortunately it rained everyday after the start, so the job took longer than expected, but that could not be avoided to ensure a proper job was done. There were a few areas of the foundation parging that were not completed to our satisfaction, so Arnold had his crew return to complete another cement coat. Overall we were pleased with the qork and the price.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dave,

Well, unfortunately our work really weather permitting. Thank you so much for your review, i was more then happy to work with you on this project and willing to serve you any time in the future.
All the best!

Arnold and the team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ruppert Contracting Ltd

http: / / www. homesbyruppert. com/ Ruppert Contracting is a team of reliable and experienced tradespeople who have been providing quality craftsmanship and unparalleled customer service to residential property owners throughout Ontario for more than 15 years. Headquartered in the Durham Region of Ontario, Ruppert Contracting provides a comprehensive range ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Whitby?